223574 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Medora, North Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.39 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Burning Hills Amphitheat
11.35 miles NW
Theodore Roosevelt Nation
11.74 miles NW
North Dakota
Medora
Most Recently Reviewed
Buffalo Gap Guest Ranch & RV Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-01 22:48:20
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Medora, North Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2014
$20
We stayed here because it was the only campground in Medora that was still open. We had water and 30 amp elec-- no sewer but they have a dump station. Our site was small, sort of level and had some gravel but was a little muddy. Not a great place for non-horse owner/rider camping but OK for the price. The personnel nice and friendly. If we're ever in Medora again we'll stay here... unless another campground is open. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Buffalo Gap Guest Ranch & RV Park, only 6 miles outside of Medora. Medora is I-94 Exits 27 and 24. Exit 18 is the Buffalo Gap Exit. After the exit, the last 1.5 miles is over a dirt road, wide but with several spots where it is like driving over a washboard. Do not be discouraged. Just GO SLOW and you'll be fine. We are a 36' MH with a tow car. What a different and interesting place to stay. They have 10 sites with full hookups (only 3 sites have 50A service). These sites weren't really laid out for RVs. They were laid out so that their customers can have a place to park their horse trailers. You see, about 30 yards in front of where we were parked, there is a rodeo arena corral. People come to this ranch to train their horses, to learn horsemanship, and to learn, with their horses, to work with cattle. We spent 3 nights here, and they were working their horses from about 7AM until close to dark. But, they weren't at all noisy. It certainly was interesting to, at night, hear horses neighing and nickering instead of trains or airplanes. The Ranch has full restaurant services serving 3 meals a day. The food wasn't great. They have rooms for people to stay in. They don't offer "guest ranch" type activities like trail rides, etc. If you want to go on a trail ride, you have to bring your own horse. There is no swimming pool or playground. The facilities were fine except the spaces were a little close to each other. It was certainly an experience watching people hone their riding skills, breaking and taming young horses, and then watching them learn how to cut cattle out of a herd. Our stay here certainly qualifies as one of our "mini" adventures! The owner told me that he has plans to add 30 more sites with pull-throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
209
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   6   5   6   7   7   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
We stayed here four nights over the Labor Day weekend. The campground was jam-packed and the sites were extremely close. Out pull-through site, and many others, was quite short, with barely room to park the truck across the front of our rig. We were fortunate, however, to have a scenic view of the badlands, as the campground is in a picturesque setting. The campground hostess could not have been friendlier or more helpful. This campground is only a block from the entrance to Theodore Roosevelt National Park and within walking distance of the little town of Medora. There is a small convenience store in town that has only basic essentials (not a real food store) with gas pumps attached for fuel. We suggest making sure to bring the food you will need and fuel-up on your way to or from Medora at Exit 42 on I-94, 15 miles East of Medora. The campground has red clay sites which we understand are normally quite dusty but, apparently, unusual rains created oozy red mud that was difficult not to track into our camper during our stay. Although it is a basic no-frills campground with some deficits, of the two in Medora this is the better choice and if you want to see the North Dakota Badlands and Theodore Roosevelt National Park(which are well worth the visit) it is a convenient place to stay while doing so. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
The campground was a good place to stay for a visit to the National Park. Check-in was a little slow. We had reserved a 30 amp long site but were assigned a short site. After we checked the site we asked to be moved and they were very nice about moving us to a longer site. Wi-Fi worked, not super fast but good. I changed the listing to 'no pool'. The pool is part of the city park next door and was an extra fee but it was closed for long term structural repairs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Okay place to stay. Sites could use a little TLC and sprucing up. A little muddy if it rains. Wi-Fi OK but not the fastest and is not always available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Medora Campground
Camp Information
Sites
113
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   7   8   5   8   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$33
This park is gravel and grass sites some are very close together some have more room. Most seem to be back-ins. The office is very friendly and have an escort to the site, The escort is very good at helping you back in to a site. Forget about your mirrors and listen to him, it goes perfect. We enjoyed our stay here visiting the bad lands. We would return to visit again. well worth the time to see the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Sites are very tightly situated, very buggy, flies, etc. Person helping park was very proficient, inside people okay. Easy to get to but once at drive's entrance not much room to await service. Restroom were very bug laden also, and seemed to need some care. Was not told there was a pool next door by front desk. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
Kind of tight for 40' rig. OK park otherwise. Easy walk to town. Food is expensive in town. Rate is Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Red Trail Campground
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
$10 per night was for a primitive site on level gravel with a fire ring and picnic table. Additionally, we purchased the annual park permit for $20 for our RV and $20 for our tow vehicle. There were water spigots throughout the park as well as at the dump station. There were very nice pay shower stalls within the campground. If you like walking/hiking/biking/horse riding there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. The southern entrance to the 120-mile Mah Daah Hey trail begins in the campground. The main campground loop is out in the open and any size RV will fit on the sites. The Muddy Breaks loop, which includes corrals, is devoted to campers with horses. The Cedar loop of the park is set up for camping units that are no higher than 10’ or wider than 9’. The last half mile drive into the campground is on a red dirt road which is quite dusty when dry and muddy when wet. The night sky is gorgeous, as are the sunsets. The campground is out in the country but only three miles from the town of Medora and the southern unit of the Theodore Roosevelt NP. There is some shopping in Medora and several good restaurants but prices seem a bit high. Cell phone service on AT&T is two bars of 4G. Verizon data coverage is was 4G LTE so we used our Millenicom Jetpack for Internet access. There was no over-the-air TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com