223495 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Valley City, North Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
28.26 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Valley City State Univer
0.59 miles SW
North Dakota
Valley City
Most Recently Reviewed
East Ashtabula Crossing
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-04 17:15:08
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Valley City, North Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$26
This appears to be a very nice campground but did not work well for me with my 35" motorhome. The turn around was very small - I had to backup to complete the turnaround. The site (32) was not level and I moved to site (35) and it was not level either - both sites the wheels were off the ground to achieve level. No cell service. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$11
Not recommended for type A motor homes. Only 2 or 3 sites can be used by a type A without building ramps. The other sites are very sloping. Some curves in roads too tight for long units. Only 1 site with 50 amp service rest are 30. No cell phone service. We paid the rate for card-carrying seniors. Nearby Eggert's Landing C of E campground has fairly level sites, but so heavily wooded that satellite TV would be a challenge on most sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$11
Price reflects Golden Age discount. Some sites are paved and some are gravel. The roads are narrow and tight for big rigs. Trees hang over the roads in some places, so I would recommend walking to sites first and decide before driving a big rig in. This one does not have a dump station, but West Ashtabula Crossing and Eggert's Landing does. West's station is very difficult to get a big rig to. Eggert's Landing is newer and easier to dump. I didn't need to dump, but I'm sure you would be allowed to use either of the others. If you have kids or pets check for ticks often. Beautiful lake and a quiet campground. I would probably go to Eggert's Landing next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$11
Nice Corps of Engineers park on Lake Ashtabula. A bit of a drive from Interstate, but no freeway noise!!! Very wooded, shady sites. Clean, no charge showers. Lots of walking/hiking trails through the wooded areas, swimming beach. Lake access is somewhat limited since shore is also heavily wooded. Very few sites have any kind of lake view. Bugs and mosquitoes were mild, but present. Dump station located at entrance/exit. Price reflects senior pass price. Other than distance from Interstate, this is a very nice, economical overnight spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
We stayed in site 34, which was very close to the beach and the playground. We found the site we stayed at very pleasing. Looking around the campground, there seem to be several campsites that we would enjoy, as they seem very private. The majority of sites have plenty of trees in between sites, which is very nice for privacy. There are nice hiking paths, a nice beach and a nice playground for kids. The only 'downfall' we could find with the campground would be that people really seem to drive pretty fast by the beach and playground that kids frequent, so maybe speed-bumps would be nice to see in that area. During our stay, we also noticed several golf carts being driven (pretty fast) by younger children. ATV's are not allowed (even though we did see, and hear, as it was quite noisy,a 4-wheeler tearing around by the playground) in the park, and not allowing golf carts would be beneficial, too. The last thing of note: there is a 'campground host' there, but in the 2 days/nights we were there, we didn't hear or see anything of them. I realize this is a 38 site campground, however, I would think the 'job' of the campground host would be to welcome campers and offer assistance if needed, and maybe even to sell firewood. Good thing we didn't need any, because I don't know where we would have gotten it from. We will most likely stay here again. Restrooms were clean. Beach was clean. Hiking paths were good. Playground equipment seemed in good shape. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$11
Beautiful COE park. Rate quoted is with senior pass. Heavily wooded, very private sites. Most will accommodate a big rig. Only 30 amp but because of the heavy shade it was adequate to keep the coach cool. Take on water before parking. Water is available at the dump station at the entrance and there are a couple other faucets around the campground. Over-the-air TV signal was poor. We were able to pull in one station but it would pixelate frequently. Very, very weak Verizon 3G even using our amp and external antenna. Even with these drawbacks, this was a very nice campground and we'd definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Eggerts Landing COE
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$11
We used one of three pull through sites. One is in use by the campground host. The site was a very tight turn and we needed to use the grass to turn in our 35' rig and toad. The campground is 12 miles off of the interstate, however, it was peaceful and quiet. Cows and their calves greeted us in the morning from the pasture outside our windows. We will return here and investigate the rest of this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$11
We last reviewed this park two years ago, and it's improved since then. A proper dumping station is now available, along with a station with potable water for the rig. Our Tracfone did not work here, but the Verizon air card did. We raised six channels on the antenna. In two years, the price for 50% senior discount has risen to $11 from $8 for an electric-only site. We like this place and would stay again on our way through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$8
Campsites are not especially long, and the main attraction here would be just a bit of hiking and fishing, and being alone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Mel Riemen Rec COE
Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
question
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
We stayed here 3 days when our truck broke down. It was a friendly park with a friendly and helpful part time attendant. The park is pretty basic, a parking spot with full hookups and showers and a bathroom. It is operated by the city park department. Sites were quite close together but the park was no way near full during peak season. There is a small store a block away with a good selection of food, ice and supplies. Our Verizon phones and MiFi worked well. This would be a good low cost stopover. We will stay here again. Some of the sites are suitable for big rigs. A few of the sites are shaded but most are open. All sites are back In's. Tents are permitted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   5   8   7   5   6   6   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  no  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
The best I can say is it was cheap and close to the interstate. When we checked in there was one clerk and a line of people needing help for the campground and the motel, so no information was offered about restrooms, Wi-Fi, or anything. It was a place to plug in and the price was right, but I wouldn't seek this place out for any longer than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
There are only four sites with 50amp service, two on top of the hill and two in the “gully.” We put 4 inches of boards on the downhill side of site 16. The park wasn’t mowed when we got here; it looked very shabby. Someone did mow the second day and trimmed around the utility poles but not around the bushes or trees. The sites are all pull-through but the roads are just one lane with the sites at a 90 degree angle to the roads. No one in town seemed to know where to recycle. Water pressure was adequate. We didn’t hear a train; the interstate was below us so the noise from it wasn’t bad. We were asked not to run our a/c if we weren’t in the rig. We’d come again only if we could have site 1 or site 16. The park wasn’t busy and since we never had a rig on our downhill side, we had a great view to the west. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Campground is behind the motel and across the road from the office. We got a 50 amp site; there are only 4 50 amp sites. Two are at the top of the hill and level; two are at the bottom of hill and far from level. Utilities were good. Laundry can be done across the street in the motel at a reasonable rate. The campground is located on a hill, so there is a view of rolling hills and interstate. Very basic campground, but it was clean with good hookups. When you only want 1 night, it works. $25 rate was for the 50 amp. We would consider staying again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Wagon Wheel Inn & Suites
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com