223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Wellsboro, Pennsylvania (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
11.88 miles E
12.05 miles NE
13.96 miles NE
14.76 miles S
18.08 miles W
22.96 miles NE
24.98 miles SW
27.15 miles SE
28.77 miles S
30.15 miles NE
Pennsylvania
Wellsboro
Most Recently Reviewed
Leonard Harrison State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-26 06:02:50
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   7   9   8   10   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Very nice campground. Shaded settings give a sense of privacy. Bath and shower house was clean and worked well. Owners were very friendly and helpful in every way. Was pleased to see that quiet hours were enforced. One group nearby was a little loud in the evenings but the nightly patrol at the start of quiet hours ensured that quiet time was respected and there was no problem later in the night. I was glad to see that. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
I enjoyed our stay here. It was a nice, very quiet campground. We had a spacious back-in sight that had ample room for our 37 foot rig. The roads were a bit tight, but manageable. The escort proved to be very helpful in navigating the roads, and his assistance in directing us as we backed in was appreciated. Wi-Fi reception was pretty bad, as was the cell voice and 4G data signal. There was no cable TV available, and there also was no over the air TV signal either - might want to bring some movies if TV is important to you. Campground personnel were pleasant and helpful. Grounds and facilities were both well maintained. Location was very convenient to the PA Grand Canyon (although the hiking trail to the canyon seemed longer than the advertised 3/4 mile). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
We stayed here during a time when the campground was pretty empty. We were in site 2. Much of the trees had their leaves fallen, so the campsite was fairly open in that you could see other sites/campers pretty easily. Facilities (restrooms, showers, laundry) were perfect in cleanliness, availability and functioning. The campsite has access to great camping into a state park and down into the Canyon. The hosts were very helpful in hiking options and options for restaurants in town. The town of Wellsboro is very quaint and worth a visit for at least a dinner. We would gladly return and stay at this campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Canyon Country Campground
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
October 2011
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$16
This is on the west rim of the PA Grand Canyon . It is a beautiful area here . The thing about this campground is it just as the CCP left it in the 1930"s . Very rustic and pretty . A great place for hiking and tent camping too . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$37
The camp host/motel manager was very amicable. The road into the campground was composed of gravel needing some grading and low hanging trees. Unfortunately our entrance of bottom scraping and tree branch slapping did not impress us and damaged our RV. We were assigned site 9. The site was grass and gravel with full hook-ups. All other uninhabited sites were grass only. The water at our site was a light rust color and smelled strongly of iron. The campground is located behind the motel on a very green and lush looking hill, making for difficult leveling of our motorhome. Our children (ages 6 and 4 1/2 ) were not interested in the dilapidated playground. In general, the campground was very private and we pretty much had it to ourselves. I would not recommend this campground to any motorhome owner due to the difficulty getting in or out without damage. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
This campground was very nice. The bathrooms were very clean and had recently been remodled. The owner was very helpful and check in with us to make sure we found everything. I would have given it a 10 but the hookups were in the middle of our two sites and you had to have two sewer hoses to reach. Other than that it was a great place to camp. We will be camping there again and I would recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
Clean, heated bath house, with very good water pressure in showers. Campground is on a nice lake, and sites are level. We had a quiet, grass with gravel site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
I have reviewed this park before and still think it is a great place to stay . The only thing that has changed is that the gas well people are doing a lot of damage to the natural beauty of the area . Some of the migrant workers come into the park late at night and use the showers . They are in general , very sleazy looking characters . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
This is a modern campground with large sites, clean restrooms and showers. Has a very scenic lake with great fishing and a beach, and a lot of nice ranger led programs for both children and adults. This park is also close to the PA Grand Canyon and neat little town of Wellsboro. I have been to a lot of PA"s state parks and this is by far one of the best. Your kids will not run out of things to do here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Hills Creek State Park
Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$23
Would give it a higher rating but no cell or internet service. Mostly level sites. Some a little hard to get into with a big rig. Great dump station and fresh water setup. Nice bath house. Shares parking lot with the main canyon visitor center. Gift shop and education center. The place to go and stay if you want to see the canyon. I would go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
Leonard Harrison state part has a rather small campground. A campground map is available from the Pennsylvania State Parks web site. All non-electric sites are among trees. Sites 12, 14, and 19 are among some tall pine trees and are great for hammocks. The electric sites (except for 23 and 25) are in the open. Avoid site 6, it is right next to the pathway to the bath house. The bath house is fairly new. There is only one shower in each of the men's and women's rooms. There is a family rest room that also has an accessible shower. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
This small state park is reached via some narrow and hilly roads out of Wellsboro. There are only about 6 sites with 30 amp service, and the rest are dry camping sites. The rate shown is for an electric site with a senior discount (do not need to be PA resident for the discount). There is one bathhouse for the campers. Sites were on grass and our site was a convenient pull-through. In early June, the area was quiet and very laid back. The developed overlook with views into the canyon is free and spectacular. This is an excellent spot to stay while bicycling (or hiking) the 60+ mile long Pine Creek rail-trail in the bottom of the canyon. We biked to a couple of pretty villages in the bottom on a stone dust trail. We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't mind staying again sometime. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Leonard Harrison State Park
Camp Information
Sites
214
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   6   9   10   10   4   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Very nice park. Friendly staff, clean. Mostly seasonal/annual sites but those we met were very friendly. Road coming in to campground was a bit bumpy but we made it with no problem with our RV. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Camped here mid-July during heat-wave with a group of 8 coaches. Dry weather created much dust when moving about the campground in campers, cars, etc. Local utility reduced power by 10% which affected 50 amp service. Had to run 30 amp service and manage electrical use of a/c, microwave, appliances. Some in the group chose to run generators. Campground is in a valley which limited satellite TV, Wi-Fi, etc. Our site backed up to the lake. Overall campground is decent and would stay here again when "cooler" weather prevails. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
We truly enjoyed our stay here. The owners were very nice and willing to answer any questions. The park was very well manicured and our site (78) was very nice. The bath house was very clean. We will definitely be staying here again. The only con I have, is with most campgrounds. There should be a dog area so those of us that do not have dogs, do not have to deal with the barking or the "mess" of those that do not clean up behind their dogs. We are not dog haters, we do however think they are quite annoying when they constantly bark. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Stony Fork Creek Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com