218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Shadehill, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
11.37 miles N
21.88 miles SW
South Dakota
Shadehill
Most Recently Reviewed
Llewellyn Johns Recreational Area
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-22 00:52:13
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Shadehill, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$19
$19 per night was for a 30 amp electric site on a level gravel pad. We had previously purchased the annual park permit for $30 and the tow vehicle was included in the fee. There are water and vault toilets within this small, 10-site campground. The dump station is located in the Sandhill campground, about three miles from the Llewellyn Johns recreation area campground. There was a picnic table and a campfire ring on our site. If you like walking/hiking/biking, there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. Boating/fishing is also a very popular pastime in the park. The night sky is gorgeous, as are the sunsets. There were many birds—western kingbirds, barn swallows, nighthawks, to name a few—that come out at dusk to swoop and catch insects overhead. The campground is out in the country. The nearest town, Shadehill, is a 12-mile drive where there is a grocery store, post office, and a petrified wood museum/exhibit. Cell phone service on AT&T is two bars of 4G. Verizon data coverage is was 4G LTE so we used our Millenicom Jetpack for Internet access. There was no over-the-air TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$14
This is a nice little park south of Lemmon on State Route 73 near Shadehill Reservoir. I had the place all to myself although every spot was reserved for the upcoming Labor Day weekend. Pit toilets were very clean. Nice shade trees with level spots all. Only bad thing was I thought we were next to the local dog pound just on the other side of the trees. The next morning when leaving I drove over there and discovered it was the neighbor's hunting hound dogs imprisoned in a chain link enclosure. The slightest anything set them off baying and howling. One evening of that was enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
A really nice State Park. The shower and bathroom facilities were spotless and we were almost the only people staying on the park. Through the summer there is a resident manager who lives in a big 5th wheel on-site, and he is very friendly. We were allowed to have a fire and the site manager was able to sell us a couple of bundles of wood. I really liked this location but the lack of sewer hook up and water was a real problem for my wife. The manager did warn us that the place was very busy at the weekend, but through the week it appears to be quiet as a mouse. We were able to dump and wash out our tank on the way out and also able to fill up with fresh water. If you're happy living for a night without full hook up I'd really recommend this place. but the lack of amenities stops me scoring it any higher than an eight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Very nice State Park Campground located 14 miles south of Lemmon, SD. Long, level, well-spaced sites. Most sites are back-in, only a few are pull through and these are small. Picnic table and fire ring at each site. Nice bathhouse with showers. Small, modern playground for kids. Vault toilers and water spigots are scattered throughout campground. Dump station available when departing. A few campers on weekdays but campground is full on weekends. Weekend reservations needed well in advance. Most campers also tow a boat. Large lake has good fishing and is excellent for water sports. We camped for a week and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
This campground is quite open but spacious. There were very few people there while we were there. Not too many trees in each site but because each site is big you still have privacy. We had a path straight to the lake which was nice. Very peaceful and the kids likes wading and throwing rocks. The playground was 1 slide and 2 swings so not very entertaining for the kids. The hostesses cleaned the bathrooms early in the morning so I was shooed out and told to come back later for a shower. Not the best time to clean since some people want an early start and then can't get into the bathroom. All in all it was a nice place. We would go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com