223589 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Aberdeen, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
The Flame
0.23 miles NE
Northern State Universit
0.94 miles SE
Melgaard Park
Aberdeen
1.52 miles SE
Hong Kong - Aberdeen
1.60 miles SE
Wylie Park
Aberdeen
2.11 miles NW
Wal-Mart
3315 6Th Ave Se
2.47 miles E
South Dakota
Aberdeen
Most Recently Reviewed
Brown County Fairgrounds
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-15 15:58:59
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
400
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
Mixed campsites from pleasant grass with trees to no shade gravel. Two bathhouses, one adequate, one a disaster. Bike trails, fairground activities, and a great kids park close provide entertainment. Would be a good place to stay if the bathrooms were better. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$23
We arrived after lots of rain so the access roads were muddy and there was standing water on some sites. There are two large paved sites at the south end of the West Hill Campground area. Okay to wash vehicles on the sites. Payment is in the Fairground Office building just north of the Hog & Sheep Barn. Check or Cash only. No threads on the sewer connection, so you'll need a donut or weight. Good spot for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
This is an easy, inexpensive place to camp if you're looking for no-frills. Price reflects 50 amp, water, and sewer. We were allowed to choose the site we wanted so we picked an area away from other campers. 20-30-50 amp available, as are W/E sites. Some sites are grass, some are gravel, and they come in various sizes. Interior roads are gravel and wide open. The Fairgrounds can easily be reached without driving through town. Restrooms were basic, and were clean. No playground equipment. We'll be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
16
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
question
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
August 1, 2013: We stopped for a night at Melgaard Park Campground with an RV (40 ft/4 pop outs). We called ahead to reserve and they don’t take reservations but did state that they were rarely ever full. The spots were nice and level, well tended, but a bit tight getting in and out for us - that is the only reason for deducting a star. They have electric hookups only, but the water for flushing and potable water fill-ups as well as the dump station we easily accessible. They have showers and bathrooms on site. The camp ground is part of a very large, beautiful and well groomed public park. We took an early evening stroll and saw a sand volleyball court, tennis courts, a skate park, children's playground, bike paths as well as dog obedience classes and people walking their dogs. We happened to catch a wind symphony performance in the park as well and it was very enjoyable. There are also many mature and beautiful trees throughout. All in all a very beautiful place from what we saw and very easy to get to. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$24


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
About the neatest and nicest campgrounds I ever stayed at. Has a tarmac driveway and mostly level sites in perfect surface condition. The grass is neatly mowed. It is located right by a beautiful lake, with a nice playground for kids. Has a very new, clean and neat bathhouse. Has a genial, talkative host who has been here as host for several years. The dump is beyond the entry. No site water but two facets located in the middle of the loops. It's not easily gotten to from the loop road. Potable water hose can be found by the waste dump. Personally, I don't trust any source so close to a dump. I've seen too many careless people contaminate dump areas. So, other than refilling water tanks, I really like this park and decrease it to a nine only for that reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$19
It is a great park, all the views you can see the lake. Friendly host, and the park is very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
143
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   8   8   9   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Highly recommend this park if you have kids. Storybook land is in Wylie Park and full of fun activities (some free). We stayed in the newer North campground. South campground has closer together camper spots and has shaded areas; more established trees. Nice sunny, grassy, large sites with a mowed grass area across the paved road to play Frisbee and catch. Playground within walking distance. The only downfall was the water temp in the showers. Only 3 showers in the restroom in this North area and the water wasn't really warm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
Nice park. Pretty typical spaces for commercial park. Grassy area between sites. We camped in a pull-through space. Because it was late in the season we asked to not have neighbors. The staff were very helpful and accommodated our request. We didn't have children with us and spent only one night so we didn't visit the Storybook Land. The park is large and sounded very interesting. We would have checked it out if we'd had more time to explore. There's also a bike/hike trail that we would have liked to ride. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Wonderful kid's park with lots of activities. This is kid heaven. Sites are paved, many with shade. On a bike trail. Dog and biker friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Wylie Park & Storybook Land
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com