206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
3.13 miles SW
4.04 miles NE
6.66 miles SE
8.80 miles NW
9.84 miles SE
11.05 miles SE
11.20 miles NW
12.29 miles SW
13.63 miles NW
13.86 miles SE
14.87 miles NW
15.50 miles NE
18.81 miles NE
20.37 miles E
20.65 miles NW
21.61 miles SW
22.21 miles SE
23.89 miles N
25.56 miles SE
27.30 miles NW
28.87 miles NE
28.88 miles N
29.02 miles SE
29.44 miles NE
29.53 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Dansbury Depot
1.75 miles S
East Stroudsburg Univers
2.07 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
I-80 Exit 308
355 Lincoln Ave
2.32 miles S
Brownie'S In The Burg
2.70 miles S
Arlington Diner
2.75 miles SW
Beaver House
2.75 miles SW
Shawnee Mountain Ski Are
3.42 miles E
Shawnee Place Play & Wat
3.71 miles SE
Shawnee Inn
3.72 miles SE
Barley Creek Brewing Com
7.87 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
500 Rte 940
9.70 miles NW
Fernwood Ski Area
10.30 miles NE
Bushkill Falls
10.88 miles NE
Camelback Ski Area
11.02 miles NW
Buck Hill Golf Club
11.55 miles NW
Silver Valley Campsites
888)Camp-Pa-1
12.15 miles SW
Pennsylvania
East Stroudsburg
Most Recently Reviewed
Timothy Lake Campground South
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-29 21:24:23
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Camp Information
Sites
212
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   9   6   7   6   6   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$57
The campground is very well maintained -- clean and modern baths and showers. We had a full-hookup site (#200) that was a bit small, but fortunately it was located on a corner so we were not sandwiched in between other campers. There are not many full hookup sites, although the new ones (on a hill to the left as you enter the campground) appear to be quite large but not shaded. Trees have been planted by they are still very small. It would really be nice if some of the water/electric sites in the rear of the campground were converted to full hookups. The sites are out-of-the-way, shaded and quite large. The staff is very nice and were very helpful when we had a problem with our propane line. The price of the new hose along with labor was very reasonable. We were disappointed in the dog walk (playground). This playground is in a hilly area. It needs to be larger and have some play "equipment" for the dogs. Relocating the playground down the hill where the broken kiddie train is would really be nice. Overall, a nice campground but we have seen nicer KOAs. I did hear a member of the staff saying that this is their first year here. Hopefully, they will continue to update and improve the facility. Nothing much they can do about the road to the campground. It wasn't a problem for us as we are pulling a 20' ft. trailer. I can't imagine driving a 42 footer but then that's how it goes if you want to have a big rig. I do think this situation should be mentioned on the website. It would be a good idea to warn folks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$57
Our rating of the campground would have been a little higher had it not been for the 'white knuckle' drive down the long street that passes by the campground entrance. DON'T follow the GPS if in a big rig because you will not make one of the extreme turns. Their website gives the best access, but they do not WARN you not to come the GPS way! Fortunately, we came the right way. But it was a half mile or more of driving twisting turns and low branches for our 42' rig. I can't imagine 2 big rigs passing each other going in opposite directions. It is also a good way from I-80. The park was OK. Typical KOA with lots of the usual amenities. There were many people swimming in a pool that seemed undersized for the size of the campground. There are many things for kids to do, so we understand the appeal. However we feel that they were way overpriced, as most other KOAs are - even with our KOA member discount. You typically get cable in KOAs, where others do not provide, but for $57.00 a night we didn't even get a sewer! Leaving the level gravel/pull through was a bit of a challenge, as well in this heavily treed campground. One of the turns on the way out was extremely tight. We had a lot of spectators with a look in their eye like "are they going to hit that branch or run over that large rock alongside the road?" I think without my many years of experience, the exit road is a mishap waiting to happen for big rigs. We will stay here again because it makes for a nice easy trip home the next day. And there is not much else to choose from in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
When coming in from US209 on Hollow Rd there are two paved driveways at the park entrance, take the first one, the second is a private drive that doesn’t connect to the park. You will find ongoing renovations and landscaping when you enter so big rigs use caution. Office staff was friendly and helpful. We eased our 40ft Class A past the office on a hard packed gravel road to one of the 50amp/water pull-thru sites that was level gravel with grass, picnic table and fire ring. The site was a good sized and we had no problems with our 4 slides and awning. Medium trees are scattered through out the 50amp/water sites but few are big enough to interfere with your satellite. Sprint 3G phone and hot spot all worked well. The bathrooms were clean. There are very few full hookups in this park and all are back-ins, most of the park is 30amp/water. There are two dump stations in the park, big rigs use the one in the back. They also have a pump out service for longer term stays. We had no trouble with our rig, Jeep in tow getting to the back dump station and out of the park, but go slow as there are close trees on the road and some are leaning. We were only there for a quick overnight stop and didn’t explore the parks amenities so we cannot comment on them. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Delaware Water Gap / Pocono Mountain KOA
Camp Information
Sites
425
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   2   1   3   6   2   1   1   4   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  no  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  no  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This campground is the worst one I've been to. Everything was overgrown and rundown looking. The management wasn't very friendly. The roof was falling off the office building. The bathrooms were never cleaned the whole weekend. People in the campground were very noisy, very late at night. No activities scheduled. Playground was falling apart. A lot of permanent sites that look like nobody has been to in years. A few of the permanent sites had a very foul odor coming from them. Would never camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We wanted to go to a local campground to try out our new TT. For some reason someone in our group of 4 travel units picked this place. We all agreed we would never be back. Our sites were located in the first section (just right of the entrance). All gravel sites -- all only 8 ft wide. Most were covered with weeds & grass had not been cut in 3-4 weeks. Several sites had poison ivy right at the water hook up. We did drive around and check the rest of the CG out. Mostly permanents - not even seasonals. All interior roads are in desperate need of repair -- full of bumps and gullies - barely passable in a truck, let alone pulling a 5th wheel or TT. LOTS of run down trailers in the CG -- some looked like they had not seen use in 10 years. Full of leaves, garbage, furniture tossed about the insides, etc. Rental units old and not maintained. Huge junkyard of trailers within site of interior roads. Dumpsters were jam packed and garbage was laying all over the ground - don't think they had pick-up within 2 months. Store had lots of stuff in it but not the basics - they did not have tea or sugar. Minigolf course was not maintained and unplayable. No activities. The pool was clean and there were a few people in it. I did not venture into the bathrooms. Overall I would say that this is the worst of campgrounds. Would ABSOLUTELY encourage everyone to find another campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$90
We rented one of their trailers. It was falling apart, dirty and full of bugs. I had to have them come clean it again and I still used a whole jar of lysol. I could not bring any food in because black ants were everywhere. The water was very smelly. The toilets didn't work well and we had to clean up overflows and when we called them they just gave us a plunger. We wanted our money back because the whole place is so run down with trailers just left to rot away. They advertise a canopy in the pool area and it is a tarp thrown over metal poles. The pool could have used a coat of paint. The owners are very nasty. I would never go back and would not recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Foxwood Family Campground
Camp Information
Sites
185
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   9   8   8   10   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$56
Very nice, heavily wooded, hillside campground. Very peaceful even over Labor day weekend. Gravel access roads with somewhat level sites. No problems maneuvering within campground (37' plus toad), but we dropped our toad at the entrance. Entry road (Craigs Meadow) not trimmed side or top for large rigs - driving down the middle of the road necessary to avoid side scrapes and to minimize top scrapes. Power a bit low - 115v under load; water pressure very low (20 psi); sewer connections not threaded and some are slightly uphill; WiFi OK, but can be slow and is not available the morning of your departure; cable OK (sat not useable). Long list of restrictions on electric usage including no electric hot water, no washer / dryer usage. Washer / dryer restriction is due to being on well water. They are willing to waive this restriction outside of peak season (i.e. when they are not mostly full) - ask at office. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
This park was way too hilly for me and dog walking. I missed the opening of a new dog park by a week. Pool was cold so never went for a swim. Cable okay and good Wi-Fi, but not impressed with the park in general, nor the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
This was our second visit to the campground. The staff continues to be extremely friendly and helpful. The activities, though geared for mostly children under 10, were organized. We were there for Christmas in July. I signed up my son with autism (although he is older than specified age. All children were given an age appropriate gift and called by name to see Santa. This was no additional cost! Church services were available on Sunday morning for those interested. This is a very hilly campground, but the sites are mostly level. The sites are mostly shaded. Out site, again, was on the small side, but we made do. There are larger sites available, we just didn't get one. That was a little disappointing. It is difficult to request a specific site, but something in the A, B or C area is better or you will be way up on top of the hill and there are no golf carts. The pool was beautiful, nice and clean but no shade. That's expected at a pool. Many decks to sit and enjoy the view, if it wasn't so hot. There is an outdoor fitness center for the older kids and a tennis court as well as two playgrounds, one in the shade. There is a lot to do in the area as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Mountain Vista Campground
Camp Information
Sites
195
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   1   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Timothy Lake Campground is composed of two different areas. I stayed in the North Campground. I used the campground over Memorial weekend. There are 2 bath houses. One (near us) was out of order with no signs posted. We figured it was out of order when there was no water in the toilets, debris all over the sinks and tile and fixtures falling in the showers. When we used the other bath house, there was no water pressure. We ended up doing a sponge bath and just didn't wash our hair. We went to use the indoor pool first thing in the morning and found debris floating in it. We checked the pool bathrooms and my son discovered all the urinals were taken down and both toilets were clogged. Sites have some slope to them, but none of them would be difficult to level. My site had the fire ring on the wrong side and after 2 days of several requests, they never moved it. When we arrived we discovered the putt putt golf was closed as was the boats. If we were only staying one night, used our own shower and never left our trailer I would say the campground is a 4 instead of a 3. I recommend avoiding the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Upon arrival, no workers were available to check us in. Luckily a worker from Timothy Lake North was there and was able to assist us. We had reservations so that really surprised me that no one was available. My husband and I both used the bathrooms and found them to be dirty and unkept condition. We will not be using the showers! Sites were OK, but in need of yard care and tree trimming. Very disappointed! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
We arrived on the 16th of July and planned to stay until Monday the 19th. When we got to our site, there was all kinds of garbage on the ground, in the fire ring, broken tent stakes and beer caps all over the ground, and a aluminum tin in the barbeque, that was filled to the top with water, old hamburgers and hotdogs and about 30 dead flys! One the workers came over and removed it and we continued to set up. The place was all around dirty and we did not feel comfortable, which is not something that we are used to in a campground. We had dinner around 8:30pm and fell a sleep around 11pm. When we awoke at 8:30am, we noticed that someone had stolen our cooler along with 24 bottles of alcohol! With that my wife started looking around and found a pile of partially melted ice along with a few bottles laying about 30 yards from our camper! At that time we decided that we did not feel safe staying here and I went to the office and demanded my money back. I received a full refund and we left. This ruined our weekend completely. I spoke to the NorthEast manager of the property and he said that there was nothing else that he could do for us! BEWARE: Anyone thinking about going to Timothy Lake North, DO NOT GO! And if you do decide to give it a shot make sure you bring a gun to protect yourself and family from the Hoodlums that they seem to cater too! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Timothy Lake Campground North
Camp Information
Sites
312
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   3   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
We stayed in the newer Timothy Lake South section. The park is several miles off hwy US 209 down a very hilly and curvy road with very few sighs. Don't despair, you will eventually get there. Staff was friendly and helpful and check in was easy, pick a site and come back to pay. We had pull through with 50 amp full hook ups. All worked fine and were easy to connect. Nice pool (we didn't use). However this place is expensive. The rate shown is PA rate. They add a $3 "resort fee". If you want cable TV, thats $4 per day extra. If you want Wifi, thats $5 per day extra which we chose not to get since we were only here overnight. Next time I will look elsewhere in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Stayed at Timothy Lake South April 8 - April 11. Place was empty since it was out of season. The campground is well maintained except for the bathrooms. The bathrooms are very outdated and need major work. The sites are pretty level, but the pull through sites are pretty narrow. They are all long enough for you to enjoy though. Overall, I liked the campground and plan on going back again this summer. We were in site 26, and that entire row seemed pretty good. Not a lot of shade, so in summer, most sites will be hot. All in all, good place. Would give it a 9 if the bathrooms were half as good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$0
Staff were very friendly and helpful staff. We had a back-in site on gravel/grass. We backed up to a thick tree line on the upper section of the park. We had full hook up with 50 amp electric. The site was fairly level. Hook ups were good. There is a picnic table and fire ring. Not much privacy between sites in this section. We choose this section for satellite reception. Other sections have trees and scrubs between sites. A total of 297 sites. Very big friendly. The road off route 209 to the park, about 4 miles, is a little narrow, but no problem if you take your time. Many amenities as usual at Thousand Trails parks: pool, clubhouse, planned activities, etc. There was a covered dish pig roast over Labor Day, free for all guests. Timothy Lake North has an indoor water park and outdoor pool. “North” is for small RVs only. There are about 125 cabins for rent in the north section. North is where the lake is located. Staying at the South park, and you can use the North park. There is a very clean laundry in the club house, with 3 washers and dryers. Our Verizon phone worked well with 3G, 3-4 bars most times. We did have a few days were we had trouble connecting to the Internet. One of our neighbors had the same problem. I thought it was our computer, but it was the phone. TV over the air was good, received all major networks. The park was installing a new Wi-Fi system. Not sure, though, if there is a charge, or if it is up and running. They were installing some new antennas by the club house. Acres and acres to walk your dogs. Very dark, little to no light at all at night. Very quiet even over Labor Day when the park was full. Very tiny book exchange in the clubhouse. This is a great park. Very clean and being well maintained. Sure it can have some upgrades, but almost all parks can use a little upgrading. The only problem we encountered was our surge guard shut down twice during peak hours when the park was full. But it came back on in minutes. The small lake is supposed to have some good fishing, but we didn’t give it a try. The water park is a big bonus, with an indoor lazy river. The north campground is about a mile from the south section. Every day we had deer and a few geese walking through the park. In the lower section of the park about 30 sites are being used for storage. There are a few of these sites with 2 to up to 4 RVs on some of them. Some look like they have been there for a very long time. There are few restaurants and pizza shops starting about two miles from the resort. Five miles from the park there are many more restaurants. Major grocery shopping is about five miles to a “Super Foodtown” .Large flea market across from food store. The park has several miles of paved roads for walking or biking. Bonus; you are in the beautiful Pocono Mountains. Just on the border of Delaware Water Gap National Park. Can't understand the last couple of negative reviews. Just because its not where you want it to be is no reason to give it a negative review. Road construction is not the fault of the RV Park.We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Timothy Lake Campground South
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com