223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Townsend, Tennessee (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.52 miles NW
13.39 miles S
13.82 miles SW
16.20 miles NE
18.53 miles SE
20.04 miles SW
20.08 miles SW
21.94 miles NW
22.47 miles NE
22.47 miles NE
23.66 miles SE
25.09 miles NE
26.08 miles SE
28.36 miles NW
33.98 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Smoker Holler Cg
8.18 miles NE
Fontana Dam
11.10 miles S
Maryville College
13.89 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
1414 Parkway
14.33 miles NE
Eagle'S Nest Cg
(800)892-2714
15.19 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
1030 Hunters Crossing Dr
15.77 miles NW
Creekside Rv
(800)498-4801
16.37 miles NE
Applewood Farm House
17.80 miles NE
Tennessee
Townsend
Most Recently Reviewed
Townsend / Great Smokies KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-14 14:02:19
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Townsend, Tennessee
Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   9   7   7   10   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$45
This is not the first time we have stayed with the wonderful folks at Big Meadow. This is by far our favorite campground. I cannot begin to explain the absolute friendliness and gracious hospitality of the owners and staff. They are by far the best! Our dog loves the dog park. The sites are level and pull through and have spacious grassy areas next to them, which makes it nice for us and our dog. The bathrooms are always clean and smell of bleach from their daily cleaning. The grounds are extremely well maintained and very nicely landscaped. We do not have children but if we did, the kids parks on site look extremely safe and lots of kid friendly fun. During our visit here this time, we stayed a week. It was a wonderful, very enjoyable vacation. Whenever we visit the Gatlinburg area, this is our number one campground and we would not want to stay anywhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
Very clean, nice level sites, next to River Rats tubing which is great for families that want an afternoon tubing down the river, convenient to Cade's Cove and not that far (30 minutes) to Pigeon Forge. Townsend lives up to its motto - quiet side of the Smokies. Very little shade within the park. Will definitely return to this park. Stayed here in 40 ft motorhome with toad, no problem, especially with super size site we had. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$55
Nice park close to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Townsend is on the "quiet" side of the Park next to the Little River. Friendly staff. Free and very slow wifi, but Verizon 4G coverage here makes up for it. Nice dog park. The 50 amp sites have level concrete pads. We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Big Meadow Family Campground
Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   9   5   8   8   1   10   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
This is a dated campground that could use an updating of facilities. Poorly run. Several full time/long term residents and as such you get the typical full time site "clutter". Sites are close together. If both sites have campers with slides there is only a few feet between. If both have longer rigs it can be a real problem where to park your tow vehicle at your site. We were able to squeeze our truck between our 5er and the trailer next but it left our bumper only a foot from our step and just enough room to walk between our truck and 5er. We pull a 40 ft 5er with 4 slides and only a few sites are accessible due to length of sites and trees between sites. The bathrooms are fairly clean but dated. Now for our personal experience. We made reservations by phone several days in advance. I made sure to notify the place we have a 40 ft 5er with 4 slides and we were assured they could accommodate us. When we arrived the owners had left the 15(?) year old in charge. She couldn't figure out how to operate the credit card. No way we would fit in th assigned site due to length and trees on the sides. The 15 yr old gave us a list of sites that were available and told us to pick one of those and then let her know. We found a site on her list where we could fit and it was just long enough. We informed the girl we had moved to the new site. She replied "That site isn't available." I showed her the list she had given us. She replied "Someone else called in and reserved it." She didn't know how the site had gotten reserved. Suggestions to the owners: Don't leave a kid, especially one who isn't all that bright, in charge of your business. She was representing your business and not doing a very good job of it. We won't be staying there again. There are better campgrounds in the area which are better run and more accommodating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
The town of Towsend is very close to the National Park and Cades Cove which was our primary target to see at the Smokey Mountains. Being able to walk down to the Little River was nice to see. As with most private campgrounds you are limited on space, with about 10 feet between rigs. There are several "residents" staying in the park and some rigs being stored. The remainder of the facilities were functional but dated. I am not really picky about these things. However my biggest complaint was the lack of value for the park. The up front rate of $38/night was reasonable enough, but the additional fee of $5.33/per child/per day was not reasonable. Having three children over 6yrs old I was charged $16/per day. Having paid that price, $54/night, I would have gone a different park and gotten better facilities and received a better value. No discounts at all were offered/available (October-peak season ). I had stayed here before and this is why I returned but will not do so in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
We are frequent campers at Lazy Daze. The bath house is very clean and the pool sparkles. The campground itself is a very old but nice and shady. Over the many times we have stayed there, we have watched this past summer the crew that they have work very hard to improve a lot of things here. The office crew is very friendly and are as helpful as they can be. Any problems that occur they seem to jump right in and work together to get them solved. This summer we have had a lot of rain/storms which caused a lot of back up on the work of the crew that work for them but they keep trying to get things back in order. Keep up the good work and working together as a team. Thumbs up to all of you and will be seeing you all again in September. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lazy Daze Campground
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   10   9   8   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
This is a great independent campground. Several of the sites back up to the river; we were fortunate to have one of these (site 13, maybe the best one in the park). The staff was fantastic, and there are several great restaurants in the area, one of which you can walk to. Great Smoky Mountain National Park is just down the road. The only down-side is that the sites are pretty tight, and there is not a lot of extra parking for tow vehicles or cars. However, we heard from several other campers that other parks in the area are actually tighter! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$46
Stayed here for the first time this spring and will definitely be going back! This is a small family owned campground. We were so happy we decided to stay here. We had a very nice level concrete site with a wooden deck directly on the river, and was only a couple of miles from the entrance to the Smoky Mountains. The owners were very nice and made us feel welcome the entire time we were there. The campground was clean and quiet. The restrooms and showers were spotless and accessible with a key pad which added a touch of safety and security. There was an affordable ice cream shop next door that was very nice to walk to after a day's hiking in the park! We are already booked for a visit in the fall! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$46
This is a wonderful, small, family park. It is very clean and well maintained. Cannot comment on the pool, as it was still closed in mid-April. Restrooms had a keypad on the doors so you had to enter a code to get in which provided extra security, and although a little older, the restrooms were spotless. They do have sites available on the river which were really nice, but they would not accommodate a big rig. That didn't really matter though as the campground is so small it's nothing to walk the very short path to the river, and we could hear it from our site anyway. The only negative I could find with the entire campground was the fact that the sites were somewhat tight. Sites on the outer ring had trees to navigate when you backed in, and you best beware of your slide-outs when you select your site. Also, the placement of the sewer drain tends to put it right at the edge of the concrete patio pad for the next sight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Mountaineer Campground
Camp Information
Sites
134
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$73



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   8   7   9   10   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$73
Rate reflects KOA discount. The sites were tight by the river, but we had help backing in our 39' toy hauler. Wow, was it gorgeous. The other campers were friendly and we were even invited to join in with singing. Lucky us, they were quite talented with the guitar and singing. Apparently this area of the country is blessed with musical people and you never know when you may come across an impromptu jam session. Plus the people of Tennessee are very approachable. Very nice stay indeed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$73
What a wonderful campground! We've stayed at three other campgrounds in Townsend, but this is the only one we would highly recommend. The staff is very friendly and helpful (one helped me position my camper just right). They were observed each day cleaning up around the grounds and the bathhouses were almost always immaculate. The riverfront sites were wonderful, though ours could have been a bit more level (reason for an 8 instead of a 10). Still, with its close location to the GSMNP and being away from the road, it made for a great stay. We will be visiting again in August and plan to return frequently. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$54
We have camped here several times and they are always making things better. I would love to see more space between the big rig full hook up sites. I hate it when people are having a large fire and my electric cord is right next to the fire ring!! Heavy rains bring ants, we had ants on the power pedestal and they followed our hoses to the coach when it poured the one day! Please add a water station in the dog area, thank you. We will return, we love this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Townsend / Great Smokies KOA
Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   10   10   9   5   2   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2014
$60
We arrived at this park with high expectations. We were greeted very friendly by a lady in the office. We got all setup on our waterfront site and began exploring. There are No grills in this park so you need to bring your own. They had little covered decks out by the water on your site that was covered in nasty spider webs. I am thinking when they do the site check it wouldn't hurt them to take a broom and clean these off. The road noise is horrible. It is so loud that you can't hear the water running in the river nor can you watch TV or listen to a radio outside. We did not use the bath houses but were told by some friends that they were very clean. The pool was open but we did not use that, it looked to be nice and clean. The posted speed limit in the park is 5 mph and that is not enforced. If you are camping with children just know that people drive very fast in this park. They have a small play set for the children to play on that is in very poor condition. It has broken steps on it and the plastic that makes the tunnel that the kids crawl through has come unattached and is a danger for children to get cut on very badly. The cable TV works great but the WiFi is literally non-existent. You will not be able to do anything unless you are up by the office/camp store and then it is like a dial up connection, so don't go thinking that you will be able to use the internet because you won't. I will not camp at this campground again, I will try another one that is close by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$62
Twenty five years ago, we camped here in a pop-up. This time we went back in our 5th wheel. We enjoyed our stay since we had a back-in right on the creek with a covered porch at our disposal. The camp is getting a bit older, as are we, and could use just a little more TLC. The road to our site needs some new asphalt and it can be a bit tight for a larger rig. It is, however, very convenient to Cade's Cove and the Smoky Mtn Nat Park. The Wi-Fi was not very good at our site, but we had cable. I would return to Tremont CG but I would also look at some of the newer parks first. For the value, I believe it was just a bit overpriced and they give no discounts unless you stay for a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$42
Management at the park was wonderful to deal with. This was our first stop after picking up our new RV. The site was right on the river and quote possibly one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever spent. Tremont is definitely on our short list of favorite sites. You will not find a nicer RV Resort in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Tremont Outdoor Resort
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   10   8   10   9   6   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
This campground has changed owners. It is not the same as when the previous owner had it. I was quoted 34.00 per day over the phone six weeks ahead of my reservation which is the same price it showed on the web site. When we arrived for a six day stay, he overcharged us 60.00 stating ownership had changed and the rates had gone up after we questioned his total. I feel I should have been notified of this since they had my contact information. He also has posted no trespassing signs on the trees on the river. Every person that comes down the river on tubes, floats, or boats he calls the law on the for trespassing since they have to step on his property to go around the little damn. I have watched 8 people get tickets from the law for trespassing in two hours this afternoon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
We have stayed at this campground in the past and were treated very well. The campground is small but very clean. The bathhouse is also very clean. It is right on the river by the dam which makes fishing excellent. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Close to Smoky Mountain NP, Cades Cove area, within biking/walking distance to grocery, restaurants, Smoky Mtn Heritage Center (check schedule for concerts). Most sites are too small for our Class A RV but we did have a couple to choose from when we arrived mid-week without a reservation. Nice location by one of the small dams on the river making it easy to swim or wade in the river from the campground. Tent area and sites along the river looked very inviting. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Ye Olde Mill Anderson's Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com