206527 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Schellsburg, Pennsylvania (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.73 miles SE
15.66 miles NE
24.59 miles S
25.20 miles NE
29.21 miles NE
29.43 miles NW
30.05 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Shawnee Sleepy Hollow Camp
814) 733-4380
3.06 miles NE
Ed'S Steak House
8.42 miles E
Old Bedford Village
8.79 miles SE
Fort Bedford Museum
8.81 miles SE
Bedford County Conference
8.89 miles SE
Pennsylvania
Schellsburg
Most Recently Reviewed
Shawnee State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-05-27 17:47:38
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Schellsburg, Pennsylvania
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Stayed here 4 nites to see the area. Enjoyed the town of Buford and the covered bridge tour. The campground is more for an overnight stop. Sites are level and the pool looked clean. There are 2 levels to the grounds. The lower level is large and has shade around the outside sites, weekend is busy but we were the only ones in the park by Sunday nite. There is no cable TV, Wi-Fi or TV ant. reception. There are no planned activities and the park is in need of undating. Bathroms were fairly clean, but in need of repair. Office is open around mid morning and in the afternoon for a while if they don't have something else to do. Might stay again, but only as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
The sites at this park are very spacious and well groomed. The park isn't too far off the PA Turnpike--maybe 15 minutes driving. Quiet at night. Nice looking pool. The bathhouse could use some updating -- the ceiling especially, rusted shower handle, and the half destroyed no smoking sign for examples. But it was obviously cleaned regularly. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
CCUSA discount made it $13.00 for one night. Closing for the winter at the end of October. Low rating due to the muddy water at the faucet. I let it run for a couple of minutes, and it was still muddy. So we used our on-board water while we were here. Getting here and also leaving, found the roads to be very curvy and some steep grades 9%+ with 20 MPH stretches. Big Rigs need to find another campground if possible. But all-in-all, it was nice and quiet, after the stressful narrow two-lane road to get here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
Very nice campground, keep in mind it is a State Park. Pets are allowed in designated areas only; electric in some sites; big rigs in some sites and only 1 pull through site. It is a very clean and well kept Park with a very nice lake. Bath houses are small but well kept. There is a lot of history to see in the area and Bedford is a great small town with very friendly people. There is a section of large graveled sites well suited for big rigs (We stayed in a 40' 5th wheel.) Had good cell service and good MI-FI service. You will only get 2 TV channels on an antenna, but they are very clear. Great for kids with a lot of play and green areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Very nice park with a lake close by. Most sites in shaded areas with lots of trees. Not too far from PA Turnpike. Signs concerning pet areas were a bit confusing. Bath houses were older but very clean, some were closed because of the time of year. Will definitely return in the spring or early summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Shawnee State Park is located in a beautiful section of Pennsylvania and is well worth the visit. The park has a large campground and a large lake. The lake is about 1/2 mile from the CG. Our site was nice and level (better be, it was an ADA accessible site!) but quite a few sites, especially tent sites, were on pretty steep slopes. Try to do your homework before selecting a site, sight unseen, or you may be in for a challenge. The showerhouses appear to have had some fairly recent renovation, especially after reading other comments. The toilets, in our showerhouse at least, were well anchored and the partitions and shower/changing area walls appear to be pretty new. Showers are push button but run an acceptable amount of time and get hot enough. Hot air hand dryers would be a nice addition. Many sites in the electric area share power posts, so one site will find it on the wrong side. Bring an extension for your shore power cord, you may well need it. We needed almost the entire 25 feet of extension cord and saw another camper setting up only to find he was about a foot short. Some sites also have fire rings and tables on the back side, for some reason. The rangers patrolled often, at least during the time we were there -- Thursday to Saturday. All staff we encountered were very pleasant. There is a swimming beach, concession stand, many picnic areas and at least two boat ramps. We were told that the boat rental concession is not operating this year. The park is along historic Route 30 and there are a number of things to see in the area. We will definitely plan a return trip to Shawnee! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Shawnee State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com