223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Henderson, North Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
20.34 miles NW
22.64 miles N
23.85 miles NE
26.00 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
I-85 Exit 213
200 N Cooper Rd
0.04 miles SE
Wal-Marti-85:204 714 Granville Corners (Located To Block)
10.21 miles SW
North Carolina
Henderson
Most Recently Reviewed
Kerr Lake State Recreation Area
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-08 02:15:21
8 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Henderson, North Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$19
Quiet during the week; picturesque, lots of trees, we were almost alone in the park. Rate reflects senior discount. Very clean & well maintained baths & showers. Helpful resident camper. Don't know if the atmosphere changes on weekends or in the summer, but we loved the place and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
BULLOCKSVILLE – one of several parks on N.C. Kerr Lake State Recreation Area (SRA). Roads are paved, but sites are gravel. (Many sites require 50-100 ft of hose to reach the water!) All sites are at least partially shaded and have good picnic tables, fire-rings. Bathrooms were okay, and kept clean. Good beach area for kids. Boat ramp with dock adjacent to the camping area. Many good water front sites and many inner-loop sites have a view of the lake. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This was our first trip to Henderson Point which is apart of the Kerr Lake SRA. We reserved site #37 with water and electric in Loop 2, which is waterfront. I received good signal strength with my satellite dish ( 97% ) and full cell phone coverage with Verizon. We could sit in my camper and watch the sun go down reflecting off the water, watch the boats cruise by and fish from the bank. We really enjoy this campground with Hibernia being a very close second. We stayed 5 nights and really didn't want to leave. Had a great time here and I highly recommend this campground to anyone! I would give it a 10 if they had full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$19
Located on North Carolina’s Kerr Lake State Recreation Area (SRA). Kimball Point Campground was nearly empty in mid-May. Good news, many of the leaning-tree hazards to larger campers have been cut! There is one area that still has a few tight turns for the really big rigs. A few sites have great views of the lake; but most have only a glimpse. No park attendant this early in the season. Roads are paved, sites are sand or gravel. There are a few sites that slope badly. About half of the sites are in full sun. Bathroom in first area needs a serious renovation, however it was kept clean. (Second camping area is still closed). Verizon cell phone service was excellent. TV reception over the air at our site was acceptable. Rate shown is with senior discount. We stayed here for 5 days in a fifth wheel; would stay again. (Be sure to check out Buchanan’s Store dating from 1878! 220 Seafood Restaurant in Henderson is a good stop, also.) We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
Kimball point is one of the NC campgrounds located on John Kerr Lake. The roads are paved, sites are gravel, grass or sand. Many sites are shady or partially shaded; but we were in full sun as the campground was completely filled. There are a number of sites on the lake and others with lake view. There is still one section that has too tight turns for large RVs, probably impossible for a few. We had excellent Verizon reception, TV by antenna was mediocre at best. One bathhouse needs renovation!! The other one is okay and was kept clean. We stayed for 6 days and will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
Located on North Carolina’s Kerr Lake State Recreation Area (SRA). The campground was nearly empty in mid-April. Many sites are located in wooded area with too many trees, making it impossible for large campers. A few sites slope badly and most sites are not level. No park attendant or host this early in the season. Roads are paved, but sites are sand or gravel. About half of the sites are in full sun. Bathrooms were okay, and kept clean. There are some waterfront sites; others have a view of the lake. Verizon cell phone was excellent. No TV reception over the air at our site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Stayed in site 105D which actually is a double. Not sure if we paid extra or not? Rate includes reservation fee and any out of state fee. NICE location on a cove with a beach just a hundred yards away. Arrived on Sunday and hardly anyone in the Park. Needed a long hose extension to reach the faucet. Good Verizon cell and data! Launched kayak right from our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This is one of the best state parks that we have stayed in. The only reason that I didn't give this a 10 is because of the lack of sewer hook ups. We were in the Handicap site, which is all cement and level. The site is located in a small cove right beside a boat launch with a nice little beach. We were able to launch a boat and wet land it in the cove and the kids still had plenty on beach to play on. It was fourth of July weekend so the park was packed, but it was not crowded. The bath houses were cleaned twice a day, even on the weekends. The rangers keep the park nice and quiet during quiet time, but did not disturb you if you were outside hanging around the fire. All in all, this was a great weekend at great park. We will definitely be back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This was our second trip to Hibernia Campground in Kerr Lake SRA. We reserved site site #88 on the lake with W/E in Loop 2 which is on the lake. It was very nice with the water being 50 ft from our site on three sides. We really enjoy this campground with Henderson Point being a very close second. We stayed 4 nights and really didn't want to leave. The camp host in loop 2 will give you free fire wood if you ask which is an added bonus. The park does not sell fire wood but most of the stores in the area does for $5.99 a bundle. Had a great time here and I highly recommend this campground to anyone! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Kerr Lake SRA, Hibernia Campground
Camp Information
Sites
694
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   3   8   4   4   5   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  no  no  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  no  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$19
This was our first stay at J.C.Cooper/Satterwhite. Our rate included a $6 senior discount. We had a waterfront site with electric, no sewer. The water hookup was a good 100+ feet from our unit, so therefore unusable. The site was softer dirt and rocks with a packed gravel area for the picnic table and fire ring. The 50 amp service was good. The roads are paved but turns are pretty tight. It was a hard maneuver to get into our site. Bigger rigs might have serious times getting through. There are not enough restroom/shower facilities for the number of campsites or the distance to them. Our site had a good view, especially for the rate, and we would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Countyline is a great place to camp, boat and enjoy some piece and quiet. We have been coming here off and on since I was a kid, a long time ago, the bath house has plenty of hot water and is clean. The downs are you will need a long hose for water and there is no sewer hook up. Many of the sites are tight to get in with a camper. The sites are water front but they have built retaining walls which while they give you flat areas for tents but they have graveled them so tents are a little tuff. The rates are low unless you choose a site they list as a double site that you pay double fee but the site really isn't big enough for 2 big campers. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Sites vary from much bush it to out in the open. You can't get a water front site with electric & water hook up. The sites are very small. We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Kerr Lake State Recreation Area
Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
Nutbush is part of North Carolina’s Kerr Lake State Recreation Area (SRA). Campground is typical of many state parks, especially N.C. – okay, but needs funding for upkeep and improvement. Roads are paved, but sites are gravel. Only a few pull-thru sites in camping areas 1 & 3. Sites tend to be small, most are difficult for campers over 30 feet. Sites Area 3 does have well located electrical & water hookups. Most sites are at least partially shaded and have good fire-rings; but are not leveled very well. Bathrooms were okay, and kept clean. (Area 1 sites may require 100 ft of hose to reach the water.) Weak on enforcing rules, i.e. quiet time, number people per site, alcohol use. Weak on enforcing rules, i.e. quiet time, number people per site, alcohol use. We stayed 4 days in a 30 ft Travel Trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
5
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
The March 2010 review is an accurate one. For us the location was ideal for a working trip in nearby Henderson. We enjoyed this park. Don't expect all the amenities and efficiencies of the larger parks. My rating of this park is based primarily on the setting. There are only a few sites, in a quiet country setting, secluded and set nicely in and around an old family tobacco farm. You can explore the log farm buildings. The owner is friendly and helpful. Our site was very nice. The pad was large and level but one bit of caution: the hookups were not placed in the usual left-center side, so you may need a bit of creativity. Our power cord just barely reached and we needed to use the sewer extension hose. There is a bed and breakfast here in case you want to meet friends or family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
Camped here for work for several weeks. Very small campground with only 4-5 sites, but the sites are very large. Campground is located on an old 150-acre tobacco farm, and all of the electrical hookups are mounted onto different barns and outbuildings. There is an "outhouse" with bathroom, shower, washer, and dryer. It's very quiet. The owner is very nice, and will go out of her way to help you. This has become my regular campground when in the area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
5
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
We stayed here two nights because it was the closest park to Overton where we did some genealogy research. Owner was friendly and helpful. Sites are just gravel along a fence. Has 50 amp, water and sewer. Not really a Campground. Rather it's a place to park your rig if you have a reason to be in the area. Quiet and no one bothered us. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Adjacent to Stuf-It Storage close to I-85 exit 209. Owner is very friendly and accommodating. Park is well kept. Pads are well packed gravel and are mostly level. Owner is able to accommodate extra vehicles, trailers, boats, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com