214554 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Balmorhea, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
27.60 miles NE
27.66 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Saddleback Mountain Rv Exit
(866)847-4398
3.19 miles SW
Balmorhea Spcg
10.56 miles SW
Texas
Balmorhea
Most Recently Reviewed
Saddleback Mountain RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-05-19 20:40:34
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Balmorhea, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   5   9   10   10   8   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$17
$17 per night was for a 20/30/50 amp electric with water and cable TV site. In addition, a daily entrance fee of $7 per person is charged unless you have a $70 Texas State Parks Pass, which is good to cover entry fee to all state parks for one year. Asphalt sites are mostly level. Each site has a concrete pad with a picnic table (some covered) in addition to the fire ring and BBQ grill. Desert shrubbery and mountains surround the campground but each site is mostly bare dirt/sand. Animals we saw during our stay included roadrunners, rabbits, and 13-lined squirrels. The highlight of this park is the 1.75-acre sparkling clear spring-fed pool where the depth ranges from three to 25 feet and swimmers, waders, SCUBA divers enjoy the water that is 72° – 76°F year round. Grocery shopping is very limited and expensive nearby. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. Spacing between the sites is very generous. We received three bars Edge on our AT&T cell phone. We used our Millenicom jetpack as a Wi-Fi hotspot and it worked very well on four bars of Verizon 4G LTE. Cable TV had 43 channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$14
A busy park with swimmers and scuba divers enjoying themselves. All sizes of RVs and many tenters. Sites level. Staff very helpful. Relatively easy off and on I-10 with just a few miles to travel. Beautiful area for birding. Fort Davis NHS about 30 miles away. No shade except under the picnic shelters. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Park is clean, staff great, level sites. Sites were a little close together compared to Davis Mountains state park. The Springs were fun to swim in even in December (the morning air temp was 25deg) and we were able to get in. Our family likes to hike and there wasn't much hiking at the park. We stayed two nights which was perfect. The park was pretty empty beginning 12/26. It is clearly set up for warmer weather with large parking lots by the springs etc. We enjoyed our visit and being relatively close to I-10, it is a good stop off point. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Balmorhea State Park
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
question
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
Find this accidentally. Recently opened RV park. Many in Fort Stockton are full due to oil workers. Good place for passing through. Price based on Passport America. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This was a unique find!! We wanted to get into the Balmorhea State Park but they were full and suggested that we try Laird Ranch. This campground has one 50/30 AMP level site with water and sewer and then offer camping for two units with 110 volt needs and ample tent camping at $10 per night. They have a very clean restroom. We don't believe that many have discovered this spot. We camped and were all by ourselves on 5 acres. Beautiful view of the mountains. You need to call the Laird's to gain access to the campground. Nice folks that own it. I believe that the campground is a hobby. Would be a nice place for a family reunion, has a shade area with picnic tables and fire rings. Just one full hook up though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   7   5   9   10   3   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
Our rate was PA. This is a basic park for an overnight stay, right off the highway. There are no restrooms except off the restaurant in the convenience store. The lots have been landscaped and the park is clean. It was a good value. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
This is a basic RV park but does not have bathrooms, showers, Wi-Fi or cable. It does have huge pull-thru sites with 20/30/50 amp electrical service. The electrical voltage was good. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well here All of the roads and sites are on packed gravel. All sites are pull-thru and can accommodate almost any rig including the tow without unhitching. All of the utilities were located in the near the middle side of the site. There are two sewers per site. One is way in the back (almost unusable) and the other one in the middle side of the site. There are some long term residents. There was freeway noise at night. There is also a café, saloon, and a fueling station (a bit pricy) on the premises. For a basic RV park, this was a very good overnight stop. I would definitely use this park again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
The rate indicated is for Passport America and it's a bargain. Getting in/out from I-10 couldn't be any easier. At first glance this looks like a big gravel parking lot but as you approach your site you see the nice job they have done with "desert landscaping". Very easy negotiating our 40 ft motor home around the campground. Real close to I-10, yet it was quiet. The sites are solid, level gravel, pull-through, full hookup with 50 amp. Our Verizon cell service was 3 bars w/4G. Satellite TV reception was clear. This is a great find for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Saddleback Mountain RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com