223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Abilene, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.76 miles SW
17.03 miles W
19.38 miles SE
21.69 miles SW
30.64 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Abilene Christian Univers
0.48 miles SE
Hardin-Simmons University
1.01 miles NW
Wal-Mart
465 N Judge Ely
1.36 miles SE
Sams Club?I-20:283A 5301 S First (Located To Zip)
1.40 miles SW
Corley-Wetsel Freightliner 8003038187
1.57 miles SE
Rl Anderson International 15 2 0
1.60 miles SW
Mcmurry University
3.93 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
4350 Southwest Dr
5.44 miles SW
Dyess Air Force Base
5.55 miles SW
Abilene Municipal Airport
8.20 miles SE
Tye Rv 44
(888)691-3337
8.73 miles W
"Dump, Propane"
8.98 miles W
Flying J
I-20 X277
9.01 miles W
Texas
Abilene
Most Recently Reviewed
Abilene KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-18 23:35:10
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Abilene, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   7   8   8   7   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2014
$38
Kind of typical KOA, dirt/gravel roads and sites. Sites are kind of narrow, and are "Jack and Jill" style. If the park is busy, your neighbor will be staring at you out of their front door. Fortunately it was not too busy during our stay, and the RVs were staggered. OK for an overnighter, but that's about it. The road noise can be significant. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$37
There are new owners, who have made major improvements at this park. The streets are nice and the showers are brand new. We stayed here a couple of years ago and are pleased to see it improved. It is easy access, great cable and Wi-Fi and nice roomy sites. We will return when traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$43
Office staff was friendly and accommodating with easy check in with reservation. The park is under new management and it appears the owners are investing in new washers and dryers (only two dryers worked) along with other upgrades. There are a lot of permanents in the park but it appears they keep their sites clean with minimal clutter. The pull thrus are side by side and a little close to each other but room for slide outs and awnings. We would stay again if the need arised in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Abilene KOA
Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   3   8   5   3   2   5   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Clean restrooms & showers and easy access to Interstate, but much noise from the road. Hot, windy terrain. The sites are Way too close together with little or no shade. Couldn't put our awning out. We checked in for 2 nites but after the first, I told them I had to leave sooner. The owner graciously refunded my money for the 2nd night, even though she pointed out her printed policy of no refunds. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
We arrived on a Sunday, which is the owner or mgr's day off. We picked a site and parked ourselves on the front row next to the frontage road and freeway. The traffic noise was noticeable, but not as bad as the u-turn was to get our 40' rig back onto the frontage road and on to the freeway. We had to ask neighbors to get the WiFi code which was fast and good. We didn't use any of the facilities. Most of the sites appeared to be filled with worker bees - as are most parks in Texas right now. It was fairly clean. We probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
The only reason I give them a 3 is that we paid for one week and after 1 night we wanted to leave and we got refunded the remaining nights. Their idea of a dog walk is nothing more than an overgrown field littered with junk and full of sand burrs. We had to carry both of our dogs out of the area as their paws were full of sand burrs; not pet friendly by any means. The real reason we left after one night is we were given a site that is no more than 30 yards from the interstate. The noise was horrible; worst night sleep I can ever remember. I would stay in a WalMart parking lot or a rest area before ever going here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Abilene RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   9   5   10   5   5   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
Good for overnight only. This is a park part of an RV service and sales business. They have a front and back area for overnight use. Looks like some sites are filled with full time oil workers or other people. While they have full service, the sites are gravel and can be muddy after a rain. They claim they have free Wi-Fi, but nothing worked, so cannot rate them very good on that. We might stay there again but there are no shower/restroom facilities available. Not an RV park per se, but one step better than the WalMart parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
Stayed in new area. Park area is nice. The building where bath and shower and laundry is new, but curtains or blinds need to be put on bathroom windows. Sanitizer or soap and paper towels dispenser is needed. Park is well located. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
We enjoyed our stay at the Big Country RV Park. The sites were very good with excellent hookups. It was nice having an RV supply as part of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Big Country RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   5   5   5   6   7   7   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  no  yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
We stayed here about a year ago and thought we would try them again since our usual campground in Big Spring, TX was sold and now taken over by oil field workers and quite frankly was a little trashy looking (we stayed there a couple of months ago.) The access road to Buck Creek off I-20 is narrow and deteriorating, on the contrast, Buck Creek's gravel interior roads were in good condition. Buck Creek's WiFi was "broken" while we were here (maybe it hasn't worked in months!) The trashy mesquite trees left when this RV park was carved out of ranch land are in dire need of trimming, we rubbed one of them pulling into our site. (Mesquite trees do nothing but soak up valuable water that other native flora could use and they have no redeeming qualities.) While convenient to I-20, Buck Creek has turned into a permanent resident's camp complete with junky travel trailers. We were in site #24 and adding to our ambiance was the *very* old travel trailer in site #26 with junk, trash, and two vehicles in the site, one of which had a flat tire. Completing the picture were three very annoying dachshunds that were chained outside during the day to dig, do their business and bark at anything that moved. I have nothing against an old travel trailer (it could be a beautiful classic), but this was junk and the owner could care less about her barking dogs or the junk. So sad. Apparently the park's owner(s) and management don't care either. HEAD'S UP: you will find this the norm in many parks in west Texas thanks to the oil boom! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
There were wide long sites with bathrooms and showers. The staff was friendly and access to the park was easy off I-20. Although we were close to the Interstate, there was no unacceptable noise. We stayed only for one night but we would definitely return if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Very spacious park. Wide, long sites. Laundry room and showers are in 1 small building which really stinks of mildew. Charged $3 extra for 50 amp. No cable, marginal WiFi. Manager has the personality of a log. Cable and access to recreation are offered on the website. Neither are anywhere near this park. Fine for overnight, but I won't bother with this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Buck Creek RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
21`
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
Dyess AFB just opened their FamCamp last summer. They have 18 concrete pads that are approximately 45' long and very wide. Sites are nicely spaced with about 20' of grass between each one. All roads are paved and it's easy in/out. Each site has full hookups including cable. When I checked in, I was told the cable was out at my site but I think it was just a temp thing. Each site has a picnic table and outdoor grill. There is ample parking and light at night, plus you are on the base with other military & retirees so security is no concern. WiFi worked sporadically, but I got a great signal on my Verizon WiFi. ATT showed 3/5 bars & LTE signal. The camp has a small pay laundry and small shower/bathroom facility. They do take reservations, but the site I was told to go to on the phone was occupied. Luckily, there were two open sites so I got one. I don't think they have tight control on reservations versus available spots and folks are used to just pulling into any open spot at FamCamps. There are 6 concrete pads adjacent to the camp that I presume they use for dry camping overflow. I thought $35 a night was pretty steep given they have no other amenities like playground, pool, dog walk, propane, or camp store. But their weekly rate of $130 seemed fair if you are staying that long. I rated the park lower due to high price and lack of amenities compared to other camps in that price range. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Open blacktop parking lot. OK for overnight. RV area is filled with fulltimers and thus you go to overflow parking lot. It has electric and water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is OK for an overnight stop, but it has no amenities. It's just a parking lot with hookups. A deposit is required for the key to the sewer and electricity. Although the VFW staff person was friendly, she did not direct me to the correct location. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Above rate is for "temporary overflow" water & electric; full hookups are $25. Weekly and monthly rates also. Main RV park is on north side of building. 5 water & 50amp electric hookups are along south side of parking south of the building. Check-in at Canteen inside front door. Decent location. We definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for VFW Post 6873 RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com