220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Bristol, Tennessee (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
3.14 miles NE
7.54 miles SW
10.05 miles SW
14.89 miles NE
20.17 miles W
21.67 miles NE
22.19 miles SE
26.61 miles SW
27.82 miles SW
27.93 miles SE
30.09 miles SE
33.28 miles SW
34.28 miles SE
37.39 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Athens Steak House
1.86 miles NE
King College
2.04 miles NE
Virginia Intermont Colleg
2.52 miles N
Vineyard - Bristol
2.78 miles NW
Steele Creek Golf Course
3.89 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
220 Century Blvd
4.91 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
13245 Lee Hwy
6.22 miles NE
Bristol Motor Speedway
6.60 miles SW
Tri Cities Golf Course
8.74 miles SW
Rocky Mount Museum
14.06 miles SW
Crowder Rv Center
14.58 miles SW
The Dining Room - Abingdo
14.96 miles NE
The Tavern - Abingdon
15.38 miles NE
Makato'S Japanese Stea
18.23 miles SW
Tennessee
Bristol
Most Recently Reviewed
Shadrack Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-18 03:13:25
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Bristol, Tennessee
Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$6
You have never seen such poorly designed showers in your life. Each shower room is entered from the outside and the potty, sink, electric hand dryer (I hope they are properly grounded), mirror and yes, the shower are out in the open. If you enter the room after someone has used the shower the entire room is soaked! In other words, there is no partition between the shower and the rest of the room! We were here for 3 night and the garbage cans were not emptied. When we left, garbage was piled up at, but not in the containers. So much for bear-proofing. The grounds are pretty and the Lake offers a lot of appeal, but between the shower facility and poor garbage collection, for the new renovation, we are not impressed! One last word: at least the long 8 mile trip from 421 is not over a dusty, gravel road. It's paved. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$12
Campground is really nice but the 8 mile dusty road getting there is not so nice. Our loop host was extremely accommodating and helpful. Restrooms/showers are very clean. Lake is beautiful and the campground has a boat ramp. Water and trash containers are close by. Hiking trails are fun with nearby geocaching. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$6
Very quiet and secluded and beautiful National Forest Campground located on the banks of South Holston Lake in upper East Tennessee. No electric, water or sewer hookups but there is a dump station and water spickets to fill your tank. Very large shaded sites. Don't go here if you get bored easily because the lake is the only recreation. There is not a swimming area. Access to the campground is not easy. Approximately 8 miles or more of gravel road to reach the campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$19
Rate reflects Passport America. Office staff very friendly and helpful. Escorted to site. Entering park driveway is tricky for long RV. We disconnected tow car on highway prior to entering. The turn is tight and narrow, but doable. Interior roads and sites are gravel. Some sites have some grass. Park free WiFi is slow. Verizon cell and DirecTV signals were good. Park had many pipeline workers staying there during our visit, but no problems with them were experienced. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$13
Rate is Passport America. Very nice park and super nice staff who actually escorts you to site! As previous comments indicated, the entrance can be a little intimidating (steep), but no problem for big rigs. Most sites are back-ins, but when not busy you are permitted to pull-through. Excellent utilities and Wi-Fi. Restrooms/showers are almost new and very clean. No laundry facilities and very little shade. Shopping is within 2 miles. Would definitely recommend and stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$16
Rate cited reflects a Passport America discount. Traveling north, this was an easy stop off I-81. It is so far from the interstate that there is NO noise. Manager is VERY friendly and helpful and escorted us to our site. This is everything we enjoy in a campground: good hookups, easy access, clean bathhouse and showers, nice rec hall, close to shopping and restaurants, and quiet. Several points to consider that lead to an 8 rating--no Wi-Fi except in rec hall (though they are putting it into the park), no cable, bathhouse is a goodly distance from farthest sites so it can be a walk. Overall, well worth the stop. However--management here is SUPER! I had a problem with my tow car and he recommended a place to get it done quickly and cheaply. Excellent work! Then, very soon after we left, he called me to say I might have a problem with a tire as he noticed a drag mark on the gravel. We stopped quickly and I realized I had forgotten to take OFF the emergency brake on the car before we started out. I called back to thank the manager. But his noticing it and calling is well above and beyond the call of duty. So we WILL stop there again if traveling through because the quality of service exceeded all our expectations and what we have ever had before. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Shadrack Campground
Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$90



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   1   5   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$90
We stayed at Thunder Valley for the August night race. We arrived on Thursday morning, and left Sunday morning. We had the site by the bathroom. They really pack you in for camping during the race. We were in a 20x40 spot, but it didn't' really matter! The bathrooms, were dirty, but that's to be expected with all those NASCAR fans showering. So we used our bathroom and shower in our RV. The hosts were wonderful! Would definitely camp there next year when we go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
Apparently this campground has really gone downhill in the last few years. We camped there just last week. We had a creek side site: bad idea; the creek flooded, and so did we almost. When asked they didn't know where they would move people because they were full. Our friends reserved campsites together before they left the last time. When they arrived in August they found they were split up and not at the site they had had for 5 years. The owner/mgr is pretty stuck on herself and not worried about making campers happy. They are only in it for money, and the thing is they bill months early, and then the money is all spent by the time race time rolls around. Bathrooms and showers were not clean. There are thousands, and I mean thousands of people there and 14 showers total in a bath house all the way up front. Only 5-7 of those showers worked at any one time. They have a hill in the campground that you must use to get out and most campers bottom out on it, tearing up people's RV's. On race week the drunks are up until 5am. We don't have kids, but that was ridiculous every night. And if you get an electric site they are charging $450.00 for race week. I can and am going to Bluff City. I would rather stay in a clean, well lit, calm place than somewhere as nasty as Thunder Valley. I'm sorry I gave them my $250.00 this last year; the camping was not pleasant. Heard they are in trouble with IRS about taxes also. Goodbye, Thunder Valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$65
Used to stay here quite a bit but in recent years it seems like they are more interested in the condos than they are the campers. Bath houses have gone down hill and the dust will choke you. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Thunder Valley Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com