218863 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby De Smet, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.32 miles NE
19.85 miles E
-Other Nearby Points-
Little Town On The Prairi
0.42 miles E
Spot 305 E Hwy
(605)854-3982
0.46 miles SE
South Dakota
De Smet
Most Recently Reviewed
Washington Park (City Park)
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-03 23:04:41
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
De Smet, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
4
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   6   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
We went to this campsite to learn more about the Little House on the Prairie and it was not disappointing. The owners are very knowledgeable about the history of the Ingalls Homestead. They have lots of activities for the kids. There are 4 campsites and only Gray water dump station. It was very peaceful at night and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
We loved this campground. As lifelong Laura Ingalls Wilder fans, staying here is a powerful experience. It is absolutely beautiful. Bunkhouse is an old house or school. Very nice and spacious for the price. Bathrooms were clean. This is a small campground. There were only about six other families camping here. In addition to camping, the fee to explore the historic site is $10 per person, but this is good for your entire stay. They have Ma's house a barn where you go to look for the kittens, pony rides, a wagon ride, and other activities for kids. The town of De Smet is close by where there is a swimming pool. $1 for kids and $2 for adults. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
If they had full hookups I would have given them a 10. The previous reviewer is correct about the slope of the hill. It is a bit scary but we managed to get our 27ft TT in without a problem. The sight itself is just lovely. After they closed the homestead for the night we were allowed to ride bikes down toward the school house and back, walk the dogs around the homestead, and just generally enjoy the place. It was beautiful and peaceful. We arrived on July 4th. The homestead had a perfect view of the DeSmet 4th fireworks. I would return in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Ingalls Homestead
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$15
Paid the Passport America rate (cash or check only). Nice piece of land, but not kept up. The lake is more like a large pond. Dirt and grass spaces, not level. Shabby buildings and some run-down full-timers. Showers functional but really run down. Full service. Good power and water to start, but by 10 or 11 p.m. the water was just a trickle. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
We very much enjoyed our stay at Spot Campground. A previous review reported that there was dog droppings all over. We found that not to be the case. Rather, it is goose droppings from the geese that live near the pond. This is a very pretty, peaceful campground that is on a pond/marsh area. You can fish in the pond or just sit outside and observe wildlife. Its a perfect location for visiting Laura Ingalls Wilder sites. The owner is friendly and accommodating. Your very first impression might not be positive, but this is a nice campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This is a Passport America (PA) campground. The rate listed is the PA rate plus a charge for 50 amp. There are several RV's that are there at least for the summer. Thank goodness for our surge protector. The first site we were in, the surge guard just shut down all the power. So he moved us to another site where we were the only unit on the electrical circuit. We had service there but the amps dropped during the night at least once. Sites are not well maintained and there was dog waste everywhere. The manager was really a nice guy, but the park itself needs a lot of work. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$9


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
RV sites are across the street from the park. Showers and restroom are clean with water available too. Great location in the park with lots of play areas for the kids. We were grateful to have electrical hook-ups for relief from the weather. Called the city before we arrived and they were VERY helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$9
This is a town park with a kids playground near baseball fields. The park is near a hospital and very quiet. De Smet is a small town, so Laura Ingalls Wilder attractions are within a couple miles. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$9
This is a very basic, no frills place to camp for the night - basically a gravel shoulder on a road in the city park. The restrooms/showers were very clean. It's good if you need somewhere to crash at the end of a busy day (that's what we did), but not a place to spend a week. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com