218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Deadwood, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
2.92 miles NE
9.74 miles NW
11.11 miles NE
16.25 miles SE
19.77 miles SE
20.67 miles NW
23.54 miles NW
25.25 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Jake'S Atop The Midnigh
0.09 miles SE
Old Style Saloon #10
0.10 miles SE
Broken Boot Gold Mine
0.15 miles S
Adams Museum & House
0.20 miles SE
Mount Moriah Cemetery
0.32 miles SE
Deadwood Historic Distri
1.16 miles SE
Deer Mountain Ski Area
5.31 miles SW
Hidden Valley Cg
(605)578-1342
6.00 miles SE
Terry Peak Ski Area
6.67 miles SW
Black Hills Passion Pla
10.01 miles NW
Black Hills State Univ
10.71 miles NW
Wal-Marti-90:12 2125 N Main (Located To Block)
10.94 miles NW
High Plains Heritage Cen
11.31 miles NW
South Dakota
Deadwood
Most Recently Reviewed
Steel Wheel Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-27 04:12:36
9 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Deadwood, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
The sites are nice, paved and level, and the water, electric and sewer, good, but the campground is right on a busy highway. If you like quiet, you won't find it here. Be warned, they do not accept any credit cards, and they don't tell you that fact until it is time to leave and pay. We had no Verizon signal. The restrooms and showers, if they exist, were not pointed out and no info on the locale was given. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Great place. Very friendly staff. Some camping necessities (TP, bottled water, soda, firewood, etc.) available on the honor system. Would definitely stay there again & recommend to a friend. Wi-Fi available for $4.95/day. They also offer longer contracts. Laundromat, playground, game room available at adjoining campground. Didn't give it a 10 only because the shade trees need to grow a little more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Loved staying here. It was the perfect location for our Black Hills adventures. Quiet, clean, extremely well maintained. Does not have a lot of amenities, however, we weren't looking for them as we don't have children. It is next door to another campground and down the street from several others, so we were able to do laundry easily. The concrete pads for parking are great--perfectly level--and made the week long stay very enjoyable. The staff person was fabulous! We would absolutely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   1   5   6   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Nice RV Park, inside the City of Deadwood. I liked the free (for folks that stay here) shuttle to and from the campsite to downtown. Free Wi-Fi was nice. Cleanest bathrooms and showers I've seen at a campground with no quarters needed for the showers. Nice and helpful staff. For the price you can't go wrong. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
This is not an RV park; it is a glorified parking lot with electric sites. It rained, and we were in a swamp. There was a museum being built to our left and some sort of a heavy equipment yard to our right. The advertisement that we printed from the internet was misleading, as it stated there were full hookups, which we understood included sewer. The owner was nice enough to refund us 4 of the six days we had paid for. We moved to another park down the street, which was excellent. We would have booked there initially, but it was not supposed to open this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Just wanted a cheap spot to park and use the trolly to go out for the evening. Sites are now $35 so really not cheaper than the other two campgrounds that I know of on the trolley route. The worst of the place was the showers: they were moldy as well as being really dirty. The shower also is the push button style which is fine but only runs for 15 seconds per push. The best was the staff on check in. Its rare to receive service like this anymore. The lot is gravel and the electric is on the wrong side. Water hookup is shared with the next site. Nothing wrong with it if you need a place to go see main street, but not the place for an extended stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Days of '76 RV Campground
Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   9   10   8   5   5   5   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
The Good Points: Very close to Deadwood with easy access to both Deadwood and Lead. Located on a hillside, it is quiet at night. Each site has a tree with a paved area for picnic table. Bathrooms were clean. Sites were generally level. A nice perk is a shuttle that can run you into town in about 5 minutes. It runs every hour in July and every odd hour in August. The Bad Points: This campground is very tight, almost ridiculously so. You are so close to your neighbor that you feel like you could reach out and touch their RV. The sites are short and you must squeeze your car in almost diagonally in front of your trailer. I'm not sure why, when they weren't even half full, that they did not alternate sites as people registered. This would at least give you the feeling of a bit more space. Instead, they lined us up like sardines. The bad thing about this area is that you don't have a lot of choices in campgrounds close to Deadwood. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Typical KOA campground with plenty of amenities, but always lacking personal charm. The entrance to the park is a VERY steep incline but no impossible to navigate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
Nice campground set in the side of a hill just outside Deadwood. The sites are on multiple levels and in a motor coach it can be challenging. The sites are very tight but the hourly free shuttle to and from Deadwood (casinos, good food) made it bearable. The staff was very friendly. I will stay in Spearfish (8 miles away) only because 30 ft campers should be the size limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Deadwood KOA
Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   8   9   10   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This campground has a lot of great things going for it but a few issues that made us rate it as we did. The host/owners are super friendly and helpful. Driving into and around the park was easy. You will drive a couple of steep hills on the way to the park. The sites are level and the location is beautiful. They laid out the campground where a lot of the campers are sharing a 50 amp power pole. This means one camper will get the 50 amps receptacle and the other has to use the 30 amps. The problem with doing this is the power pole is rated 50 amps so when both campers pull a lot of current the voltage drops. Our voltage dropped below 105 several times and would sometimes trip the breaker. The water pressure was good most of the time, but around 9 pm everyday, it dropped to a point where we couldn't take a shower in our rig. Just wait for about 30 minutes and the pressure will return. They charge extra for showers and also charge for the Wi-Fi. We purchased the Wi-Fi and it was very slow. There is no cable TV and we could only pickup one network channel over the air. We would probably stay here again if we could get a site where we didn't have to share the power pole. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
We recently spent a week in this lovely campground. The staff are very kind and friendly, it is pet friendly, and the park upkeep is immaculate. We enjoyed the short drive to Deadwood for gaming, peace & quiet of the campground, and friendliness of everyone. We did not fish, and did not have children with us to utilize some of the accommodations for the younger set. The pool was closed the one day I went to use it, but otherwise, it is a great vacation destination. I would highly recommend it to anyone with or without children. We would stay again when we return to Deadwood for vacation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
This was our second stay at Fish and Fry. We find the park to be clean and friendly. The owners and staff are very helpful. The spaces are large and easily accessible. If you don't care about satellite TV the sites under the trees are great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Fish 'N Fry Campground
Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
The cleanest bathrooms, laundry and game rooms we have seen! The owners are very accommodating and friendly. Laundry is a bit expensive - $2 for a wash and $2 for dry, although this is one hour. Dump station on site. Lovely sites and well appointed even if a little close together. However, this did not really bother us as we were right next to the brook and it felt like we were on our own. It has a shop on site for small essentials and there is a shop just down road for extras. No supermarket in Deadwood so come prepared. There is WiFfi on site and you will need as the park is in a deadspot. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$19
We paid $9.50 which was 1/2 off with the Golden Age Pass. Pets are an additional $2 each. We had a nice long, secluded site. It was a tricky back-in as there are huge trees bordering each site. Site was not very level side to side. This is a Forest Service Campground located about 13 miles south of Deadwood, SD on US 385. Dry camping, potable water available at non-threaded spigots. Vault toilets. Camphost and us were only people present during our mid-week camping. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
There is a small man made lake with a beach. The sites are large with a fire ring and picnic table. This is primitive camping so make sure you have your water and supplies before heading out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   9   8   9   10   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
This park is a little ways out of Deadwood but really clean and nicely laid out. Great cafe and gas station connected to the sites. Super nice shower and laundry set-up. Would stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Rate was based on Passport America. Located within 5 miles or so of Deadwood. The campground sits on high land with no danger of creek or river flooding. All sites are gravel and level. Utilities are good. There is no cable; however, we were able it get 3 over the air local channels and Direct TV satellite reception (site #8). Phone reception is spotted (we have Verizon) and there is a Verizon booster in the store. At our site we got about 2 bars. The showers are very nice. Each stall has a private shower, dressing area, and toilet with locks. There were about 5 available showers. A nice convenience store is at the foot of the hill, plus a fantastic restaurant is located on site. They offered a 10% discount on your meal with a receipt from the convenience store. The menu is a wide variety; but don't miss Pete's Chinese selections! We would stay again if in the Deadwood area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
We camped here in a 40' class A in Oct 2013. On the 2nd day we were hit with an unpredicted blizzard that left 48' of snow and 6-7' drifts. The campground owners were wonderful. We could not have found a better place to be "snowed-in." (South Dakota closed all the roads for 2 days while they cleared downed trees and plowed the roads). We were warm and safe and with very helpful owners. The shower/bath room combo is wonderful, and the cleanest we've ever seen. Laundry is great. If I could, I would give this park a 15, instead of a 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Steel Wheel Campground
Camp Information
Sites
127
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   5   6   7   10   7   9   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$44
We had planned on staying here at least 3 or 4 days, but the park was booked solid Thursday through the weekend because the annual Cool Deadwood Nights weekend was that weekend. While this has become our preferred Deadwood RV park in spite of its' flaws (inconsiderate customers on motorcycles and ATVs, speeders, and the idiot owner who allows this dangerous behavior). We were able to get a fairly level, gravel, full hookup, pull-through site that was satellite friendly. There is no cable TV and many sites are not satellite friendly. Their Wi-Fi network was slow at times even though there park was only 1/3 full the day we were there. I'm guessing that it may be useless when the park is full. The small pool is nice on a warm day as long as it is not too crowded. As others have noted, the city trolley stops at the park twice an hour but downtown is only a 20 - 30 minute walk for those able to do so. The bathrooms are OK and the laundry is large. These facilities (plus the pool and play area) are in or near the office which is a long, downhill walk from most sites. There was no recycling that I could find. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$65
Nice location! Bus stops at the campground and runs regularly into downtown, which is great. Sites were a little small but adequate. Staff in the office were very friendly. Would definitely recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$51
Best feature is closeness to casinos etc in town and on trolley route ($1). Interior roads paved. Sites are paved or gravel with working utilities. Sat reception from the roof was good. Verizon reception good. Kept getting kicked off WiFi. Owner is very helpful. Grocery store in lead (approx 4 mi). Pretty location in small narrow gulch. Room to walk dog including dirt road at upper end of park. Garbage pick up each morning at site. Dump station. We had no problem with 39' RV with tow. Room for slides on both sides but narrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Whistler Gulch RV Park & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
We stayed here the week before Sturgis Bike Week. The campground was only 1/3 to 1/2 full for the 5 days we were here. This campground was very quiet even though it is located right beside highway SD 385. The showers and bathrooms were very clean. The laundry area was clean and the machines worked well for us. The Wi-Fi worked very good from our campsite. The landscaping was neat and the grass was kept cut. Some of the tent sites had a shelter and electric available at the site. There seemed to be plenty of room between each site and the roadway within the campground. The roadway is dirt and gravel with no sharp bends for even the longest of rigs. There is a restaurant/saloon combined with the campground office. They closed by 10:00 on the weekends and were closed when we arrived back at the campground at 9:30 on Monday night. Hence no loud music or other distractions at night. If you are in the area to go 4x4 wheeling or quad/ side by side, trail riding in the National Forest,you can do so right from the campground. Quads never need to even go on the road to access the trails & Jeeps or other 4x4 road legal vehicles can do so with out ever going off the dirt roads to access some minor or difficult trails. There is a gas station about 1/4 mile south of the campground that has a convenience store/gas/& air. We stayed here in a tent, but would have no problem bringing our motor home here if were ever in the area again. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com