219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Gettysburg, South Dakota (Air Miles)
Nothing Nearby
South Dakota
Gettysburg
Most Recently Reviewed
Bob's Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-19 23:44:18
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Gettysburg, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$23
Basic park sitting above Lake Oahe (Missouri River). Off the beaten track and caters to fishermen and hunters (in season). We ate at the restaurant and it was expensive and the food just OK. But, it's the only restaurant around for miles. Restrooms and laundry were spic and span! We used both. We stopped here to kill time before going to western South Dakota so the Sturgis rally would get done. We went exploring all over the area and really enjoyed ourselves. West Whitlock Recreation Area was really nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Lovely views of the Missouri River. Nice restaurant on site. Would be nice to have cable TV, but the owners are doing a lot to make this a real nice park. We were not there during prime fishing days, but we had a great overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
Nice, no frills park. We stopped overnight. Not much to do around here unless you fish or hunt. Still we enjoyed the stop and we did have a great steak dinner at the resort's steakhouse. Ask for a seat with a view. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Bob's Resort
Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
South Whitlock Resort (SWR) features a convenience store with groceries, licenses, beer, ice, gas, bait, tackle, etc. SWR has a variety of lodging options to accommodate just about everyone. Besides the campground, they also have a small motel, cabins and trailers for rent. See their website for info. They have an onsite boat ramp on Lake Oahe. Fishing guide services are also available at SWR. We booked with Curtis Lagan Guiding, see his website for info. The couple who own/run the place are very friendly. He is more than willing to bend your ear awhile if time permits. There are shower/restroom buildings and laundry facilities. Showers were clean. There was no separate dressing room in each shower, also no hooks or shelves in the shower stall but the door was far enough back you could hang your clothes over it and they didn't get wet. SWR's water comes from an artesian well instead of rural water, so has what I call a mineral/iron ore smell/taste to it. There are about 70 RV sites. Our site #2 with W/E/S was on the eastside of the resort facing the gravel road which runs between SWR and a restaurant across the road. Not much traffic on road besides campers & local residents. Kiddie-corner across intersection from our site was a pasture with cows and calfs grazing. Our site was not real level. Sites are grass so if it rains a lot could get mushy. Water pressure was good. Most peoples cell phones seemed to work OK. There was Wi-Fi but the signal strength was not always reliable. Site widths were a little tight as most campers also had a vehicle and a boat to fit on their site. Sites on rows further to the west seem to have more room to spread out. There are mature native cedar windbreaks planted to the west of each row. One evening a sudden rainstorm blew in from the west with gusty 60/70 MPH microburst winds. Dust was blowing so hard at times you couldn't see across the gravel road to our south. Luckily the 3 rows of thick cedars to our west protected our RVs from most of the wind. We told them we were very thankful to whoever planted those trees decades ago. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Shore Services: 50amp, Sewer good, Water good - Wi-Fi: none - AT&T Cell Phone: No Signal - Sprint Air Card: poor - Verizon Air Card: Good - Cable: no - Site Size: plenty of length on the west sites - Site Closeness: lot of room between sites - Roads: Gravel - Restrooms: Old but clean -Directv Satellite: clear if out near the road - Discounts: none - Payment: Credit Card - Additional Charges: none other than tax - Additional Remarks: This is a nice park. We stayed on the west side which had plenty of room and 50amp service. All services are to the rear of the site. I believe all the sites are back in but there is plenty of room. We tried to go to West Whitlock which is nice but has only Electricity at the sites, no water except at the entrance to the campground. There is a restaurant across the street. Food is good but expensive for what they serve. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
March 2009
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$14
I grew up in Gettyburg and have always loved this campground. It is clean and right next to the Missouri River. If you are ever passing through make sure you stay a night or two and you will not regret it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$17
This state park, located 18 miles west of Gettysburg, SD is one of the most tranquil ones that we have found. Acres of stately oak and cottonwood trees cover a neatly manicured lawn resulting in a hometown park atmosphere. Our site was across from the lake, providing a view of an old steel truss bridge. In the morning deer grazed in the park, and in the evening, grouse fed along the shoreline. The onsite camp host was super friendly, even delivering fire wood to our motorhome! There are boating facilities adjacent to the campgrounds, and pavilion facilities for large groups. A children's playground is located across from the camp host. The roads to the park, and inside the park are paved, with ample turning radius. There are no planned activities or entertainment venues nearby, so come prepared to just relax. This park is a must visit for anyone travelling in northern South Dakota. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com