206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Alpine, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
21.81 miles SW
29.30 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Reata - Alpine
0.80 miles NW
Sul Ross State Universit
0.80 miles NW
Texas
Alpine
Most Recently Reviewed
Stillwell Store and RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-08 17:33:19
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Alpine, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
January 2012
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   3   6   8   5   2   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$24
Definitely a no frills campground, but it met our needs. Bathrooms were clean, but needed updating. Friendly and helpful staff. Stayed here 2 nights while visiting Big Bend National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$23
Nothing fancy, gravel, sparse dry grass and dust. There are trees but not big enough to do much. Facilities old but very clean. Nice setting and price. I guess if you want fancy and trees, there is an option down the road for $10+ / night more. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
Very dusty, and it was very windy during our stay. I'm told it's typically breezy but this was unusually strong. Very little to do. WiFi worked well, cable TV had something like 6 channels, I suppose better than nothing. I was warned to watch out for snakes, I did not see any but was wary. I did see deer in the park near dusk. Manager is in a motorhome in front. Way too many nit-picky rules. Owner seems to have a big problem if you bring along a motorcycle. I won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for BC Ranch RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
14
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   9   8   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
In all fairness it is difficult to provide a balanced review of La Vista. On the one hand if you are looking for a secluded RV site, outside town and away from the noise and bustle that offers a great view, fresh air and wide open skies…La Vista is for you! We enjoyed all of the foregoing aspects of the park very much. For a small park they have a nice, clean and well maintained little common building that, for a 12-14 site park, is more than adequate with 2 showers per gender, one clothes washer, one clothes dryer, and a nice recreation room. Sites are mostly downhill, gravel, but are workable. All are long and will more than accommodate a big rig. There is no pool, no playground equipment and basically no infrastructure any kind. We booked our reservation by e-mail and everything was efficient. Now the downsides, and there are several. There is virtually no cell phone service, TV reception or Wi-Fi. We tried the Wi-Fi several time, had almost no signal, then were dropped. No local TV at all, bring your satellite dish if TV is important to you. Rules regarding pets are loose, with amble “evidence” in sites and common areas. The park had three long term campers when we were there, and I believe there were close to a dozen dogs shared by the group to augment the roaming cats. We never saw a host or owner during our entire stay, so we can not comment about service. Several small but preventable issues detracted from our enjoyment, including long term campers monopolizing the washer/dryer, some construction work disturbing the tranquility, and two very large and scary looking dogs brought by the construction workers that were not on a leash and kept my frightened wife indoors the entire day and resulted in us cutting our trip short. On balance and with all the “warts” we would stay at La Vista again. We would happily take the shortcomings of La Vista over the higher price and somewhat “uppity” park in Town where we had stayed for almost a decade. Butt if TV, cell phone, Wi-Fi and infrastructure are important to you then you had better select another park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
This park is not for everyone since it’s small, older, remote, and rugged with no recreational facilities such as a pool or playground. I would not recommend this park for children. Some sites have 50amp connections but not all of them worked when we were there. The sites are long and wide gravel/grass. Most sites have a large picnic table. A single small building houses the bathrooms/showers, laundry, kitchen, and a small sitting area. All were very neat and clean. There’s 1 washer and 1 dryer, $1.00 each. A code is required to enter the building to access the facilities. The park is very dark at night. If you want activity, stay somewhere else. If you want peace and quiet with a beautiful view, this is the place! Very nice owners. Located 6 miles south of Alpine on Texas 118 so it’s away from town but not too far. We had no cell phone service with AT&T. We would definitely stay here again. Free Wi-Fi with a low signal strength but a very steady connection. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
We camped here for the Cowboy Poetry Gathering in Alpine. The views are awesome! Quiet -- no pool or playground to attract kids, very little highway noise. We were here a week and only saw the owner once, when she came to get our money. Seemed very nice. The little rec room/ laundry was locked but it looked nice peeking through the window. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. Alpine is a great little city! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for LaVista RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   10   9   10   8   10   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
Pros: Good location, clean restrooms, clean showers, good service, level lots, Wi-Fi worked well, all services worked well. Cons: Nothing major we didn't like. Would definitely stay here again. Our rig is 36' long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
Nothing to complain about here. Pull through sites are long and wide. You can have shade or not, if they are not busy. Nice rec room and small laundry, pool (not open this time of year), playground, RV wash site. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice and quiet while we were here. By far the best park in Alpine. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
This is the nicest park we have stayed in. It was about 85-90% full when we were here. The restroom and laundry building is in a central location; the restrooms are new and well designed and kept immaculately clean. The machines in the laundry were fairly new and all were working. We met the work-camper staff who were all friendly and helpful. The park is well laid out, located at the north end of town on SR118. There are long-term spots for weekly or monthly rates but there don't seem to be any "permanent" residents. The park is very clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for Lost Alaskan RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   4   5   9   9   10   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$23
If you are expecting a posh resort RV Park, don’t come to the Big Bend. This is the Chihuahuan Desert, not Estes Park Colorado. The RV parks that are close to Big Bend National Park are all what would be termed rustic. The desert climate is rough on everything, and everywhere is far away so luxuries are too expensive to ship in. People learn to make do with what they have. That is what most people love about the Big Bend. It is getting away from the rat race. Stillwell Store is nothing fancy. They don’t claim to be. What they are is a no frills full hook-up gateway to Big Bend NP. Basically, you have three options if you want full hookups in the area. They are all widely separated mileage-wise, but are fairly similarly close to the Park Headquarters. Stillwell has the best prices for full hook-ups hands down. They are not owned by the same family anymore, but they do a nice job of making you feel welcome. They may not have the entertainment they had, but give them a chance to get settled, and I’m sure they will get lots of repeat campers. I will be one. I rate them not against the perfect RV Park, but against what is available as local competition. They more than hold their own. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
You'll either love it or hate it here! If you are looking for a quiet, remote camping experience "off the grid," then you'll love it. This park built a reputation as a go-to destination with repeat customers, nightly music, and more. Most of that is in the past because the park is now under new management. It is only open part of the year, and no longer has nightly entertainment. You do get full hookups or W/E only in a very no-frills environment. Most sites are 30 amp but three sites are 50 amp. You'll have no cell phone coverage but good camp WiFi. Bathrooms are pay-for-use so I didn't review them. Fill up your tanks before you come as they have limited unleaded gas and the closest diesel is 30 miles away in Big Bend NP. Closest groceries are in Alpine 75 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
For the life of me I do not understand the high ratings for this park. It is dumpy to be nice. Nothing attractive about it. Old trucks sitting around, two old mobile homes with old tires on their roofs. The pros: only 8 miles to Big Bend NP, full hook-ups and very quiet. Cons: dumpy and that is being nice. No cellular voice or data service. Sites on one side are very close together, on the other side they are spaced further apart, but again run down outbuildings, old trucks and much to be desired in landscaping (there is none). If we wanted to go to Big Bend again, this is close, but it sure does not deserve anything above a 4 or 5 in rating, if that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Stillwell Store and RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
March 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
Don't get excited about my numerical rating until you read what follows. This is NOT an RV park per se. Rather it is on a private ranch which is well known among rock-hounds as being one of the best places in the country to look for agates, jasper and other rocks. The fact that it has some spaces for RV's is secondary to the primary purpose of being there. As to the sites themselves, they are on dirt (no rain for the past two years, side to side is pretty level but the front is higher than the rear. There are NO amenities other than the ranch owner who is a delightfully helpful woman. There are no showers or bathroom, nothing of that nature at all. If you need water, bring your own although there is water at the sites. It's just not "approved" for drinking. Buddy the dog is a fixture at the ranch and is a very friendly cow dog. Hunting for rocks is great either for families or individuals. There's a lot to be found on the ranch which spreads over miles and miles. Just to be able to rock hunt here is an 11. Add in the being able to bring your RV directly to the ranch is - priceless. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com