214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Spruce Pine, North Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.75 miles NE
8.69 miles NE
12.94 miles NE
16.85 miles SE
17.80 miles N
20.22 miles SW
20.79 miles NE
23.52 miles NE
24.13 miles SE
24.15 miles NW
24.48 miles NW
24.82 miles SW
26.09 miles NE
28.62 miles SW
29.49 miles NE
29.88 miles NE
33.89 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
2514 Halltown Rd
0.98 miles S
Linville Caverns
7.03 miles NE
Linville Falls
7.47 miles NE
Linville Resort
15.30 miles NE
North Carolina
Spruce Pine
Most Recently Reviewed
Bear Den Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-22 15:00:19
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   10   4   9   10   3   4   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  no  yes  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
This was a great campground. Unfortunately we only spent 1 night here, but would have loved to stay longer. We would definitely return. Yes, the road in and out is a little harrowing and the roads inside were tight. We have a 30ft with a car hauler. We didn't want to have to drop the car due to it only being 1 night. The people were very accommodating and provide a big enough campsite and escort to site. Also, we walked to get firewood and they gave us a ride back to site in golf cart due to our age and the big hill and it getting late. Nicest people and quiet and scenic campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We arrived on a Friday afternoon. We were in the B section of the campground. The check in process was smooth and the employees were very friendly. The site was fairly level and large enough for our camper and a tent. The sites were fairly close together, however, we still felt that we had our privacy. The only complaint here is that nobody showed us to our campsite so we went in the wrong way due to not so great signage. Other than that we had a very pleasant stay here. We would stay again just because the staff was so nice and the grounds were so clean and well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
This is a nice park -- I marked it as big rig access but you should know that the road to the campground is gravel. Maybe big rig access but not big rig friendly. Interior roads are narrow and there are tight turns in the campground. It would be very helpful if there was an escort for big rigs. The staff is very friendly and helpful but the desk clerk apparently was not familiar with the interior of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Bear Den Campground
Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
August 2009
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
We have just returned from a weekend camp with 4 other travel trailers in our group. We found the campground to be immaculate and very well cared for. The owners/hosts were very friendly and helpful. All the sites are set for 50 amp service, but the owners have adapters to change to 30 amp which they will let you use at no cost. There is a large stocked fishing pond in the center of the campground and a river running along on side. Most of the sites on the river side were taken by seasonal campers, but because they were not allowed to put up permanent structures on the sites they didn't appear to be seasonal and everyone's site was very well kept. There is a small playground for younger kids and the river is great for tubing and fly fishing. Most of the sites have a concrete patio. The sites are gravel filled and level. Next to the fishing pond there is a small pavilion with a kitchen, laundry room, and library. There is also a community campfire ring that is lit at 7:00 pm each night. Because some of our group were not in adjacent sites, we asked if we could have the use of the pavilion for our Saturday night group dinner and the owners/hosts agreed to allow this at no extra charge and even allowed the use of a couple of the tables. If you are looking for a quiet and peaceful getaway, not far off the beaten path, but where you still have that woodsy feel this would be a great campground for you. Our camping group the VA Vagabonds have voted to return to this campground (something that happens very infrequently in our group) in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Oldest campground in North Carolina. Great location, just off the BR Parkway at about 3500 feet in elevation; lots to see. August temperatures were in the 60s at night and mid-70s during the day. Owner is very friendly and helpful. Campground has tent sites and RV sites. RV sites are full hookup and include cable TV. Roads into and within the campground are gravel, with a some grade. All RV sites are shaded and have a combination gravel/dirt open area. Only a few sites accommodate Campers over 30 feet. Trees are overgrown, be careful of your camper and the roof! Verizon cell phone worked great. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com