214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Portsmouth, Ohio (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.80 miles SE
15.00 miles SE
17.42 miles SE
20.60 miles NW
21.40 miles SW
22.74 miles SE
25.77 miles NE
29.16 miles NW
29.29 miles S
34.08 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
4000 Rhodes Ave
1.70 miles E
Shawnee State University
2.09 miles SW
Cecil Caudill Trailer S
4.27 miles E
Shawnee Village Cg
(740)858-5542
7.20 miles SW
Ohio
Portsmouth
Most Recently Reviewed
Shawnee State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2012-03-02 00:32:20
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Portsmouth, Ohio
Camp Information
Sites
106
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
This is a decent campground if you are just looking for a place to stay a weekend. It's a really wooded quiet place. The campground does not have sewer hookups. They really need to modernize it, everything seems a little dated, including the restroom/shower facilities. With a little work this could be a really nice campground. The location is beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
Very nice campground for small RVs, TTs, and tents but not good when you are here in a 40 foot motorhome. 30 amp power only, no water or anything else. Also, the camp stalls are set up backwards so you cannot use your awing and your outside living area is on the utility side of your camper. This park is best for tents and tent campers so you can set up facing either direction. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
A friendly family atmosphere. Sites are black topped pads. It is a very hilly park but easy to maneuver. There is lots of shade. Warm, clean restrooms and shower houses. The staff was friendly and helpful. There are lots of family activities by park staff. There is a Lodge nearby and good fishing. We are definitely going there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Shawnee State Park
Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
July 2005
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23
Well as I sit here at the campground, it's not that bad. Pull-Thru sites are gravel and OK, didn't have that much problem leveling. No trees in this area but some of the other sites in the lower level of the campgrounds are quite shaded. Found this open access wireless internet port, but sure it is not being supplied by the campground so someone in the area is providing a nice service!! Showers & Restrooms were clean on Monday morning but could have used a little clean up on Sunday when we arrived. Looks like quite a few campers are here for the summer season so if your here during a weekday you have the cammpground to yourself. All and all not a bad place even though most of the time no one seemed to be around at the office !!! We were in a 35' Class A. pulling a car. Just don't use RT125 getting to the area!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
We have stayed at this park 5-6 time in the past few years, and saw it deteoriate until 2005. New ownership has improved the park dramaticlly. Much additional work is being done to further improve the park, but it appears that there are more permanent sites than in previous years. Some are unkept and take away from from the overall appearance. Dust was a major problem for the sites on the top level. Rv'ers and park operators speed in and out covering everything in layers of dust. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We have stayed in this park 4 times in the past 3 years, only to watch it deteriorate more each time we go. Obviously, the owner, who lives in a house near the entrance, is not putting any money back into the park. The folks who manage the park live in an RV near the office, but you almost always have to go to their RV to get service. The grounds are not very well kept either. They have a severe sewer problem, being that they have more sewer lines running into it, than it can accommodate. Power surges are also a problem. They have a hall which can be rented for reunions, that should be condemmed. The wiring and sewer in it are dangerous. There are very few parks in this area, but we will not go back to this one, unless it is upgraded. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com