206609 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Deadwood, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
2.92 miles NE
9.74 miles NW
11.11 miles NE
16.25 miles SE
19.77 miles SE
20.67 miles NW
23.54 miles NW
25.25 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Jake'S Atop The Midnigh
0.09 miles SE
Old Style Saloon #10
0.10 miles SE
Broken Boot Gold Mine
0.15 miles S
Adams Museum & House
0.20 miles SE
Mount Moriah Cemetery
0.32 miles SE
Deadwood Historic Distri
1.16 miles SE
Deer Mountain Ski Area
5.31 miles SW
Hidden Valley Cg
(605)578-1342
6.00 miles SE
Terry Peak Ski Area
6.67 miles SW
Black Hills Passion Pla
10.01 miles NW
Black Hills State Univ
10.71 miles NW
Wal-Marti-90:12 2125 N Main (Located To Block)
10.94 miles NW
High Plains Heritage Cen
11.31 miles NW
South Dakota
Deadwood
Most Recently Reviewed
Steel Wheel Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-24 15:48:14
9 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Deadwood, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
The sites are nice, paved and level, and the water, electric and sewer, good, but the campground is right on a busy highway. If you like quiet, you won't find it here. Be warned, they do not accept any credit cards, and they don't tell you that fact until it is time to leave and pay. We had no Verizon signal. The restrooms and showers, if they exist, were not pointed out and no info on the locale was given. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Great place. Very friendly staff. Some camping necessities (TP, bottled water, soda, firewood, etc.) available on the honor system. Would definitely stay there again & recommend to a friend. Wi-Fi available for $4.95/day. They also offer longer contracts. Laundromat, playground, game room available at adjoining campground. Didn't give it a 10 only because the shade trees need to grow a little more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Loved staying here. It was the perfect location for our Black Hills adventures. Quiet, clean, extremely well maintained. Does not have a lot of amenities, however, we weren't looking for them as we don't have children. It is next door to another campground and down the street from several others, so we were able to do laundry easily. The concrete pads for parking are great--perfectly level--and made the week long stay very enjoyable. The staff person was fabulous! We would absolutely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   1   5   6   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Nice RV Park, inside the City of Deadwood. I liked the free (for folks that stay here) shuttle to and from the campsite to downtown. Free Wi-Fi was nice. Cleanest bathrooms and showers I've seen at a campground with no quarters needed for the showers. Nice and helpful staff. For the price you can't go wrong. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
This is not an RV park; it is a glorified parking lot with electric sites. It rained, and we were in a swamp. There was a museum being built to our left and some sort of a heavy equipment yard to our right. The advertisement that we printed from the internet was misleading, as it stated there were full hookups, which we understood included sewer. The owner was nice enough to refund us 4 of the six days we had paid for. We moved to another park down the street, which was excellent. We would have booked there initially, but it was not supposed to open this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Just wanted a cheap spot to park and use the trolly to go out for the evening. Sites are now $35 so really not cheaper than the other two campgrounds that I know of on the trolley route. The worst of the place was the showers: they were moldy as well as being really dirty. The shower also is the push button style which is fine but only runs for 15 seconds per push. The best was the staff on check in. Its rare to receive service like this anymore. The lot is gravel and the electric is on the wrong side. Water hookup is shared with the next site. Nothing wrong with it if you need a place to go see main street, but not the place for an extended stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Days of '76 RV Campground
Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   10   8   5   5   5   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Typical KOA campground with plenty of amenities, but always lacking personal charm. The entrance to the park is a VERY steep incline but no impossible to navigate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
Nice campground set in the side of a hill just outside Deadwood. The sites are on multiple levels and in a motor coach it can be challenging. The sites are very tight but the hourly free shuttle to and from Deadwood (casinos, good food) made it bearable. The staff was very friendly. I will stay in Spearfish (8 miles away) only because 30 ft campers should be the size limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
Showers in lady's side are SHORT! There is a shuttle to downtown deadwood, free! New owner, very helpful, very nice! Staff very helpful also! Will definitely stay here again! On a mountainside out of the way. Beautiful scenery! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Deadwood KOA
Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   8   9   10   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This campground has a lot of great things going for it but a few issues that made us rate it as we did. The host/owners are super friendly and helpful. Driving into and around the park was easy. You will drive a couple of steep hills on the way to the park. The sites are level and the location is beautiful. They laid out the campground where a lot of the campers are sharing a 50 amp power pole. This means one camper will get the 50 amps receptacle and the other has to use the 30 amps. The problem with doing this is the power pole is rated 50 amps so when both campers pull a lot of current the voltage drops. Our voltage dropped below 105 several times and would sometimes trip the breaker. The water pressure was good most of the time, but around 9 pm everyday, it dropped to a point where we couldn't take a shower in our rig. Just wait for about 30 minutes and the pressure will return. They charge extra for showers and also charge for the Wi-Fi. We purchased the Wi-Fi and it was very slow. There is no cable TV and we could only pickup one network channel over the air. We would probably stay here again if we could get a site where we didn't have to share the power pole. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
We recently spent a week in this lovely campground. The staff are very kind and friendly, it is pet friendly, and the park upkeep is immaculate. We enjoyed the short drive to Deadwood for gaming, peace & quiet of the campground, and friendliness of everyone. We did not fish, and did not have children with us to utilize some of the accommodations for the younger set. The pool was closed the one day I went to use it, but otherwise, it is a great vacation destination. I would highly recommend it to anyone with or without children. We would stay again when we return to Deadwood for vacation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
This was our second stay at Fish and Fry. We find the park to be clean and friendly. The owners and staff are very helpful. The spaces are large and easily accessible. If you don't care about satellite TV the sites under the trees are great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Fish 'N Fry Campground
Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
The cleanest bathrooms, laundry and game rooms we have seen! The owners are very accommodating and friendly. Laundry is a bit expensive - $2 for a wash and $2 for dry, although this is one hour. Dump station on site. Lovely sites and well appointed even if a little close together. However, this did not really bother us as we were right next to the brook and it felt like we were on our own. It has a shop on site for small essentials and there is a shop just down road for extras. No supermarket in Deadwood so come prepared. There is WiFfi on site and you will need as the park is in a deadspot. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$19
We paid $9.50 which was 1/2 off with the Golden Age Pass. Pets are an additional $2 each. We had a nice long, secluded site. It was a tricky back-in as there are huge trees bordering each site. Site was not very level side to side. This is a Forest Service Campground located about 13 miles south of Deadwood, SD on US 385. Dry camping, potable water available at non-threaded spigots. Vault toilets. Camphost and us were only people present during our mid-week camping. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
There is a small man made lake with a beach. The sites are large with a fire ring and picnic table. This is primitive camping so make sure you have your water and supplies before heading out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   10   7   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
We camped here in a 40' class A in Oct 2013. On the 2nd day we were hit with an unpredicted blizzard that left 48' of snow and 6-7' drifts. The campground owners were wonderful. We could not have found a better place to be "snowed-in." (South Dakota closed all the roads for 2 days while they cleared downed trees and plowed the roads). We were warm and safe and with very helpful owners. The shower/bath room combo is wonderful, and the cleanest we've ever seen. Laundry is great. If I could, I would give this park a 15, instead of a 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This was a really nice park. There was some road noise as the park overlooks US 385, but the spot was nice. Bathrooms, laundry, and showers were all SUPER clean and nice. There is even a really good restaurant on site (The Pub n Grub) where we had a nice breakfast with good coffee. There is quite a climb to get in or out of the park, but all in all a great place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$16
Passport America rate made it pleasing. It is about 8 miles from Deadwood. There is absolutely no AT&T cell service, so iPad was also useless. AND the Wi-Fi did not work at the campsite. They made no attempt to fix it. Hardly worked at the office. Otherwise it is a nice campground in a very pleasant setting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Steel Wheel Campground
Camp Information
Sites
127
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   10   7   9   2   7   7   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
We stayed here for 4 days over the Labor Day Weekend. The park was not full: maybe abit more than half full. We had a level, FHU, pull-through site in the lower third of the park. There is no cable TV but most, but not all sites, are satellite friendly. The WiFi worked OK for us with only one disconnection in 4 days. There are about 35 PT sites which are narrow but a decent length. Bigger rigs will have to unhook. The rest of the RV sites are back-ins which vary in length from maybe 25' to over 40'. The roads are asphalt and the sites are gravel. The space between sites is a mixture of gravel/dirt/grass. The office/laundry building, the bathroom/shower facilities, the pool and play area, and the trolley stop are all at the front of the park. This can be a long, steep walk from many of the sites. We have been here numerous times over the years and this was the first time our visit was marred by other customers. We have never been here when there were so many ATVs and motorcycles. Every morning and evening there was a constant parade of loud and often speeding vehicles passing our site. This was both annoying and dangerous (due to the speeding well over the 5 mph limit). Where was management? I saw no reason to complain to the 70 year old female camp worker in the office and the owner is not around on weekends. I would stay again as long as I can be fairly close to the facilities and hope the noisy types aren't there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
This park is located in a narrow valley between to steep hillsides. The access is paved and the sites are gravel. What we liked: Friendly staff, very accommodating. There was trolley service every hour to downtown Deadwood for a $1 per person which was very convenient. The laundry was nice, but a little pricey at $2 per load for wash or dry. The overall condition of the facility is pretty decent. The Wi-Fi worked well, as did our satellite. No cable. What we didn't like: the pull thru sites were very close together. We had about 6' or 7' from our slide to our neighbors slide. The pull through sites are very short. Our 40' MH had only about one foot to spare from the paved road in front and in back of our coach. We had to park our toad along an access road by a dumpster. We had a fire ring, but would never use it because the RV's were only about 5 feet from the fire ring. Bottom line - we would stay here again as a base camp to visit the area points of interest, but would not stay here as a place to relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
I found nothing wrong with park, easy in and out, Wi-Fi good, clean park. Trolley picks you up at the park to go into town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Whistler Gulch RV Park & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
We stayed here the week before Sturgis Bike Week. The campground was only 1/3 to 1/2 full for the 5 days we were here. This campground was very quiet even though it is located right beside highway SD 385. The showers and bathrooms were very clean. The laundry area was clean and the machines worked well for us. The Wi-Fi worked very good from our campsite. The landscaping was neat and the grass was kept cut. Some of the tent sites had a shelter and electric available at the site. There seemed to be plenty of room between each site and the roadway within the campground. The roadway is dirt and gravel with no sharp bends for even the longest of rigs. There is a restaurant/saloon combined with the campground office. They closed by 10:00 on the weekends and were closed when we arrived back at the campground at 9:30 on Monday night. Hence no loud music or other distractions at night. If you are in the area to go 4x4 wheeling or quad/ side by side, trail riding in the National Forest,you can do so right from the campground. Quads never need to even go on the road to access the trails & Jeeps or other 4x4 road legal vehicles can do so with out ever going off the dirt roads to access some minor or difficult trails. There is a gas station about 1/4 mile south of the campground that has a convenience store/gas/& air. We stayed here in a tent, but would have no problem bringing our motor home here if were ever in the area again. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com