206532 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Charleston, South Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.66 miles NW
9.66 miles SE
10.34 miles SW
12.50 miles SW
13.34 miles NW
15.67 miles NW
26.23 miles NE
27.29 miles SW
29.97 miles NW
36.27 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Naval Station - Charlesto
6.36 miles SW
Charleston Naval Shipyar
7.96 miles SW
Wal-Mart
7400 Rivers Ave
8.85 miles SW
Charleston International
9.30 miles SW
Charleston Air Force Bas
9.46 miles SW
Shady Oaks Famcamp
9.97 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
605 St James Ave
10.07 miles NW
Charleston Southern Univ
10.40 miles NW
Sams Club?I-26:211B 6185 Rivers Ave (Located To Zip)
10.44 miles SW
Patriots Point Naval And
10.44 miles S
Wal-Marti-526:32 1481 Us Hwy 17 N (Located To Street)
10.64 miles S
J Bistro
11.31 miles S
Shem Creek Bar & Grill
11.36 miles S
Slightly Up The Creek
11.41 miles S
The Citadel
11.72 miles SW
Charleston Museum
11.85 miles SW
Charles Towne Landing
12.03 miles SW
Elliott'S On The Square
12.08 miles SW
College Of Charleston
12.15 miles SW
Anson
12.23 miles SW
Medical University Of Sou
12.26 miles SW
Sermet'S Corner
12.29 miles SW
Magnolia Plantation
12.29 miles SW
Charleston Historic Dist
12.32 miles SW
Aw Shucks
12.35 miles SW
Garibaldi'S - Charleston
12.35 miles SW
The Oyster Factory
12.37 miles SW
Charleston Grill
12.40 miles SW
Peninsula Grill
12.40 miles SW
The Palmetto Cafe
12.40 miles SW
JJ Hooks
12.41 miles SW
Slightly North Of Broad
12.41 miles SW
Beaumont'S Cafe
12.41 miles SW
Magnolias
12.42 miles SW
Blossom Cafe
12.45 miles SW
Middleton Place
12.49 miles SW
Fulton Five
12.49 miles SW
Mccrady'S Tavern
12.51 miles SW
Gibbes Museum Of Art
12.51 miles SW
Saracen
12.54 miles SW
Barbadoes Room
12.58 miles SW
Poogan'S Porch
12.58 miles SW
82 Queen
12.59 miles SW
Carolina's
12.59 miles SW
Charleston City Hall
12.66 miles SW
Edmonston-Alston House
12.95 miles SW
Calhoun Mansion
12.99 miles SW
One-Eyed Parrot
13.09 miles SE
Battery, The
13.12 miles SW
Wal-Marti-526:11 2245A Ashley Crossing Dr (Located To Block)
13.26 miles SW
Drayton Hall
13.39 miles SW
Wild Dunes Resort
13.55 miles SE
Charles Pinckney Nationa
13.63 miles S
Isle Of Palms
13.63 miles SE
Fort Sumter National Mon
13.63 miles S
Charleston Crab House
14.15 miles SW
Charleston Municipal Golf
14.97 miles SW
South Carolina
Charleston
Most Recently Reviewed
Oak Plantation Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-09 03:05:42
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Charleston, South Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
134
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   8   9   9   10   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$44
Very nice park for visiting the Charleston area. A lot of trees could use some trimming and may make some spots tight for big rigs. We were unable to pick up satellite TV through the trees from our site but it was nice with a shaded area to park or chairs in the afternoon. We enjoyed the biking and walking trails in the park. A short drive into all that Charleston has to offer. We will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$40
For our taste, this was a very nice Park to stay at and would definitely come back here. Unfortunately we stayed here during the worst winter in History so really could completely enjoy the Park. The sites are packed gravel, quite large, and very easy to back into. All the sites are at a 45. Leveling was easy with only a block under each wheel required. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They have over 3 miles of paved walking and biking trails, and the largest dog park we have every seen. There are lots of things to do especially during the summer. It is very close to downtown Charleston and various sites.Rate reflects a seasonal discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$40
This used to be one of my favorite campgrounds, but it is starting to see a little age. It really needs a good tree trimming. First the great things about the park. 1. It is a very close to Charleston. 2. Large sites and friendly staff especially campground hosts. 3. The campground is in a large park with lots of bike riding trails and a GREAT dog park. 4. Wi-Fi that works most of the time. Now for the things that need work: 1. Most sites have gotten way out of level. 2. The park floods with any moderate/heavy rain and with a lot of electrical boxes you are standing in water to plug in or unplug. 3. Hardly any sites get Direct TV on a dome unless you drag a dish because of the heavy canopy of trees. (Really need to trim because tall motorhomes and 5th wheels brush the trees and bushes.) 4. Interior roads have large pot holes. 5. This campground used to be very clean, but now there is trash/cut down branches scattered around the park. Just looks messy. 6. Electric power is weak at times. I have been coming here for years, and I have just seen a decline in this campground. I hope they take care of it and make it nice once again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for James Island County Park
Camp Information
Sites
241
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   9   6   8   8   8   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$42
It's an average park that is overpriced, but is near Charleston's historic district. The owners certainly went overboard with installing speed bumps that really have no place in an RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
Aesthetically a very nice park and close to Charleston with easy access for our larger RV. Cons: Pricey (reflects a weeks stay). I must have had the same site as the prior reviewer as I really sunk in the mud and gravel site I was assigned to. Fuzzy cable was unwatchable. The park was mostly empty, but RV's were packed in on top of each other in the same row / very narrow spaces. The neighbor's sewer connection was under our site's picnic table directly out our RV's door. Plethora of obnoxious speed bumps and an office employee who scolded us at (maybe) 11 mph. Seriously, how fast could I have been going in 50 feet between speed bumps? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$44
The park has paved roads and grass, gravel and cement sites. The park has visual appeal and is quiet. The sites are long enough and nice width. The office was very friendly and helpful. They maintain this park very well. The one down side is the number of speed bumps, they have more than I think is necessary, if you are at the rear of the park it takes a long time to get out. Overall this is a good park to see Charleston. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Oak Plantation Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com