214851 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Parry Sound, Ontario (Air Miles)
Nothing Nearby
Ontario
Parry Sound
Most Recently Reviewed
Parry Sound KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-13 03:52:04
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Parry Sound, Ontario
Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$39
The rate is for a W/E pull through site, includes taxes and reflects a Good Sam discount. No cable but free Wi-Fi in the office area. We stayed just one night but enough to tell this is a very nice campground. The way in is a little bumpy and inside we had a steep gravel road downhill to our site but the site itself was very spacious, good level and good hookup access. Lots of privacy, we couldn't even see any other campers. Just a few meters to walk to the beach, no water view though. Very friendly and helpful staff. During our stay we locked ourselves out and the owners did everything to help us out. In the summer season there seems to be lots of activities for families with kids. We didn't use any facilities. If in the area we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Campground is mainly seasonal but they do have three very nice pull-through sites with full hook-up for big rigs. Reserve in advance! Clean grounds and family operated. Would return if we were in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
881
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This is an extremely popular park and it was August. Need I say more? We were in the Kilcoursie Bay loop. The sites were close together and not level. The little access roads were just dirt tracks and with so many vehicles parked on them, difficult to traverse. There didn't seem to be any restriction on how many camping units or vehicles could be on a site, and there were ropes hung all over the place with tarps on them. We have stayed in many great Provincial Parks over the years but this one was just not up to par. We had planned to stay several days but moved on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Terrific campground. The best in Ontario, Again it is expensive for what you do not get. But the sheer size of the campground makes it worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
108
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   7   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
This was our first stay at a KOA. We arrived in a downpour, which later turned to a Thunder Storm. However, when I went inside to check-in, I was greeted by the most wonderful French woman who was so cheerful that I was happy to be there! That alone will make me consider going back. The second thing that goes a long way is that the gentleman who escorted us to our site also backed us in. Any time I don't have to guide the trailer in is a huge stress reliever and very appreciated! The woman who welcomed us informed us that there is WiFi throughout the park; however two days before, the tower where we were staying was struck by lightning and was currently not working. She offered to check on another site for us where the WiFi was working, and was able to change our accommodations. As we were setting up it was pouring. Our site ended up being a complete and utter mud pit. There seems to be drainage issues in many parts of the campground as there is "Big O" throughout. However, at our new site we were lucky enough to be at the bottom of a hill, so we got it all. We stayed for 3 days, and although the rain soon stopped, our site never did dry up. This made for a very dirty trailer most times. The sites are very close together but luckily no one had booked beside us after our first day, so we weren't too bad. The free pump out service (if staying for 3 days) was appreciated as there is no sewer service and gray water fills up quickly. The scenery was lovely, and the chipmunks come right up on your hand and in your lap. Something tells me they're used to getting snacks! We did not use the facilities (we day-tripped into Parry Sound) though the pool area and children's play area looked very appealing and there were always kids enjoying both. There is a nearby train that is louder; however, I did not find this to be an issue. You soon get used to hearing it and it becomes very easy to tune it out at night. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$70
Very nice campsite, but a little tight for a 40 ft. motorhome. Way overpriced compared to any campground we have stayed at during out trip across Canada. Lots of things to do for kids (we didn't have any), but our experience is that the KOA's are overpriced anywhere. Good for an overnight stay, but we wouldn't pay $70 a night for water and power with no sewer hookup again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
Family owned & operated with friendly staff willing to help. Stayed early in year when things were getting ready for season. Excellent Wi-Fi, good gravel interior roads. Easy to find and convenient to visit Barrie, etc. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Parry Sound KOA
Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   3   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
This park is too far from the highway and the Parry Sound area. It is located on 30 acres around a large lake. Most tenants are year long or weekend inhabitants. It is a lot like a provincial site. The sites are not very level, and there is an entrance gate which is an inconvenience. It was not well kept, and the washrooms were a fair distance from the sites. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Camp covers a large area with confusing gravel and dirt roads. Lots of trees with sites tucked in where ever they would fit. Lots of trash laying around, with many old seasonal rigs with add on's and even tarp roofs. Three lakes and two beaches as well as a gravel pit for off road vehicles. One of few camps I have seen that have actual outhouses scattered around the area. Unless you are into rustic I would look elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
All sites are very shaded. Only four are pull-thru and most of the others are seasonal. The water was very sulfur-tasting, though our filter cleaned it up completely. The campground owners were very nice to us, accepting courier delivery of a warranty part while we were away. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com