214868 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Benton, Tennessee (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.44 miles SW
5.71 miles NE
10.53 miles SW
19.03 miles N
24.11 miles NE
26.16 miles NE
28.79 miles SE
30.05 miles SW
30.23 miles NW
30.94 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
"Hiwassee/Ocoee Scenic River State Park - Camp, Fish, Picnic, Horseback 423-263-0050"
7.23 miles NE
Tennessee
Benton
Most Recently Reviewed
2 Rivers RV Park Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-15 03:51:52
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Benton, Tennessee
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
The view is lovely, but we will not be returning. This campground is not family friendly. We were supposed to have a two night stay but after returning from our rafting trip we were told to leave without refund because our dog was barking from inside the camper. We asked around and most campers said the dog was not a problem. We had done all requested of us including providing shot records but had the distinct feeling we were not welcome from the time we arrived when the campground manager suggested we tranquilize our pet because she did not seem happy. We have taken her camping a lot and have never had a problem before. The campsite was small; so was the bath house. I think this is geared for local use not for travelers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Quite out of the way, perfect for a weekend to spend or go rafting in the area. The owner, will work with you on late checkouts, etc so you can get back from rafting before going home. Our site was level, shaded. There isn't much room between sites, but room behind to sit on the banks overlooking the river. There is even a boat doc and extra parking for boats. We had decent Verizon service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   7   8   7   9   10   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  no  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  no  question  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
We have stayed at this campground every year since it opened and watched it go downhill over the past few years from owner neglect. This is now a bank owned property with a new management company running it. They have been here for 2 months. We talked with the General Manager, who said they have done a deep cleaning on the lodge and it is now as nice as ever and ready for use. We did drive by the lodge and it is noticeably cleaner outside, but we did not go inside. He said they have a lot of work to do to the campground. They have put new gravel on the roads, which is a big improvement from the muddy road full of holes that we experienced last year. The restrooms seem cleaner. This is a beautiful campground located right on the Hiwassee River. I have high hopes that this new management company will continue to improve the conditions at the campground. we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We camped here several years ago and things have definitely changed for the worse. The bathroom and shower facilities were nasty. We were there 3 days and the facilities were never cleaned. The pool filter housing sprung a leak. Instead of fixing it, the owner turned off the filter pump. Pool became nasty real quick without filter running. We walked up to the lodge and were greeted with a heat wave when we walked in. Either the A/C didn't work or it was turned off. Overall, the place is run down. Either the owner does not care or the place is not generating the needed income to keep it up. It is really a shame, though. This is a beautiful location with lots of activities nearby (Hiawassee rafting, hiking, etc.). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
I've been using this site for 5 years and this is my first post. Since the last review, some things have obviously changed, so I wanted people to know. First: we reserved a specific site but someone was in it. The 'office/store' was not open so we had no choice but to pull in to another site. We found out later that the office is now at the lodge (I suppose, since we never actually saw it.) But, even if we had known that, we would never have been able to drive up that steep road in our 40' motorhome. When I finally got through to the office phone number, a man did drive down and offer to make our site stealer move. But, by that time, we had already pulled into another site. We never saw anyone who worked at the park again. So, the first thing you need to know is that the RV park office and store is now just restrooms and laundry. We didn't go inside. The next thing is that the restaurant is no longer in operation. One of the reasons we chose this park was based on the good reviews here. We ended up in a pull through, which was not bad, kind of hard to get in and out of, and in July heat, there was never any shade. Some of the back in sites (14 and under) were shady in the afternoon, but they were all taken and I don't think they were 50 amp (which we require to keep both a/c units going.) It's hard to find many parks that are truly big rig friendly, but when we were leaving, the windy road to get back to hwy 30 made this park just barely 'friendly' to us. Good thing my husband is a really good driver or we'd still be here. We did try the pool. There were about 5 or 6 people in it and that pretty much left no room for us, so we left really quick. I hate to be totally negative, but the first night, there was a water line break and the entire park had no water until mid-day the next day. The good thing was that we were able to go rafting. We only did the Hiwassee, but we've done the Ocoee lots of times and wanted to try rafting on our own for a change. It was a lot of fun. The scenery at the campground was nice, but a long walk to the river just to see it once or twice. It would have been nice to have a grill, Wi-Fi, a place to buy some water on site, some shade, a place to check in, garbage picked up more often, but other than that, well, we've seen worse places. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Black Bear Cove
Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
Located in the Chilhowee Recreation Area, Chilhowee Campground offers electric hookups, RV sites, tent only sites and multiple bathhouses. The campground is open from early April to late October, with an overflow area and day use area open year-round. 7-acre McKamy Lake offers a swim area with a sand beach and fishing from the bank. Boats are allowed, but gasoline motors are not. Also, within the recreation area are approximately 25 miles of hiking and biking trails and a scenic waterfall. On the drive up to the campground, stop at one of the many observation overlooks to see beautiful mountain settings. Wildlife is abundant in this area, so have your camera ready and tread lightly. Be aware, the drive up from US-64 is steep and while beautiful, is tough. It is 7 miles from the route to the campground. We were only overnight, so this was a bit inconvenient. Campground is beautiful, lots of woods and nature, including bear. Be wary with pets and having food outside. There are NO water hookups at the sites, though pipes are around and you could fill up your tank. Gave it an 8 because of tough drive to get there, poor directions into campground itself, and lack of other amenities. However, if you wanted to get away and enjoy nature, this would be an excellent spot to spend a few days or a week and swim, hike, and relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com