220689 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Alamo, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
2.81 miles NW
3.95 miles SE
4.15 miles W
7.93 miles SE
8.33 miles NW
8.33 miles NW
12.60 miles SE
13.33 miles NW
13.33 miles NW
18.26 miles E
24.86 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Alamo Rec
(800)335-3131
0.83 miles NW
Roadrunner Rv
(956)787-8047
2.22 miles NW
Palm Shadows Mh
(800)221-0987
2.24 miles SE
Countryside Mh
(956)464-3834
2.67 miles SE
Shady Acres Mh
(956)464-2241
3.59 miles SE
Sunmart (Loc Unk)
Pharr
4.29 miles W
Holiday Village Mh
800-400-6580
4.32 miles NW
Sams Club 1400 E Jackson (Located To Block)
5.58 miles W
Super Wal-Mart
1200 E Jackson Ave
5.71 miles W
Magnolia Park
(956)464-2421
6.67 miles SE
Johnny'S Mexican Food
7.11 miles NW
Sanborns Mexico Insurance
7.20 miles W
Spanish Room
7.38 miles NW
Mcallen International A
7.55 miles W
Edinburg Golf Course
7.63 miles NW
Wal-Mart
1310 N Texas Ave
7.86 miles E
Wal-Mart
4001 N 23Rd
8.52 miles NW
The University Of Texas -
8.89 miles NW
University Of Texas Pan
8.90 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
1724 W University Dr
9.12 miles NW
Elks - 3500 Jordan Rd
9.16 miles W
Palmview Golf Course
9.18 miles W
Sunburst Rv Weslaco
(877)267-2757
9.30 miles SE
Wrigley'S Rv
(956)287-7356
9.38 miles N
Magic Valley Park
(800)556-5151
9.85 miles SE
"Edinburgh, Tx July 05"
10.51 miles N
Ferrell'S Pit
10.55 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
2410 E Expressway 83
10.74 miles W
Encore Rv Mercedes
(877)247-2757
10.99 miles E
Nudist Natures Resort Nudist
(956)262-4014
11.04 miles NE
Mission Bell Rv
(877)598-5041
11.37 miles NW
Trade Winds Rv
(877)296-0712
11.62 miles NW
Llano Grande Golf Course
11.83 miles SE
Texas
Alamo
Most Recently Reviewed
D&L RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-03-10 23:23:23
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Alamo, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
649
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Friendly people good amenities and many things to do tennis courts, heated swimming pool, twenty shuffleboard courts, and Exercise & Table Tennis Room. Enjoyed it and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$15
Alamo Palms is an older, well-maintained, over 55 RV and mobile home park known for its many activities. The park is secured by a fence and has gate attendants. The roads and pads are blacktopped, and each site has a concrete patio. There were thirty-eight foot plus motor homes in the park even though the RV sites are small. At times barking dogs, etc. were a problem. Management seemed reluctant to enforce the Pet Policy. The daily rate which includes cable TV and wireless, reflects a thirty day or longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
This is our Winter Texan Home park for the past 9 years. The park is well maintained. The roads were repaved this past year. It's convenient location overcomes the close together sites. Over 80 in-park activities, tennis courts, a pool hall. A park to be proud of. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Alamo Palms Mobile Park (55+ park)
Camp Information
Sites
440
Date of Stay
December 2010
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$12
Rate shown is for 4 months ($1370) average. We are just leaving after staying for the winter. The park has lots of room for big rigs and a grass or dirt area at each site. The park had lots of activities and the winter residents were the friendliest we have found so far in any of the parks. There were block parties and card games all the time. The only drawback was the price of power. 17cents/kwh. It made our power $65-$92 a month plus rent even being very conservative. The lake had some nice bass and crappie in it but it is catch and release. The water is too nasty to keep them anyway. It didn't smell bad, just really dirty. This was a great place to winter and we may stay again sometime. South Padre Island is worth the trip to visit too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
The park has nice lake, pool, activities and many nice RV sites. There are also many sites that are just parking with hook ups on a parking lot a few hundred feet from the freeway. The freeway and nearby hospitals mean sirens a plenty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
We stayed here for several months and really like it. It is excellently maintained, employees and staff are super. Activities for everyone. Recommend. It is only three blocks to Walmart and HEB ( grocery). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Alamo Rec-Veh Park
Camp Information
Sites
470
Date of Stay
February 2012
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2012
$37
Sites with 50 amp are large but consist of dirt/mud, weeds. Cement pad is really only wide enough for RV with slides. Very little maintenance is done to the sites by park staff, It is your responsibility. Office manager stated if we didn't like the site we could plant grass, lay sod or put down rugs or mats to cover the dirt. They weren't doing anything to the sites. We found out that people that returned to this park each year did their own yard maintenance, including cement pad enlargement, walkways, grass, etc. That is fine for long term residents but it doesn't work for the short (less than 4 month) stay. Lots of people that were staying for 5-6 months planted grass seed or sod, but then management complained about the increased water usage. You couldn't win with this group. Also had a problem with pest control (mainly ants, but also heard about termites too) It was also your responsibility to cover costs for exterminator services. Cable was only 5 channels which were mostly Spanish. WI-FI seemed to only be available at the clubhouse in the library. All activities are run by volunteers. Don't know how Trailer Life Directory got their info on this park but I feel their rating is too high compared to other parks in Alamo and area. It's not a RESORT, at least not compared to other one's we have stayed at. Would not stay here again until we heard they improved conditions of the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
I don't normally review all parks, but after reading the negative review I felt I had to. We moved from Weslaco to this park, as we liked it better. Being winter Texans, we have seen a few different parks. Within a week we were so welcomed by the yearly and casuals, that we decided to make this our long-term winter resort. Contrary to previous review.. you only have to do your own yard work if your want to have ornaments in the lawn, so they don't get damaged. When the previous reviewer was there, they were in the middle of a 5 yr drought, therefore the grass was in poor repair, and the city of Alamo established water rationing, not the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
256
Date of Stay
January 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
During setup I attempted to plug into the 50 amp plug. The plug was very loose, and I assumed it was worn, but there was no power in the 50 amp plug, so I installed my 30 amp to a 50 amp converter. I went to the office, and was told they had upgraded the entire electrical system and were having problem with the 50 amp plugs, and they didn’t know when they could get an electrician out to fix it. The manager shouted from her office to use the 30 amp plug. I took the power stand apart and fixed the plug myself. The park is well kept and clean, but well over half of the sites are either mobile homes or park models with a bunch of old grouchy people. The park map they give you shows there are about 260 RV sites, but a large number of these have park models in them. We were lucky and our site is surrounded by long term Rvers from Ontario who are good, friendly people. The website says it is pet friendly which is a flat lie. Look at the park map and look at the very small pet areas. Since we have been here, the park has passed a rule that pets are not allowed to do their business on grass areas even though we pick up. They expect you to drag your pet to one of the pet areas, and if they can’t make it and pee on the concrete they tell you to carry a bottle of bleach and water to spray on the spot. If your dog can’t make it to the pet area and does it's business on the grass, it is likely an old grouch will come out and start chewing on you about “Don’t you know the rules about pets?” To say the least, we will not stay at this place again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
We stayed a month because of a coupon special. The park is great ,clean, nice restrooms, showers, pool, and hot tub. The down side is we had a site with little groundcover and a lot of sand burrs. The sand burrs were very irritating; had to spend a lot of time every day pulling them from the dog's hair. We were invaded the third day by little red ants that bite. We spent the rest of our month there trying to get rid of them . When I complained about the sand burrs and the ants I was told I could HIRE someone to come spray for them, thats what most people do. I don't feel I should pay for a camping spot and do their landscaping and pest control for them. If you like potlucks, shuffleboard and riding around in your golf cart you will love it here. I was told several times by employees that this was the nicest campground in the area. We stopped and checked with some others in the area and found as good or better. The gate is triggered by a vehicle to leave the park. If you want to go for a walk outside the park you can't get out. I don't understand the problem with walk out gate with a code pad. We will not stay again. It was a cheap stay with the coupon; you get what you pay for. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$15
This will be my 6th year returning to this park. It is an over 55 park and does not accommodate children. A short visit is allowed if prearranged. Every amenity you could ever want is here. Close to everything, but far enough from the freeway to keep down the noise. An hour to the Gulf and 15 minutes to Mexico. Five miles from a National Wildlife Refuge that is first class. You can't find a better place in the Valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Casa del Valle
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$6.5



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$6.5
This is a small park located in Alamo, TX. I spent the winter here from Nov. until mid March. This is a destination park for those of us who have no desire for pools or organized activities. This park has onsite owners and there is a small meeting room with a pool table. It's where they hold dinners for various occasions such as birthdays etc. The restroom is cleaned daily and there is a clean laundry room with 2 washers and dryers. This is a great park for seeing the sights around the Rio Grande Valley. The Wi-Fi is excellent and some sites do have cable. If you're looking for an inexpensive ($195 per month with electric @ .12kw) place to spend the winter this is a good choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Camp Information
Sites
725
Date of Stay
February 2010
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
If you like group activities this is your place. No lack of dance lessons, card games, crafts, etc., etc. If you want something else like outdoor activities, you are out of luck. There is a wildlife refuge about 15 miles away, but the weather was so bad during the time we were here, it wasn't feasible for us to go. Nothing else to do except miles and miles of 6-lane highways to malls, flea markets and restaurants. The internet is centralized in the clubhouse, so you have to lug your computer to it to get a connection. They are really interested in folks who want to spend the entire winter here. Pool is way too small for this park. Our dog got an intestinal virus twice due to having to use the grassy areas with about 100 other dogs for "doing her business". The dogs must be kept only in this area, no walking them anywhere else. We received a book of rules when we checked in: about 25 pages. Won't be back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$33
We have been staying in this park during winters for the past 16 years and find it to be very clean, friendly and full of activities. Restrooms & showers are spotless. There is a free par 3 golf course shared with sister park, Winter Ranch, pool, hot tubs, shuffleboard court, horseshoe court,crafts building, pool hall building, oil/watercolor & porcelain painting classes, card games of all kinds just waiting for you. A minister resident on call 24/7, church services, first responder services, quilting, dancing, and of course, bingo. All this is why we return to our Trophy Family each year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
680
Date of Stay
January 2010
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$34
We spent a month at the park at the invitation of friends. The list of things to do is overwhelming. Between Pot-Luck dinners and evening entertainment to bus tours or various crafts, you can be kept hopping all the time you're here, if you want to. The park has it's own bus that takes people to outings. The park allows dogs and segregates them and their owners in various sections of the park. You must be aware of the areas that you're limited to and if you stray out of them, a very unfriendly person will be there to give you a bad opinion of the park. There is free wireless internet but it is limited to the rec hall and the office building. You have to make arrangements for your own service if you want it at your site. Cable TV is non existent and there are more Spanish channels to be had than English so bring your satellite dish. The staff and most of the people in the park are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Everything is well organized and it's obvious that they go out of their way to encourage you to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$15
This is a really nice park for people who want to spend the winter in the Rio Grande Valley. We only stayed here for a month because we were just passing through, but everyone we met has been coming back to this park for years because they like it so much. There is a TON of stuff to do and the park has a nice wide-open feel to it. Did I mention the free 9 hole executive golf course? We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
We loved this park. The people are extremely friendly, as is management. Many many activities, ranging from water volleyball to sewing, stained glass making, exercises, cards, bike club, dominos and on and on. Almost forgot - there's a par 3 golf course free to residents. We stayed for 2 months this year and are reserved already for 3 months next year. Some sites are not real roomy, but the ones in the newer areas are great. Only negatives we could find were water problems - very high sodium, and prone to shut down every so often. We recommend this park to anyone who wants to live an active retirement lifestyle! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com