214654 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Spearfish, South Dakota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.81 miles SE
9.74 miles SE
12.45 miles N
14.53 miles NW
18.07 miles SE
26.00 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Black Hills Passion Pla
0.38 miles W
Black Hills State Univ
0.96 miles NW
Wal-Marti-90:12 2125 N Main (Located To Block)
1.46 miles N
High Plains Heritage Cen
1.90 miles N
Welcome Center
I-90 Mm1
9.46 miles NW
Old Style Saloon #10
9.83 miles SE
Jake'S Atop The Midnigh
9.84 miles SE
Broken Boot Gold Mine
9.87 miles SE
Adams Museum & House
9.94 miles SE
Mount Moriah Cemetery
10.07 miles SE
Deadwood Historic Distri
10.86 miles SE
Sand Creek Rv Office
(888)238-5249
10.96 miles NW
Terry Peak Ski Area
11.25 miles S
Deer Mountain Ski Area
12.72 miles SE
Tri-State Memorial Muse
12.88 miles N
Hidden Valley Cg
(605)578-1342
15.63 miles SE
South Dakota
Spearfish
Most Recently Reviewed
Chris' Camp
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-17 19:05:48
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Spearfish, South Dakota
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
The owners were friendly and accommodating. However, the RV park was "unkempt" and dirty looking. The grounds were not mowed with grass and weeds growing. Gravel drive and campsites. There seemed to be a lot of permanent residents in older trailers. Just not a place I would care to return to. I was there one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
Centennial Campground is a nice little park, conveniently located on a frontage road right off I-90. The staff/owner couple were very helpful. For example, when I asked if they knew where we could drop off the recycling we'd been collecting for several days, the lady owner went above and beyond by calling around town to try to find us a drop off center. And the man owner came out to help us level our RV. Very friendly owners, super nice. The campground itself is a big, grassy, flat field. Very pretty. There are a few full timers here but it was 90% empty when we were here. We were the only non-full timers when we stayed. The laundry is fine and was clean; 3 washers for $1.25 each and $1 for 50 minutes for the dryers. What I especially love is the way the owners have an honor system for using their laundry supplies. There is a little cup and they ask you to pay "20 cents for a cup full of detergent, 10 cents for a dryer sheet" etc. Just very home town and thoughtful. The bathrooms and showers are clean, maybe a bit old style but the owners add paper towels and nice smelling soaps to make it nice. This is a no-frills type place but very reasonably priced at $24 when we stayed. They don't take Good Sam at such a low price, I can't blame them. We stayed 2 nights while hiking nearby parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
228
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   9   8   10   10   10   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Cabins and a wide variety of sites are available at this campground. Small, grassy sloped sites may be only suitable for tents but some level, gravel sites can accommodate large RVs. Most sites are closely spaced and offer no sense of privacy. The laundries, restrooms, and pool were clean and inviting. AT&T phone and data service were good in the area. Basic utilities were good but the WiFi was very slow and scarcely usable. The price includes a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
After reading all the great reviews about this campground, I was happy to arrive here! The only flaw we really had were the dryers in the laundry room. My wife reported to me that they were not very efficient. Clothes were not drying properly in a reasonable amount of time. There are 2 pools on the property and both are sparkling! Plenty of room to spread out and if you don’t have a fire ring on your site, they will deliver one to you. We enjoyed our stay here and would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This was a very nice park, green with good shade. They allowed dog kennels in your site which is a plus as so many parks are restrict that. There is a great pool for kids with a water slide and a petting zoo (free) with 2 baby goats, 2 baby lambs and even a calf. The staff were very friendly and voluntarily let us pick our own site from the many they have available. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Chris' Camp
Camp Information
Sites
222
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   10   9   10   8   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$52
This is our second stay at this campground. This is a first class resort with accompanying amenities. The cable is exceptional and the grounds are immaculate. The roads and sites are concrete and the landscaping is attractive. It is a little expensive but you get what you pay for. There is adequate grassy areas between sites. The campground is quiet at night and easy to find right off the interstate. The laundry is expensive at $2 per washer or dryer. The internet was a bit iffy at times but usually adequate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$54
We stayed here twice, once on the way out, and then on our return trip. This is a new campground (resort), and the developers have done an excellent job. Convenient to many Black Hills attractions, wide paved interior roads, all sites are paved and spacious, internet and cable TV work well, and it is quiet despite close proximity to I-90. Resort has lots of amenities including tennis court, basketball court, and horseshoes. Only negative I can see is lack of fire rings or pits at individual campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$55
Needed a place to stop for a couple nights . Came across this park and was very pleased. Easy access from the Interstate. the staff was really nice, friendly and helpful. Check-in was easily done. The sites are all concrete with full hook-ups and spacious. Had picnic tables and grass areas. Highly recommend and would stay here again. We were in a 38 ft rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Elkhorn Ridge RV Resort & Cabins
Camp Information
Sites
357
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   4   8   9   8   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
Beautiful campground in a great location. Across the street from a historic fish hatchery and on a creek with a walking and biking trail next to it. The sites are gravel with lots of good grass. Quiet location. Some 'premium' sites available directly on the creek. Some grassy sites along a smaller creek with no hook-ups. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We liked this campground a lot except that the sites are pretty tight. I bet it's pretty crowded in the middle of the summer. It's close enough to downtown to walk or bike. There are walking/biking trails following the creek throughout town. We saw deer running thru the campground numerous times. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
The park is very nice as far as appearance is concerned. There is a nice stream running along the park. There is a nice walking path adjacent to the park. The sites are shaded and offer full hook-up. There are six premium sites offered at an additional charge of $5 per night. These sites offer a longer site and more room between sites. We camped in a premium site and the nightly rate reflects the additional charge. I was disappointed in the site as it was not even close to being level. After many attempts to move the trailer around the site to find the best level, I finally achieved a spot that only required 2 1/4" of boards on one side. So, if you choose a premium site and don't have jacks, bring some lumber. In addition, there is only one Wi-Fi antenna and it is at the office. So if you are not parked next to or very near the office, your signal will be poor if you are able to receive a signal at all. If you plan to use the Wi-Fi, my advice would be to get a site near the office and avoid the premium sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Spearfish City Campground
Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   9   9   8   7   8   3   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$57
This was quite a disappointment. Sites were very narrow as well as the access roads inside. Amenities were on up to the fees charged. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$95
The Staff was able to juggle us in the week before "Sturgis" festival,Since everything was booked. The park is beautiful and well kept. Plenty of activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
Here is one of those almost perfect campgrounds, but the bar is set high if it is a KOA along with the high fees. In the case of Spearfish KOA this is a fine example of where expectations, fees, facilities, and services are all in-line and acceptable. Unbelievably friendly owners/managers. All aspects of the Spearfish KOA are impeccable other than the fees perhaps being high or not in the budget for some if not many campers (one reason, but certainly not the main reason, a large family such as ours camps is to be more economic when traveling and vacationing). The stout KOA fee structure is the only negative especially when we start getting whacked with the extra person fees on top of the nightly fees. Most definitely the place to camp if en route along the I-90 corridor through South Dakota to other locals for example in Wyoming or Montana,but would also be a perfect place to camp if you were staying in the Black Hills for a weekend or week to see all the incredibly beautiful sites of the Black Hills, SD. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Spearfish KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com