206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Sandusky, Ohio (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.05 miles NW
7.05 miles NW
8.62 miles SE
10.58 miles SE
11.67 miles N
13.49 miles SW
15.20 miles SW
15.66 miles NW
16.17 miles NW
18.25 miles E
18.25 miles E
21.69 miles SW
24.92 miles SW
27.65 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Sports City
1.05 miles NE
Gatsby Trans Inc. ($10!)
Sandusky
1.90 miles NW
Meijer 142
3.39 miles SE
Wal-Mart
5500 Milan Rd
3.57 miles SE
Cedar Point
3.63 miles NE
Wilcart Rv Sales & Serv
7.75 miles SE
East Harbor State Park
(800)644-6727
8.95 miles NW
African Safari Wildlife
9.38 miles NW
Wal-Mart
4070 E Harbor Rd
9.47 miles NW
Huron River Valley Resort
(419)433-4118
10.19 miles SE
Catawba Islands State P
12.02 miles NW
Wal-Mart
340 W Wind Dr
12.24 miles SE
McClain's
12.83 miles SW
Midway 8003662551
12.84 miles S
Perry'S Victory And Int
15.74 miles NW
South Bass Island
15.74 miles NW
Seneca Caverns
16.39 miles SW
Ohio
Sandusky
Most Recently Reviewed
Camp Sandusky
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-14 11:47:43
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Sandusky, Ohio
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   3   5   6   4   8   6   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
We stayed here 4 nights in August. This camp is located within a few miles of the shores of Lake Erie and The Cedar Point amusement park. It is a camp people come to because of what it's near, not for the campground itself. Our $44 back-in lot nightly rate reflects the camp's location, not its amenities. The campground itself is clean, well kept. Spaces are tight together, but I've seen tighter. WiFi reported that it was present with an excellent signal, but connection speed was as always as disappointingly slow as an old dial-up connection. I was able to use my private 4G hotspot without problem. Treed lots made for a pleasant, wooded, atmosphere, but satellite TV was out of the question, and no cable access in the area where we camped. Pull through spots were available at $66 a night, but were no wider than back-in spots, so other than being “pull-through”, and possibly offering cable (?), we could not discern why they were rented at a rate 50% higher than back-ins. A big plus for the campground is it is very socially active, there are gatherings and events for campers to mingle. A big minus is most of those gatherings and events take place in a large central pavilion – but the campground does not have access paths to the pavilion, so campers have no choice but to cut through others' campsites to get to the pavilion. The lots were close together as it was, and it quickly became very annoying to have a constant parade of people walking two feet from my chair on their way through my lot toward the pavilion. Were it not for this, I would have given a higher rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We arrived after dark and were assigned the first site past the office. The site was next to a falling down Park Model and had an old utility trailer half parked on it. The site was a literal mud hole. Went back to office to tell them and they seemed somewhat surprised, but assigned us to another site. Sites are all grass and swampy due to recent rains, but our new site was solid enough to park on. You could see quite a few sites where campers had buried their trailers in the mud and looked as though they had to be towed out. Sites are very close together and set up at an angle which is not marked, leading to confusion when backing in. Showers were outdated, but clean. There are not walls in the stalls, but a bunch of shower curtains attached to pipes separating stalls. This Campground is definitely not a destination park, but tolerable to stay at to go sightseeing, if weather conditions are dry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
This was our second stay at Camp Sandusky; we chose it again because our first stay was adequate for our purposes of going to Cedar Point. I do not think we'll choose it again. The Wi-Fi signal was strong, but the connection was so slow it was absolutely unusable (at various times of the day, not just evenings). Our site was near the shower house which got worse since our last visit. We expected the highway noise, but it was drowned out by drunk tent-campers howling for the Karaoke night in the nearby pavilion. There was a severe storm (probably the same referenced by recent reviews) and the standing water was so bad I had to walk around and take pictures. Travel Trailers had to be removed by a backhoe/front-loader. I understand Mother Nature is beyond their control, but adequate drainage is not. From my observations the camp is run by several older couples, possibly as a retirement investment, and not proactively managed. We actually prefer state parks and are used to bugs and messy shower houses but this was far worse. I'm disappointed because our first stay wasn't great but good enough to come back, but after this last stay I believe we'll look elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Camp Sandusky
Camp Information
Sites
283
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$97



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   8   8   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$97
Very nice campground with excellent pool. Also has a nice pier with beautiful views of Lake Erie. Sites are modern with level cement pads. No fenced in pet walk is the only thing that kept this campground from a perfect rating. Walking distance to amusement park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$90
Absolutely the best campground/Resort we`ve stayed at. I will say this place is nicer than Fort Wilderness!!! We stayed in the Lighthouse Point section the week after the 4th. The pull throughs required absolutely no leveling, just drop the jacks and your done. Perfect setting with views and sounds of the Roller Coasters and other rides. Hookups were perfect and cable worked great with at least 60-70 stations. If there is anything negative to say, it is that the check in is very slow, and the camp store doesn`t offer much for the RV`er. They offer very little in the way of food and more souveniers, but that is all forgotten after 5 minutes in the campground. We will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
Park was kept clean and orderly. The showers were also very clean. The park employees were very helpful with a shuttle service that took you just about any place in the amusement park and at some park restaurants. They have a small store in the camping area that sells just about everything you forgot to pack ! Staying at the camp grounds offered a hour early admission from the general public. WI-FI available near the main hotels. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Cedar Point Resorts Camper Village
Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$83



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   8   8   9   8   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  no  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$83
From I-80/90, take exit 118 instead of exit 110. Exit 118 is a more direct route and exit 110 meanders through a residential area. As you cross the land bridge to Cedar Point, get in the far left lane and stay far left through the park entrance gate all the way to the campground. There are two adjacent campgrounds. Camper Village does not have full hookups in all sites and is older with gravel sites. Choose Lighthouse Point which is much newer with concrete pads and nice landscaping. This is a destination park with many things for families to do, both in the campground and in the theme park. The pool at the campground is the nicest we have seen anywhere with a lifeguard and overhead sprays to run under. It is an expensive campground, but you get more. We recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$90
Excellent in every way, best choice if you are going to Cedar Point Amusement Park or Soak City Water Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$90
We stayed in the new Light House Point section of Cedar Point's Camper Village. Very long pull-thru concrete driveway and picnic pad, complete with permanent grill and clean picnic table. Concrete site is perfectly level. Landscaping is beautiful with excellent manicured green grass and privacy evergreen trees around the concrete patios. Not waterfront, but water view. Entry to park is a quick 5 minute walk or shuttle bus. Trash pickup service everyday. Nice registration office and campstore. Noise from rollercoaster is only a low rumble, not a big deal. In short, campground reminds me of a high end luxury motorcoach resort in terms of looks and long concrete pad. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Cedar Point Resorts / Lighthouse Point
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   9   1   9   10   2   3   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
We stayed here 3 nights. This park was just bought by a retired couple (well they were retired ;), earlier this Summer and they are working hard to renovate an old campground that needs a lot of work. Give it a year or 2 and this will be a 9 or 10 if they keep working on it like they have been. Already, they have added a nice game room with pool table, ping pong, and games. They have weekly events including a Sunday Breakfast and Saturday Corn Roast - both yummy! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient to Sandusky and the Islands, but is quiet! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
We stayed here one month. This is an old campground that needs a lot of renovation. The pull-thrus are very close to each other with tight turns on the gravel roadways. The electric service delivered about 108 to 110 volts during heavy air conditioner use. The "game-room" is a couple of machines in the office. The website ad is misleading. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We appreciated receiving packages and mail during our one month stay. The location is very convenient to the Erie Island area attractions, while still being remote enough to be considered camping. Caution - bring LOTS of ant pesticide. Our site was loaded with ants and mounds. We would stay here again but only for a night, not one month. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Crystal Rock is a well run campground in a great location far enough away to get out of the hustle and bustle, but close enough to many attractions to be convenient. Sites are a good size, mostly grassy, and divided between partly sunny to shaded. It rained quite a bit during our stay and the campground seemed to drain well with no sites retaining excess water or runoff. The restroom and shower house on the north side is a short walk from any site. The facilities were clean and completely functional. One of the things I liked is a community camp fire which it seems goes on every night. A few nights that I didn't feel like building a fire I was able to hang out there. The staff there are very friendly, helpful, and seem to be willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. One night one of the staff even went to help someone get their fire started as they seemed to be having trouble. Something I noticed was that when you buy firewood from them you also get some kindling and a firestarter brick. They are making improvements to the campground from my observation from last year to this visit. Some of the utilities have been improved (more 50amp sites), they are adding cable hookups, and wifi is now available in the campground (no extra charge for wifi). It also looks like they're adding a pizza oven for next season which looks like fun! The only thing that detracts is some kind of pump/machinery that runs intermittently on the far north side of the property. If you're looking for total and complete silence it may be bothersome from time to time. It certainly was not enough to keep you awake or drown out conversation or anything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Crystal Rock Campground
Camp Information
Sites
650
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   6   2   3   7   7   8   1   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  question  yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  question  question  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Pros: Clean showers, paved pads, full hookups, 1 mile from Cedar Point and Lake Erie. Cons: Back-In sites are listed as 40' in length, but are 30', some pads are not even wide enough to get tires on, nowhere to park tow vehicle, except in street. The sites are practically stacked on top of each other, less than 10' apart, closest I've ever seen, just enough room for your awning to come out, very weak Wi-Fi. Not a destination park, but OK for a couple of days to go sightseeing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$59
Not the best experience, nor the worst. They had messed up our full hookup, back-in site reservation by assigning us to an electric only back-in site. That was caught at arrival, but resulted in us being assigned to a flood prone, full hookup back-in site. Set up in afternoon. That evening a heavy rain shower came in, including a tornado warning. Our site filled up with water that did not drain until next morning. Staff was friendly and accommodating and let us move to a nearby site the next morning that did not experience flooding during heavy rains. But, we had to move back to our original site for last night because that site was reserved for that night. Stayed 6 nights. About the campground. The good: Playground, pool, up-dated clean showers, close to Cedar Point and Sandusky. The bad: Close, crowded campsites; double train tracks very close to campground with trains passing at least every hour; small laundry room is not air conditioned. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
All I can say is that there is a train that goes ALL NIGHT LONG, every hour and 45 minutes, through somewhere close to the park. A good night's sleep was impossible. The sites are slammed up against one another and the pool was murky. They were nice enough and our hook ups worked fine, but there was literally no room on either side of us, we were packed in like sardines. If I had to do it all over again, I would stay at Cedar Point itself. Not sure about their amenities, but there is no train to deal with and it is right at the park. Out of the 17 places we stayed during our excursion, this was the worst, by far. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Sandusky / Bayshore KOA
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com