214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Medora, North Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.39 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Burning Hills Amphitheat
11.35 miles NW
Theodore Roosevelt Nation
11.74 miles NW
North Dakota
Medora
Most Recently Reviewed
Red Trail Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-06 20:20:45
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Medora, North Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Buffalo Gap Guest Ranch & RV Park, only 6 miles outside of Medora. Medora is I-94 Exits 27 and 24. Exit 18 is the Buffalo Gap Exit. After the exit, the last 1.5 miles is over a dirt road, wide but with several spots where it is like driving over a washboard. Do not be discouraged. Just GO SLOW and you'll be fine. We are a 36' MH with a tow car. What a different and interesting place to stay. They have 10 sites with full hookups (only 3 sites have 50A service). These sites weren't really laid out for RVs. They were laid out so that their customers can have a place to park their horse trailers. You see, about 30 yards in front of where we were parked, there is a rodeo arena corral. People come to this ranch to train their horses, to learn horsemanship, and to learn, with their horses, to work with cattle. We spent 3 nights here, and they were working their horses from about 7AM until close to dark. But, they weren't at all noisy. It certainly was interesting to, at night, hear horses neighing and nickering instead of trains or airplanes. The Ranch has full restaurant services serving 3 meals a day. The food wasn't great. They have rooms for people to stay in. They don't offer "guest ranch" type activities like trail rides, etc. If you want to go on a trail ride, you have to bring your own horse. There is no swimming pool or playground. The facilities were fine except the spaces were a little close to each other. It was certainly an experience watching people hone their riding skills, breaking and taming young horses, and then watching them learn how to cut cattle out of a herd. Our stay here certainly qualifies as one of our "mini" adventures! The owner told me that he has plans to add 30 more sites with pull-throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
209
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   6   7   7   7   7   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Okay place to stay. Sites could use a little TLC and sprucing up. A little muddy if it rains. Wi-Fi OK but not the fastest and is not always available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This campground is on the west side of town. The showers were moderately clean. But the wi-fi does NOT work. We felt it was over-priced at $35/nightly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This campground was fine for a short visit to see the National Park. Gravel roads and sites and a bit dusty. Long pull through sites, however not all were level. They had shaded sites and open sites for satellite. Full hook ups. Would stay here again if in the area. It is a long way from the North Unit of the park, but convenient to the South Unit. Very limited groceries in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Medora Campground
Camp Information
Sites
113
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   6   7   6   1   4   6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  no  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  no  question  no  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
This was a nice campground to stay at when visiting Medora. We travel slowly so we stayed for a week but most campers stayed for 2-3 days. Wifi is very important for me and theirs worked well. Medora is a nice town to get around in if you just want to ride bikes. The only time we used our car all week was to go to The Musical, which is on top of a hill that unless you are an avid biker you would not want to tackle on a bike. If you are visiting here make sure you have everything you need because there is not grocery store in town. The closest groceries are 40 miles away in Dickinson. We ran out of a couple things and the local convenient store had a couple tomatoes and apples they could sell us. Don’t miss going to Roosevelt National Park it is a wonderful park. We would stay here again. Rate reflects a weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
At first glance this older, in-town RV park seems a little rough, but is actually a fine park. Restrooms are modern and clean, with good hot water. They charge an extra $1 per day for cable, but it is a full line up including HBO and well worth the buck. The park is convenient to the town's attractions, including the Roosevelt National Park. Sites are a bit close together, but we've seen worse. No campfires permitted due to local regs. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Our rate was with a Good Sam discount. We loved the staff at this campground. We were guided to our site and they helped to assist us in backing into our location. We had a full hook up site that was very level. Easy walk into the quaint town. Sites are a bit close but the road through the campground was wide. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Red Trail Campground
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
$10 per night was for a primitive site on level gravel with a fire ring and picnic table. Additionally, we purchased the annual park permit for $20 for our RV and $20 for our tow vehicle. There were water spigots throughout the park as well as at the dump station. There were very nice pay shower stalls within the campground. If you like walking/hiking/biking/horse riding there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. The southern entrance to the 120-mile Mah Daah Hey trail begins in the campground. The main campground loop is out in the open and any size RV will fit on the sites. The Muddy Breaks loop, which includes corrals, is devoted to campers with horses. The Cedar loop of the park is set up for camping units that are no higher than 10’ or wider than 9’. The last half mile drive into the campground is on a red dirt road which is quite dusty when dry and muddy when wet. The night sky is gorgeous, as are the sunsets. The campground is out in the country but only three miles from the town of Medora and the southern unit of the Theodore Roosevelt NP. There is some shopping in Medora and several good restaurants but prices seem a bit high. Cell phone service on AT&T is two bars of 4G. Verizon data coverage is was 4G LTE so we used our Millenicom Jetpack for Internet access. There was no over-the-air TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com