223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Modoc, South Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.93 miles SW
14.61 miles NW
17.73 miles NW
22.09 miles SE
23.15 miles SW
28.35 miles SE
34.09 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Ft. Gordon Rec Area
6.79 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
4471 Washington Rd
12.02 miles SE
Jones Creek Golf Club
13.16 miles SE
Wal-Marti-20:196B 596 Bobby Jones Expwy (Located To Block)
16.14 miles SE
Sams Club?I-20:196B 596 Bobby Jones Expwy (Located To Block)
16.14 miles SE
Rest Area On Ga I-20 At Mile Marker 182 Unverified.
16.29 miles SW
Welcome Center
I-20 Mm201
16.66 miles SE
Vallarta Mexican Restaur
17.47 miles SE
South Carolina
Modoc
Most Recently Reviewed
Hamilton Branch State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2010-09-13 20:01:08
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Modoc, South Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Well this used to be our favorite campground. BUT, the lack of staff and order has taken its toll here. When we arrived our reserved site was being occupied by folks that clearly wanted to get two more free nights. They already spent one and from what we directly observed many other campers there were leaving way past the 2pm checkout time. The problem was there were way too few rangers to handle it...there were only two as far as we could tell. Yes the place is fairly clean as it has always been but the truth is that the wild west prevails here now. The boats and jet skis were noisy and came WAAAY close to our site and while I was rafting a power boat came within a few feet of me doing a hefty speed for this area! Fireworks were lit off even though it is illegal for them in any SC state park. This place is ruined by locals now whom are pretty low class folks that do not care about others, play music past hours, operate boats and jet skis too close to sites, stay too late, do not pay and drive way too fast through the park. It is a shame this previously wonderful park has gone this way. The problem is not the staff, it is the lack of it. The SC government should be ashamed of itself! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$16
All sites are lake front, but only a few will handle anything bigger than a pop-up, and some won't even handle that. All are decent size, and plenty of room in between. Water spigots are on wrong size, so bring plenty of hose. Our site was plenty big, and we were only one of three sites out of 200 being used. The bath houses are old, but clean. They may be a far distance from your site. No frills, it is a state park. Most activity is locals using boat ramp. Awesome views and outdoor experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Modoc Campground provides an ideal environment for camping. No amusement park or arcade. Just a beautiful lakeside setting for the nature-loving camper. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has done a fine job of creating attractive campsites. Most of them are right on the shore of Lake Thurmond. Facilities are spotlessly maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. And surely will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Hamilton Branch State Park
Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
November 2007
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   8   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$10
I agree with all previous reviews except the one referring to this being “an ok campground for the weekend, but not much else.” That’s way off track. The campground is divided into multiple sections with campsites in each. Access roads are paved, sites are gravel. Each site has a picnic table, fire ring, and grill. The pull thrus are typically crescent shaped. All sites have plenty of room and are spaced well apart. Trees are abundant providing much shade, but may interfere with satellite signals without an external antenna. They don’t interfere with the lake views. Water pressure and voltage good. TV and cell signals also good. Bath facilities were clean. I did not see a laundry facility or playground. There is a train crossing at the entrance of the park that produces some noise, but only happens a few times a day. Note that all but one section is closed for the winter and it’s on a first come basis. Rate reflects a Golden Access discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$8
Great campground, if you like quiet, waterfront with just the fish jumping! We stayed one night enroute to Blue Ridge, but would have liked to explore Thurmond Lake more. Maybe next time. Don't bring the kids unless they love to fish. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
This is an okay campground for the weekend but not for much else. My site was a pull through and very tough to into. Had a huge tree that caused me much trouble to get into site. Unlike the other COE's I have been to there is no beach area for swimming and some sites have a huge hill that you have to be careful with little ones. Only one playground and dump station also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Modoc COE
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com