223228 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Spearfish, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.81 miles SE
9.74 miles SE
12.45 miles N
14.53 miles NW
18.07 miles SE
26.00 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Black Hills Passion Pla
0.38 miles W
Black Hills State Univ
0.96 miles NW
Wal-Marti-90:12 2125 N Main (Located To Block)
1.46 miles N
High Plains Heritage Cen
1.90 miles N
Welcome Center
I-90 Mm1
9.46 miles NW
Old Style Saloon #10
9.83 miles SE
Jake'S Atop The Midnigh
9.84 miles SE
Broken Boot Gold Mine
9.87 miles SE
Adams Museum & House
9.94 miles SE
Mount Moriah Cemetery
10.07 miles SE
Deadwood Historic Distri
10.86 miles SE
Sand Creek Rv Office
(888)238-5249
10.96 miles NW
Terry Peak Ski Area
11.25 miles S
Deer Mountain Ski Area
12.72 miles SE
Tri-State Memorial Muse
12.88 miles N
Hidden Valley Cg
(605)578-1342
15.63 miles SE
South Dakota
Spearfish
Most Recently Reviewed
Chris' Camp
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-10 20:57:51
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Spearfish, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$65
We stayed there during the Sturgis Rally and have done so for the last 5 years. We camped there in a 42 foot RV and use 50 amp service. They have the best price during the Rally anywhere close to Sturgis. They have just added new sites all with 50 amp service. The owners checked on us at least 3 time during our 8 day stay. The owner are very nice people. This is what I would call a mom and pop campground. It has two showers stalls for the men but I never had to wait on one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
The owners were friendly and accommodating. However, the RV park was "unkempt" and dirty looking. The grounds were not mowed with grass and weeds growing. Gravel drive and campsites. There seemed to be a lot of permanent residents in older trailers. Just not a place I would care to return to. I was there one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
Centennial Campground is a nice little park, conveniently located on a frontage road right off I-90. The staff/owner couple were very helpful. For example, when I asked if they knew where we could drop off the recycling we'd been collecting for several days, the lady owner went above and beyond by calling around town to try to find us a drop off center. And the man owner came out to help us level our RV. Very friendly owners, super nice. The campground itself is a big, grassy, flat field. Very pretty. There are a few full timers here but it was 90% empty when we were here. We were the only non-full timers when we stayed. The laundry is fine and was clean; 3 washers for $1.25 each and $1 for 50 minutes for the dryers. What I especially love is the way the owners have an honor system for using their laundry supplies. There is a little cup and they ask you to pay "20 cents for a cup full of detergent, 10 cents for a dryer sheet" etc. Just very home town and thoughtful. The bathrooms and showers are clean, maybe a bit old style but the owners add paper towels and nice smelling soaps to make it nice. This is a no-frills type place but very reasonably priced at $24 when we stayed. They don't take Good Sam at such a low price, I can't blame them. We stayed 2 nights while hiking nearby parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
228
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   6   9   7   9   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$37
This is a wonderful park. Easy access to Spearfish and I-90. Very strong Verizon 4g signal, fast campground WiFi allowed us to stream programming from our Dish Hopper at home, and to use our laptops without a hitch. Laundry room was very clean and in good repair. The park was quiet, AC power was great to the site (measured with a meter). Cable TV was also provided. The owners were very helpful and wanted our stay to be enjoyable. We stayed at a slow time of year, so I can't speak for busy summer times, but the owners are clearly spending the money needed to keep this park in great condition. We drove down to Crazy Horse, and Mount Rushmore one day, and visited Deadwood the next. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$37
This campground is easy to find and they have great signs leading you off of I-90 to the campground. This is a wonderful place to stay. We were given a choice of several sites when we arrived and were taken by golf cart to view them before selecting the site we preferred. We were then escorted to that site. We had a long, level, shaded pull-through site near the pool, laundry, and bathhouse which was very convenient. The roads are paved and easy to maneuver. Sites are gravel. Chris' is located approximately 2 miles from Spearfish Canyon (a "must-see") and 10 miles to the Deadwood area. Walmart and other stores and restaurants are within 1 mile. We had good Wi-Fi for two days but could not connect on the weekend. The laundry was clean with good machines. We stayed here 4 nights in a 33' rig and highly recommend this park. The rate quoted reflects a Good Sam discount. Be aware that they do not accept credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$100
Near Sturgis. Bike week rate $100 cash or check only. Very nice park. Easy access off I-90 at Exit 14. Paved interior roads. Two swim pools. We had site 11: good hookups, level, good wifi, shade, everything great. Well run, felt like well-liked family member. Food service in park. Best personal guidance into a site that I have ever experienced. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Chris' Camp
Camp Information
Sites
222
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   10   10   10   10   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$40
Big rigs: If you have to drive an extra 100 miles to camp here, it is worth the drive. This is a pretty new park and they didn't spare any expense in creating the perfect park. I would actually consider this a resort and not a park. The park has 100', paved and level pull-thrus, wide roads, a grassy area at each site with a picnic table, a large modern playground, pet park, lighted basketball and tennis courts, volleyball net, very clean pool area with a hot tub, free wi-fi, 60 TV channels AND a convenient/liquor store, a cafe and gift shop. To top it off, it is located one mile south of I-90 and it was quiet. They honor Good Sam discount. Bonus: there is a championship 9 hole golf course 1.5 miles away and they offer a discount if you are staying at the RV park. Construction for an additional 9 holes was in full swing in Sep 2014. This park, by far, exceeded our expectations. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$52
What a pleasant find! Easy access from the freeway. Paved roads and sites in the park. We were only going to stay overnight, but the clerk told us about all the nearby attractions, so we extended for five nights. What a beautiful area! Of course, we visited Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse, but there are so many interesting areas beyond these. The resort is very clean and thoughtfully arranged. The amenities looked fantastic, but we didn't use any of them since we spent so much time touring the area. Wi-Fi and cable worked well. All hook-ups were well-placed. Gift shop and store were fully stocked. The staff was always polite and helpful. FYI: Be careful with your awnings! The wind is brisk and unpredictable. We felt the wind starting up and while we were retracting our power awning, a gust caught it and loosened the rear arm. This isn't the resort's fault, of course. Just be aware of the winds and act faster than we did. The only improvement I'd make in the resort is the addition of trees so awnings wouldn't be as necessary. Summer is very hot and sunny in the area. I'd definitely return to Elkhorn Ridge. After staying at so many less than acceptable campgrounds, I really appreciated this resort and the areas around it. I would highly recommend Elkhorn Ridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
We had not planned on staying here but the park we wanted to stay at for several days in Deadwood was fully booked for a special weekend. I still don't understand how this park gets so many 10s. Among the negatives: The sites are not level, the "grass" between sites is mostly weeds, the bathroom and laundry facilities are inadequate for a park this size, and the Wi-Fi network is unreliable. While the pool area and other recreational facilities are exceptional, the design flaws, poor maintenance, and questionable managerial decisions lower the rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Elkhorn Ridge RV Resort & Cabins
Camp Information
Sites
357
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   4   8   9   8   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
Beautiful campground in a great location. Across the street from a historic fish hatchery and on a creek with a walking and biking trail next to it. The sites are gravel with lots of good grass. Quiet location. Some 'premium' sites available directly on the creek. Some grassy sites along a smaller creek with no hook-ups. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We liked this campground a lot except that the sites are pretty tight. I bet it's pretty crowded in the middle of the summer. It's close enough to downtown to walk or bike. There are walking/biking trails following the creek throughout town. We saw deer running thru the campground numerous times. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
The park is very nice as far as appearance is concerned. There is a nice stream running along the park. There is a nice walking path adjacent to the park. The sites are shaded and offer full hook-up. There are six premium sites offered at an additional charge of $5 per night. These sites offer a longer site and more room between sites. We camped in a premium site and the nightly rate reflects the additional charge. I was disappointed in the site as it was not even close to being level. After many attempts to move the trailer around the site to find the best level, I finally achieved a spot that only required 2 1/4" of boards on one side. So, if you choose a premium site and don't have jacks, bring some lumber. In addition, there is only one Wi-Fi antenna and it is at the office. So if you are not parked next to or very near the office, your signal will be poor if you are able to receive a signal at all. If you plan to use the Wi-Fi, my advice would be to get a site near the office and avoid the premium sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Spearfish City Campground
Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   9   9   8   7   8   3   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$57
This was quite a disappointment. Sites were very narrow as well as the access roads inside. Amenities were on up to the fees charged. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$95
The Staff was able to juggle us in the week before "Sturgis" festival,Since everything was booked. The park is beautiful and well kept. Plenty of activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
Here is one of those almost perfect campgrounds, but the bar is set high if it is a KOA along with the high fees. In the case of Spearfish KOA this is a fine example of where expectations, fees, facilities, and services are all in-line and acceptable. Unbelievably friendly owners/managers. All aspects of the Spearfish KOA are impeccable other than the fees perhaps being high or not in the budget for some if not many campers (one reason, but certainly not the main reason, a large family such as ours camps is to be more economic when traveling and vacationing). The stout KOA fee structure is the only negative especially when we start getting whacked with the extra person fees on top of the nightly fees. Most definitely the place to camp if en route along the I-90 corridor through South Dakota to other locals for example in Wyoming or Montana,but would also be a perfect place to camp if you were staying in the Black Hills for a weekend or week to see all the incredibly beautiful sites of the Black Hills, SD. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Spearfish KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com