206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Bastrop, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.91 miles SE
13.30 miles SW
16.95 miles SW
22.66 miles NE
25.93 miles NE
27.13 miles SW
31.32 miles SE
31.97 miles NW
37.86 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Bastrop Spcg
1.19 miles E
Super Wal-Mart
488 Hwy 71 W
1.92 miles W
Bastrop River Rv
(512)321-7500
1.98 miles W
Buescher Spcg
8.59 miles SE
The Oaks Cg
10.31 miles NW
Hwy 71 Rv Hwy
(512)321-7275
11.81 miles NW
Texas
Bastrop
Most Recently Reviewed
Bastrop RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-12 01:26:33
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Bastrop, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   8   8   6   10   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Rate was military rate. Super clean, grass cut, paved spacious sites, scattered trees and very friendly staff. Park is parallel to Interstate 71, so some may be bothered by the traffic noise, but it did not bother us. We were in a almost perfect level site at ten pull through near the park down by the river. We were the only motorhome, all others in the 1/3 or less occupants were 5th wheels, campers, airstreams, etc. We were here for one night on way to Lake Buchanan...quaint historical town with many old buildings and cute shops. This RV park is very close to HEB and Walmart, plus restaurants. It is a stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$45
Very nice campground. We had a site right down on the river, which was nice; deer out grazing in early morning right in front of us. We had our back to the highway, which probably helped, but the highway noise did not bother us. No trash pickup at site, and we only saw one dumpster. We had a minor medical emergency, and there is an excellent 24/7 facility about a mile down the road; it is a branch of St. David's Hospital of Austin. The entrance comes up quickly; if you miss it, you have to go under the highway and make a u-turn through a couple of lights. That was the way we left the park. If you take the exit (which is on a different side from the entrance), to travel east, you have a pretty good slope to go over. After looking at it, we were concerned that we might drag, so we opted to take the first right turn, instead of the second as we left the park, and make the u turn, going around to miss that bump. We enjoyed our stay very much and plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
This is a great park. We often are willing to pay the price for a KOA when we know the quality we are getting. The owners were extra friendly, and the landscaping staff was constantly at work, even in the extreme heat. The restrooms, showers and laundry room were spotless. The deck next to the river was lovely. It is very near stores and restaurants. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Bastrop / SE Austin / Colorado River KOA
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   10   8   8   7   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
We stayed here while visiting Austin. The park is OK. Mostly has seasonal and full time residents. Close to the highway so there was some highway noise. WiFi was not available at all sites. Park was OK for a stop over night but there are nicer places. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
Stayed at the park for two nights because we have friends there. Road construction in front of campground was a nuisance. We have a motorhome pulling a cargo trailer. The dip from the road into the park was so deep that we dug a trench in the road with the trailer hitch. They are going to open up the frontage road so the going in and out of the campground will be much better while they finish the construction. Wi-Fi was not available for the side of the park we were on. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
The place is absolutely gorgeous. A real country feel to it. The spots are not paved, but they are level. There are lots of trees and a fishing pond. Barb's miniature horses and donkeys are a real attraction. She's proud to show them. We had a wonderful time and really didn't want to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Bastrop RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   9   7   8   8   10   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
Been in Bastrop since November 29th of 2013. Mice are relentless at trying to get in the camper. I do not know if the big rigs are having the same issue. You can see mice running all over the camp ground at night. Copperas cove much nicer due to less damage from fire. Also being in the low lying area of the park the wind is less evident. Piney Hill is the pull-through area. Much more fire damage and no shade trees. Sites are very close together so I can hear the conversations of everyone nearby. Very windy on the upper hill making it much colder than when we were down in the low area. Construction workers do not observe the speed limits in the park and you need to watch out for them. Staff has been helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
This is a very nice state park with lots of hiking trails, wildlife, swimming, fishing, and even golfing. Most of the famous pine trees were killed in the big fire of 2011, but it is still a nice place to spend some time. There are 35 sites with water and 30A electricity, and 35 sites with water, 30/50A electricity, and sewer. The full hook-up sites are $20 a night. The restrooms in both campgrounds are currently being rebuilt. Portable toilets are available in both campgrounds, and a temporary shower facility is available in the Piney Hill campground. Hopefully the construction will be done soon and brand new facilities will be available. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
Camped here with our 5, 3, and 1 year olds. Clean park, well paved roads. Majority of park forest burned in 2011 forest fire, but is slowly recovering. Lots of dead, burned trees still standing, but not detracting from experience. Quality YMCA-run swimming pool on-site with shallow kid areas. Eighteen hole golf course is good. Front 9 is flat, back 9 is rolling and scenic. Good kid playground with equipment, slides and swings. Saw a few whitetail deer in the park. We would return. Plenty of room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Bastrop State Park
Camp Information
Sites
86
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   7   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
We did not stay here. I checked out the park two weeks before the Austin F1 race. At that time the gravel road into the park looked like a war zone (some of the potholes appeared to be a foot deep) and I was afraid that it would twist my coach's chassis. The price quoted me seems high for the condition of the park; it was basically a pasture with gravel roads. The sites were large and quite spacious. The park is close to the highway, but there did not seem to be much traffic on the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
OK for overnight stop. Open field with gravel/dirt roads. We were led to our site. Water & power OK, didn't use sewer for 1 night. Rooftop dish worked, few trees, and Sprint cell & hotspot worked. Several families, few with children, are living there. Quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$15
Seems like the park is in the middle of nowhere but was reasonably along our route to try it. At the PA rate, it was worth the stop. Check-in was easy and friendly. We were guided to our site. The sites and roads are gravel, dirt and probably a mess in the rain but was dry for our stay. Our site was level so we did not have to put down the levelers. Small amount of traffic on FM 969 but not intrusive. This was a good stop for us for an overnight. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Colorado River RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
17
Date of Stay
January 2012
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
I was looking for a closer, cheaper place for weekend getaways. I didn't really expect to find such a nice place to go. The Lower Colorado River Authority maintains many parks associated with their dams, lakes, and river control. It is currently under renovation so the showers/bathroom were not open, but that is not a problem for us. They also upgraded the electric and water so more sites have 50 amp service than show on the website. A limited number of sites have sewer hookup. The full hookup sites are wonderful. They are pull through with exceptionally long parking areas and well separated sites and nice tree cover. The rear view is a beautiful 1300 acre lake. The sites slope front to back (easily within the landing gear range) but are very level side to side. There were large open areas thick with clover. Boat launching area was double wide with dock and tie up areas. Fishing pier. Wide 5 mile long trail connects to the South Shore park. $20 full hookup fee and $4 per person per day for park access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This was our first time here. The park had been recommended by a friend that had camped here several times. This park is clean and the pine trees are beautiful. The only issue we had was with the park host. He was extremely rude with the group and made us feel like we were criminals. The park rangers were very nice and the other campers were very friendly. If we ever decide to return, I will make sure they have a different camp host. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
State park atmosphere. Sites are long and wide, shady, secluded and paved. Paved roads, good water pressure, close to lake and pier. Sites are not very level, no store on site, but close. Each site has graveled areas, fire rings, tables and trees. Good for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
Park is rustic with lots of treesand chickens in park but they stay in roost until after 8 am. The rate is very reasonable and the friendly park host/owner only charged me for three days even though I was there for four nights. I would not consider this park a good location for a large RVs (ours is 36') as the available sites are not level. I found a site near the front of the park that was level enough to use my jacks but I barely fit. At this site the 50 amp power plug was so close to the ground that I could barely bend the cord enough to get connected. The road to the park is narrow and there are two rough railroad crossings to go over. And, yes, train traffic was an issue but the trains in the night seemed to mute their horns. Do not take the shorter route to the park as the road goes through a single lane, low water crossing that is very rough and steep - there were many scrape marks in the pavement where trailer hitches, etc. have hit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   9   9   9   8   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Campgrounds are clean and quiet. We stayed at one of the sites that have full hook-ups. From our site (26) we were somewhat able to see the other sites but for the most part the ground covering limits the view into other sites. This gives a nice impression of being "alone." There weren't maps available when we arrived so finding our site was a little frustrating. Once there we had a good time. The day use area was very clean and laid out very well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Another very nice LCRA park, quite different in feel from the north shore park. This one has almost exclusively back-in sites that have dense undergrowth so you can't see your neighbors. Not enough space to park large truck and mid-size car, but plenty of overflow spaces spread around. Waterfront sites do indeed give lake access, but most don't give a lake view due to the undergrowth and don't include sewer. Day use area is fantastic! Trails are wide and level. Our dogs did not find too many burrs in their fur. Rate reflects $20 camp fee and 2 x $4 admission fee. You can get a book of 10 for $30. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Outstanding campground. Sites are large, pull-through and lots of room between sites. Park host was friendly and very helpful. The park and camp sites were very, very, clean. Our first time at this park, but we will be back. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for South Shore Park on Lake Bastrop
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com