206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Waves, North Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
2.05 miles N
14.25 miles S
20.19 miles SW
21.84 miles NW
23.40 miles SW
24.07 miles SW
27.62 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Sands Of Time
(252)995-5596
13.96 miles S
North Carolina
Waves
Most Recently Reviewed
Camp Hatteras RV Resort & Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-11-18 15:50:16
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Waves, North Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
400
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$64



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   7   9   9   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$64
Rate is for an oceanfront site with 15% Outer Banks (OBX) Getaway Card discount. This was our fourth stay at this campground in the past two years, our latest in the year, and this is my second review of this campground. The OBX is truly preparing to hibernate for the winter. There were not many establishments open, and it seemed many of those that were were preparing to close for the winter. Having fewer than 20 campers at Camp Hatteras' 400-site campground felt weird. Nevertheless, the weather for our particular extended weekend was fabulous! Sunny days in the high 60s and low 70s. It's a shame you can't count on that weather every year during November. I've upgraded my rating for the campground to a "9" based on the fact they have converted to city water. Gone is the salty taste of their previous water system. I'll give them a "10" when they no longer charge to use the cable system. Otherwise, unless you want to talk about updating and upgrading the office/clubhouse/pool house to compete with the KOA's new post-Irene behemoth next door, there really isn't much to improve on, and certainly nothing to complain about. We will continue to choose this campground as our OBX destination for the foreseeable future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$56
This is an excellent campground. We were parked right on the sound and viewed wonderful sunsets nightly. The restrooms and showers were very clean. The campground workers were all very friendly and professional. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
This was one of the best trips we have taken. Loved the campground. The staff was very friendly and helped with anything we needed. We would definitely recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Camp Hatteras RV Resort & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   8   9   9   8   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$44
Great little campground if you want to be near the beach, which is right over the dune at the end of the campground. Clean restrooms and showers. Each site is pretty large for a beach campground, with grass and a concrete pad (except for the designated tent sites). Wifi worked, and cable TV reception worked well. We had site #25 that was partially shaded and had ample room for a 10x10 tent in addition to our pop up camper sited on the concrete slab. Management was friendly and helpful, and it was convenient to have a camp store where ice was reasonably priced. I would return to this campground when a beach trip is planned. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
We stayed at this campground for Memorial Day weekend ( 4 nights ) in site number 34. We had to send in our reservations the first week of January by postal mail to get our site since they book up quick. This was our first time staying at this campground and it was well worth the stay. They don't have a lot of amenities compared to the KOA or Camp Hatteras just down the road but well WORTH the price. The campground is clean and well maintained. The multiple bathhouses were clean but no soap or paper towels ( must be a cost savings thing ). This sites are a bit close together but much better compared to the KOA crammed sites. The beach is directly over the sand dune at the end of the campground. The campground is a great location for exploring the Outer Banks with Cape Hatteras lighthouse 20 mins to the south in Buxton and the wild horses 25 mins to the north in Corolla. BTW: There's an awesome restaurant when you turn left out of the campground next to the Dairy Queen called Atlantic Coast Cafe. The seafood is fresh and not high priced either! My family is already wanting to book another week at this campground so we'll be returning again... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
We stay at Ocean Waves each time we visit the Outer Banks. Our most recent visit was for a week. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Sites are paved and easily accommodate our 34' RV and car. Sites have W/E/S/Cable, all of which are good. WiFi is good except during times of very heavy use. This is a quiet park with a nice pool and the ocean is directly over the dunes. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Ocean Waves Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com