223350 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Madison, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
21.59 miles S
23.80 miles SW
24.78 miles N
25.85 miles NE
29.83 miles SW
34.72 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Dakota State University
0.38 miles NE
Prairie Historical Societ
1.03 miles SE
South Dakota
Madison
Most Recently Reviewed
Walkers Point State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-18 15:02:54
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Madison, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
This is a lovely state park located on Lake Herman. We stayed in the upper loop which is fairly wide open. The lower loop his heavily treed and some of those trees are way to low and need a trimming. We stayed on site 56 which was 50 amp. Our site was not level front to back and side to side. The side to side leveling issue could be taken care of with a little grading of the site. We had good Verizon phone and internet service and since our site was so wide open, we were able to use our roof top satellite. Our 5th wheel is 37 ft and it would have been challenging to access the dump station and we did not attempt it. The dual lane dump station/fresh water fill is immediately after a right hand turn and we felt that we just did not enough swing room. a small rig would not face this difficulty.You also have to buy a South Dakota annual park pass for $30 which I did not include in the nightly cost of camping. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
South Dakota SP are wonderful, well kept parks usually on water like this one. Remember that there is an entrance fee on top of the camping fee. If you plan on staying more than 5 nights in any of SD parks you would do well to buy their pass for $30. Very busy on week ends during the summer, but almost always available during the week. The sites are nice and long, well spaced and have been kept quite level. There are some very close trees in the lower loop that made it a little hair raising to get around. Bathrooms are nice and well cleaned. Verizon signal is just OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$16
A very nice state park at a very reasonable rate. Sites have 30 amp electric only, no sewer or water hook up. A dump station is available with potable water. Most sites have a view of the lake, or the "pond" as it is refered to. The biggest drawback for us was the mosquito population made it hard to hang out outdoors. It sold out on the weekends, and was nearly deserted during the week. At a different time of year this park would be a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lake Herman State Park
Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   7   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
We love this park and stay here anytime we are in the Madison, SD area. If you can do without water and sewer (and internet and TV) for a few days, this park is a true gem. Great waterfront sites that are easy to get into. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
This is a gem of a park, and the second time we have stayed here. Some of the back-in sites that are on the water will accommodate large rigs, and the web site provides detailed information, including length, for each site. There is a large parking area the park entrance where you can unhook a toad. The cost includes a nonresident state park fee. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
This is a very nice park with friendly staff. If your are not a South Dakota resident you also need to pay a $6.00 per vehicle access fee in addition to the camping fee. Park was easy to get in and out with good paved interior roads and fairly level gravel sites. We had a very nice site right on the water. Someone had parked in out site and we were slightly delayed in setting up, but they gave us 3 free bundles of firewood as compensation. I was towing a trailer that I had to drop in their parking lot, but the lot was large and easy to get into and out of. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Walkers Point State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com