219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Hill City, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.57 miles E
11.32 miles S
17.22 miles NE
18.85 miles N
19.90 miles NE
20.12 miles SE
20.76 miles NE
22.57 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Black Hills Institute Of
0.15 miles NW
Alpine Inn
0.21 miles N
1880 Train - Black Hil
0.33 miles SE
Crooked Creek Resort
605-574-2418
1.71 miles SW
Mount Rushmore National
6.66 miles SE
Rushmore Tramway
7.34 miles SE
Borglum Historical Center
8.54 miles SE
Crazy Horse Memorial
8.72 miles S
Big Thunder Gold Mine
9.79 miles SE
Skyway
11.03 miles S
Custer County 1881-Cour
11.43 miles S
Texaco ($2)
Custer
11.45 miles S
Spokane Creek Rv
(605)666-4609
11.50 miles SE
Fireside Inn Restaurant
12.09 miles NE
South Dakota
Hill City
Most Recently Reviewed
Crooked Creek Resort & RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-15 21:40:02
9 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Hill City, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This park is in the process of changing ownership. The new owners are a young couple with several children who live on site. I don't think they have much experience with RV's or parks, but if they work at it, there's a lot they could do with this campground. There are only three 50 amp sites here. Of the approximately 50 sites, 15 or so are tent sites and another dozen are electric/water only. FHU sites are gravel and not too level; we could not get our 43-ft rig completely level and had a 3-foot leap down from our steps. That said, this is a nice park and might be better if the new owners work at it. It's in a lovely setting, convenient to many Black Hills attractions, has free Wi-Fi, clean restrooms and showers and a small but reasonably priced laundry. Verizon wireless worked well here. I think the $40 daily rate (plus taxes) is high and they don't offer a discounted weekly rate. Apparently other campers feel the same way because there were only four RV's here during July 4th week and two of those were long term. We might stay here again if rates were lower. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
I love this park. We usually have a 36' travel trailer but we decided to stay in cabins on our trip through the Black Hills. It was a simple sleeping cabin - we were going to tent for a few nights but it was raining. The cabin seemed new, all made of pine logs. Simple full size bed and a nice set of bunk beds. It didn't come with bed linens or towels - but we had our own. The shower house was so nice. SO CLEAN. CLEANER THAN ANY CAMP SHOWER EVER! The playground was nice for the kids and they have a basketball court too. So friendly at check in - they even helped us with directions and gave us a great place to eat! Will be back on our way home from Seattle! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   10   8   7   10   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Wonderful location for seeing all the sights in the Black Hills of South Dakota. Owners are friendly and always available. Sites are level (gravel) with picnic tables and full hook ups. We had no issues getting in or out in our 45' motor home. I would definitely recommend this campground. Hill City is a quaint town, be sure to eat at the Alpine Inn. Easy access to library and post office. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We knew from prior reviews that this was just full hookups with no showers or restrooms. Staff was super helpful in getting us situated, and it's a great place to stay, close to Mt. Rushmore. Price reflects the Passport America rate. A little sloped getting into their park, but fairly level spots. The children enjoyed the little creek nearby and the teepee was cute too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
We loved staying at this park. It was the most friendliest ever, not to mention animal friendly. The owners were very accommodating to our needs. We still keep in contact with them. We stayed 3 days longer than planned because it was a great small park. Good 50 amp power and good water pressure. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Creekside Mountain RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   2   2   7   3   2   8   10   2   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$55
Not all pull-thru spaces have sewer hook-ups, yet you pay the same price. Ours didn't have sewer, and it was tight getting into the spot. Very close to each other. Grass sites. The dump station is awkward, far off the lane and back-in. Was told to enjoy the All-You-Can-Eat pancake breakfast as if it was either included in the HIGH rent or was inexpensive. Pancakes $1 each, sausages $3, bacon $3, eggs $3, coffee $2!!! Not exactly all-you-can-eat--more like "eat what you can afford"! Difficulty in getting onto Wi-Fi; SLOW Wi-Fi in the evening. Otherwise, the facility was clean and quiet. No road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
The bathrooms were way too small for this size campground, were not clean, and are not handicap accessible as their website states. WiFi did not work anytime during our stay. The sites were grass covered and wet most of our stay and it had not been recently cut. Would not recommend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
The park sites were extremely close (3-4' apart). We had reservations for 5 days with full hookups. When we got there the owner said that "full hookups" to them meant the "honey truck" would come to your sight twice weekly and drain your black water. With the gray water we were told to drain the gray water on to the ground. This is very unsanitary. Due to a power failure on and off all night we left the next day. We made reservations 30 days in advance and received a horrible RV spot. The park was clean, but you were crammed in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Crooked Creek Resort & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   7   10   8   10   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
In the generally very commercial area around Mt Rushmore, this is a haven of tranquility yet still close to all the action. The 2 mile state road up to the campground may be a bit much if you're 45' and towing but for our 33' rig it was no problem at all. The campground is very quiet and scenic, situated on a hill. The sites are not al level and leveling may be a challenge in some sites. At our site the sewer connection was somewhat uphill from the site, a bit unusual and made dumping somewhat of a challenge. Fire rings, tables, pool, playground, store etc all nice and all well cared for. Friendly and helpful staff. Internet weak and cell reception also weak. That is the downside of an an otherwise excellent and peaceful full service mountain surrounding. Will definitely come back for the rest and beauty of this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
A nice quiet RV park, with friendly staff. Close to all the tourist sites in the Black Hills. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This was a great campsite and my favorite of the 2013 season. Sites are spaced good. Fires are aloud at each campsite. Bathrooms were clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Horse Thief Campground & RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Friendly staff. Very peaceful setting. Pleasant views of the surrounding forests and mountain peaks. Convenient location to Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore and other points of interest. Fair rate. Campground Wi-Fi didn't work for us, which isn't surprising given the rigged terrain. Our Verizon MiFi signal was weak as well. Pull-through sites were spacious and the distance to neighbors was decent as well. Fire rings and firewood available. Only down side to this campground was the internal access roads were a bit tight for big rigs and the roads had fairly deep washouts. Had to take care and proceed very slowly when maneuvering our 40' rig. Seemed better geared towards smaller RVs. That said, this is a nice place and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
Great rustic campsite. Can use generators. Great views and really close to Mount Rushmore. Big sites with cement areas under picnic tables and grill area. Very clean. Vault toilets. No showers. Faucets for water. Recycling available. Great hosts greet and will help you - they will help you with anything. Some sites right on the lake. Forested area. It is very rightly a popular choice and we are glad that we booked in advance. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
500
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$72



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   3   7   7   7   6   8   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$72
We just returned from our second stay here and we were really looking forward to it as it had been a few years since we were in the Mount Rushmore area. You must pay a mandatory $10 per day resort fee on top of the already expensive rates. This wouldn't have been as bad if we could get Wi-Fi. The park doesn't have Wi-Fi throughout; just a few hotspots and impossible to connect at these hotspots. My husband commented to the staff on this, and they really didn't care. Apparently it hasn't worked in years. The staff really wasn't helpful. In past KOAs, the staff has booked other KOAs for us when required. Here they wouldn't and due to lack of Wi-Fi or a phone (our cells wouldn't work in the area) we couldn't book ourselves. We eventually booked by going into town and getting in a Wi-Fi location. I found a lot of inconsiderate people. We were in a pull-through spot (no back in available) and people were using it as a through way many times throughout the day. We wouldn't have cared if if was children, but it was adults as well. We really didn't appreciate it. It isn't altogether the other campers fault. If the KOA took out a few sites and put in walkways people would have less further to walk and possibly could help eliminate some of the people cutting through sites. Walked past some sites and could smell weed. I believe this is illegal in South Dakota. Didn't see a lot of staff monitoring the park. Those are just a couple of things we were unhappy with. I should have been smart and read the reviews before booking this KOA but neglected to based on our excellent first visit. After a couple of days we tried to find another campground but being a popular tourist destination this was not possible. If we are in the area again, we will stay at the local competition that has Wi-Fi (found out when we tried to check in and could connect with my iPad) and no daily resort fees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$75
If you have preteen children and a very healthy travel budget, this park could be for you. However, if you are desirous of a peaceful, spacious campsite with modern amenities (cable tv, wifi, 50 amp service), this may not be your best bet. On the positive side, we were able to procure a spot on a "same day" basis during a busy time of year. The restrooms and showers were clean and there was a nice open area to exercise the dog. The setting of the park is also quite lovely if one can ignore the hectic activities and crush of campers clustered very close together. We were charged $75 for a site that was supposed to be pull-thru, but we had to unhook to accommodate our 45' coach. The person who took our reservation did mention that the site was 60' long, but manuevering in such close quarters made unhooking mandatory to negotiate our departure. Further, we got 30 amp service rather than 50 amp. Fortunately, it was not terribly hot since our attempt to run 2 roof airs was unsuccessful. Our site did not have wifi or cable TV (which is only available in "deluxe" sites). Finally, our rate of $75 included a $10 "resort saver fee". I called to ask what that fee was for and was told it covered amenities primarily designed for children. When I explained we would not be using any of those amenities, I was told "everyone pays". I asked to speak to a manager and was transferred. I got voicemail and left a message, explaining my objection to the resort saver fee and the $3 fee tacked on because we were traveling with a dog. I left that message around 3pm and never got a call back. If you don't want a "Kamping Carnival" experience, there are other options in the area. We will never return to this campground. To add insult to injury, even though the manager never returned my call, we received a satisfaction survey shortly after our departure! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$46
Our recent stay at the Mount Rushmore KOA was excellent. We stayed for a single night in May so we could visit Mount Rushmore. There was a small snafu when we checked in, but it was dealt with. Our space was in the back of the campground where we enjoyed the silence and darkness at night and giving us a great night sleep. There was a great playground that our kids played in and really enjoyed, despite the colder temperatures. Most activities were closed; I wish they had been opened because there was so much for the family to do. Would I recommend this park? Yes. Would we come back? Yes. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mount Rushmore KOA
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$17


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
Although this is a no frills campground it was beautiful. We wish we had stayed longer, it is convenient to Custer, Rushmore, Wind Cave and Rapid City, Hill City and Deadwood, SD. Nice shaded sites with a mild breeze even in the mid to high 90 degree temperatures while we were there. Friendly/helpful host. Highly recommend if you are self contained and can dry camp for up to a week. Generator friendly campground.. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$62



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   10   9   10   9   6   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$62
The best park in the area! Having stayed here many years ago, decided to return. It didn't disappoint. There are 5 different areas to choose from for your camping needs. We staying in the Upper Ranch Camp area, in the trees. Bathhouse specific to that area. Pull- through site, did need to do some leveling, but nothing overly extreme. The only shortcoming was the bathhouse itself. A bit run down and in need of a better cleaning. There were only 2 toilet stalls and 3 shower stalls for an area that was constantly busy from campers coming and going. The mix there was of motorhomes, trailers, and tents, so not everyone was using their own on-board facilities. Nice open meadow areas between the different camping areas. Office staff was friendly and efficient. Swimming pool by the office with extra parking for the pool area. Pancake breakfast in the mornings from 8-11 AM, reasonably priced...and delicious! Rafter J is convenient to just about everything one could possibly want to see in the central Black Hills area -- close to Hill City and Custer City, and convenient to Mount Rushmore and the Needles Highway, as well as Custer State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
This "destination" resort is awesome. The mountain resort setting is very relaxing. The friendly staff and clean facilities were great. You can have a site way away from the facilities in the forest or in the main area. All was wonderful, quiet, very family orientated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
This is one of our favorites. The campground is diverse and has 5 different camping areas. There are less than 200 sites and there are some very nice views from many of them. There is a lot of green space and it is perfect for long walks with your dog. We have a 45' coach and find that Lower Ranch Camp and Line Camp work well for us. The only challenge is procuring a site without advance reservations as this park is very popular in season. So call as far ahead as you can, particularly if you want a multi-day stay. We called with only a day's notice and had to spend one night at the Black Hills KOA before we could check in for two nights at the Rafter J. That one night at the KOA made us appreciate the Rafter J even more than ever before! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Rafter J Bar Ranch Camping Resort
Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$41
This is a brand new RV park on the south end of Hill City. It is open, but not everything is completely finished. They still have some work to do on some of the RV sites, are currently working on the landscaping around the main building, and are still building cabins. The 34 sites I listed above is just for the projected number of RV sites. I do not know the total number of cabins. We spent one weekday night here. All RV sites are back-ins set on 10' wide gravel pads. Some are not big enough for large RVs. All are FHU with cable and free WI-FI. I did not hook up to the cable and the WI-FI worked well for us. That may be because we were the only RV customers in the park. All sites appear to be satellite friendly. The park roads are gravel and the site pads are raised causing a safety hazard for folks stepping out of their RVs onto a sloped surface. There is nothing (no pool or playground) for kids. All the sewer pipes are about 10" above the ground creating hookup and dumping headaches. The park is right off US385 and the traffic noise is steady and loud until dark. It picks up again first thing in the morning. Most of the town's attractions (shops, restaurants, museum, 1880 Train, etc.) are within a mile or so of the park. I thought the rate was high, and there are none of the usual discounts (GS, AAA, etc.). Even if they fix some of the problems (sewer height, for example), I don't think I would rate this park much higher because of the cost and noise issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com