219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Keystone, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.24 miles NE
10.57 miles W
11.18 miles SE
11.86 miles NE
14.87 miles N
16.80 miles SW
18.51 miles NE
19.34 miles NW
19.83 miles N
20.08 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
The Gaslight
0.85 miles E
Rushmore Shadows Resort-23680 Buseted Five Ct
2.60 miles NE
Borglum Historical Center
4.53 miles SW
Rushmore Tramway
4.65 miles SW
Mount Rushmore National
6.73 miles SW
Rpi- Sd Hart Ranch Camping Resort 23756 Arena Dr Rapid City
7.16 miles E
Spokane Creek Rv
(605)666-4609
7.36 miles S
Big Thunder Gold Mine
7.37 miles SW
Hart Ranch Camping Club-23756 Arena Dr
7.60 miles NE
Fireside Inn Restaurant
7.89 miles NW
Chapel In The Hills
8.24 miles NE
Reptile Gardens
8.80 miles NE
1880 Train - Black Hil
10.28 miles SW
Lacroix Links Golf Cou
10.41 miles NE
Alpine Inn
10.58 miles W
Black Hills Institute Of
10.59 miles W
Casa Del Rey
10.78 miles NE
Battle Creek Sta (Loc Unk)
Hermosa
11.04 miles SE
Bear Country Usa
11.39 miles NE
Heartland Rv Cg
(866)445-5778
11.49 miles SE
Sioux Indian Museum
11.54 miles NE
Executive Golf Course
11.64 miles NE
Museum Of Geology
11.66 miles NE
The Uptown Bar & Grill
11.69 miles NE
Sixth Street Bakery & D
11.69 miles NE
Firehouse Brewing Co
11.70 miles NE
Mediterranean Island Rest
11.72 miles NE
Carini'S Italian Restau
11.73 miles NE
National College - Rapid
11.82 miles NE
Remington'S Restaurant &
11.84 miles NE
The Beanery Deli & Bakery
11.85 miles NE
Hunan Restaurant
11.94 miles NE
South Dakota School Of M
12.04 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
1200 Lacrosse St
12.41 miles NE
Sams Club?I-90:59 1020 Lacrosse St (Located To Street)
12.41 miles NE
Sinclair
I-90 X55
12.57 miles NE
Great Wall - Rapid City
12.64 miles NE
Eddie'S Truck Sales 8002333437
12.69 miles NE
Imperial
12.87 miles NE
Green Star Camper Center
13.10 miles NE
Flying J
I-90 X61
15.30 miles NE
South Dakota
Keystone
Most Recently Reviewed
Kemp's Kamp
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-15 21:34:17
8 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Keystone, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
September 2010
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
We stayed for one night. The setting was very nice and impressive. However it cannot compare to RV-only parks. Was not as nicely kept and more noisy than RV parks that we stay at. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Nice and quiet place. Most sites are back-in. Big playground and steam train goes right across entrance! I'll stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
July 2006
Latest Rate
$23


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
Very nice National Forest Service campground with a camp host on site and minimum items available such as firewood, ice, and candies. Water is available at common locations and is very cold, safe well water. Beautiful campground with plenty of space away from the maddening crowd in most of the rest of the area. Only 5 miles from Mount Rushmore and about 5 from Hill City for a large grocery store. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
22
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
This was a very nice campground. Most corrals are covered, plenty of corrals to keep horses separate. Very clean restrooms and showers, with laundry available and a small restaurant on site. Wi-Fi is available if you are close enough to the office/restaurant which also has a HUGE covered porch with lots of rocking chairs, tables for playing cards or checkers and seating area for all to enjoy. Very friendly owners. Biggest downfall was the camp sites are very un-level, so bring lots of wood for leveling your unit. The trails are easy and very scenic. Riding to Lakota Lake is a "must do". We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
21
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   5   10   8   7   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  no  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  no  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
We stayed five nights at this camp ground, and it could have been better. There are no showers or restrooms in the park. The Wi-Fi comes and it goes most of the time, but it does work on occasion. Other then those drawbacks the park it not bad at all. They have a restaurant with very good food, with there specialty being ribs. The deer are seen every night and morning in the park, along with turkeys. The site's are gravel and level. The road is also gravel, but muddy when wet. There is no laundry available in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Do not even consider this place. You arrive & have to call to get your space number. Then to find anyone you have to make a left turn on a busy, busy road to go up the hill to check in. Fortunately we had a car. Fleas jumped all over me as I did the paperwork. They advertise Internet connection, but is not available, & they seemed unconcerned. No showers/bath available. Uneven sites too hard to level. Tables on hilly areas between sites so unusable. We are staying one night. They lost 7 days of rent from 3 rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Staying here for 4 days to see Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. We are in site 13. Not level. In fact quite a few are not level. Broke one of my jacks trying to get level. Office is up the road and if you have a big rig, park on the highway as getting into the office area would be very hard! Campground down the road. No showers, no pool either. This coming week is Sturgis motorcycle rally and bikes are everywhere. Some nice people around us in Newell's. No tents allowed. Wouldn't come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Holy Smoke Resort
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   7   8   8   10   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Great place to call home for the Black Hills area. Campground is spread along a road, but not noisy. The train ride comes by the camp about 4 times a day. The staff were friendly and helpful, even gave me a jump when my toad battery was dead. Restrooms were a little rustic for my wife, but were clean. Lots of trees and shade in the back in area of the camp. We will stay here again in the future. Don't recall the nightly rate, they do give Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
We found this park to be very pleasant. Although some sites are close to the road, the road is not busy. Many sites are only one lane so you have no one on the opposite side. This side faces the small creek and treed hills. The tents sites are great (we did not use) they have a covered pavilion on each site. The wildlife (deer) wonder nearby and make for a very pleasant view. The town of Keystone is a VERY short ride offering many restaurants, gift shops and fun tourist things to do. It's location is great for visiting Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse, the best we thought. A great mix of being close to everything, yet feeling you are in a remote area. I would recommend to anyone visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
This place is very convenient to see Mt Rushmore & for riding in the mountains of the area. The camp host was pleasant & helpful. The water/sewer/electric/cable hookups were good but we could not get the Wifi to work at all. The sites were very close together and close to the road, but traffic was not heavy. Keystone, the town nearby, offered a nice mountain train ride and other touristy things to do. It was a tad expensive for the type of campground, but we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Kemp's Kamp
Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Campground was run down with lack of maintenance. Problems viewed were 50% of showers not working, holes in restroom floor, keys issued for restroom were not necessary as locks were not working, camp site markers down and damaged, poor attitude of registration staff when problems were brought to their attention. This could be a nice little park close to Mt Rushmore. It is very run down and associated with the Travel lodge Hotel Chain. One would expect to pay premium prices for a park close to an attraction, but price was high for a good quality park in the area, let alone the very poor shape the park was in. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
We stayed here one night. Laundry was next door under gas station. Sites were all pretty flat and we did have plenty of room with a 25 foot bus. It was a bit slow when we were there and if it was full it would be a little bit tighter but would be enough room to spred out a little bit. Wireless internet was available but we couldn't get the signal from our spot. The cable was a bit fuzzy on a couple channels. Electric on half the sites on wrong side. The ground was good for the wheelchair hard packed gravel and even with the rain it wasn't full of puddles and wasn't muddy. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   8   8   7   9   7   8   1   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$16
We camped here from Friday, August 30, 2013 to Monday, September 2, 2013 with our son and his family. The campground is quiet, clean, and peaceful. We enjoyed swimming in the clean, in-ground pool (although if it were covered at night with a solar cover, that would have helped the VERY cold temp a lot), mini-golf, endless hiking opportunities, and a campfire each night. The scenery can't be beat! Camp store has limited supplies, swimming accessories, ice, firewood, souvenirs, and lots of t-shirts for sale. There is a small deli attached for an 'on-the-go' meal. We enjoyed this camping experience very much. We camped here in a motorhome and our son has a 5th Wheel. Note: The $16 per night camping fee was military discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
We camped in our 16' travel trailer for two nights. We had asked for a shady spot since there was a heat wave but when we arrived we found we were exposed to the sun most of the day. We were parked up against a hill with tent campers across from us along a creek. The air was full of mosquitoes both early morning and evenings. While the staff was friendly and helpful, the bathroom and shower facilities were primitive, well worn and dirty. In addition, the park had only three showers in the single bathroom facilities for each sex, not nearly enough with all the people staying at the camp. In addition, instead of having a separate laundry, two washers and dryers were in each of the bathrooms, two for the women's and two for the men. With the washers and dryers running, and the heat generated, the bathrooms were almost unusable. We would NOT stay at this RV park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
This was a nice site to stay in. Not super close to Mt. Rushmore but close enough, and it wasn't too far to Crazy Horse. The roads into the park can be quite interesting in the dark if you use a GPS or iPhone for navigation, taking you through 8-10 miles of tight twisty mountain roads. The sites are all angled and back in and can easily accommodate a long truck and trailer. The only detractors are a complete lack of cell service on AT&T and poor Internet connectivity, but if you want peace and quiet, or don't have kids who need to be "plugged-in", it's pretty nice. One final note: We were in my wife's home town of Minot, ND prior to this stay, and ended up staying an extra three days to help evacuate prior to the flood. The park we would have been at for those days was very understanding and accommodating allowing us to cancel our reservations without penalty. We contacted this park several days in advance to explain our situation but they were completely unwilling to accommodate us with a shift in dates or cancellation on our prepaid reservation. If you make the reservation be prepared to use it or lose it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Spokane Creek
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Don't follow GPS to navigate to get there. We drove the 16A road south of Mt. Rushmore and I do not advise you to drive this road in an RV. The road is extremely curvy and there are a few really narrow and short tunnels to navigate through. A portion of the road is very tight in width and the shoulder is a few inches drop so quite tough in a 30' motorhome to navigate through. There are a few RV sites with hookups but navigating to park in them is tight and tricky. The owner guided me and I ended up smashing my cargo bay door to my propane and now it is really difficult to open the door. The wolves were nice to see and the campground is nestled away in a valley surrounded by the Black Hills. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
This park is very convenient to Custer State Park and the Needles Highway. It has a few RV full hook-up sites with 30amp. They also have cabins and tent sites and a very nice pavilion. The grounds are beautiful. The camp name is derived from the pair of wolves who make their fenced-off home here. The owner/managers are very nice and helpful. For 4th of July they had a BBQ for all that was great fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com