206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Canyon, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
20.90 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
2309 N 3Rd Ave
0.24 miles NE
Panhandle Plains Historica
0.41 miles SE
West Texas A & M Univer
7.20 miles S
West Rim Cg
7.47 miles E
Amarillo (1)
9.15 miles N
Southwest Golf Course
10.55 miles N
Palo Duro Airfield
12.21 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
4610 S Coulter
12.35 miles N
Jack Sisemore Traveland
13.08 miles NE
Buns Over Texas
13.46 miles N
Tradewind Airport
14.13 miles NE
David'S Steaks And Seaf
14.41 miles NE
Ruby Tequila'S Mexican
14.53 miles NE
Cadillac Ranch
14.61 miles NW
Amarillo (2)
14.82 miles NW
Cattle Call Restaurant
15.44 miles NE
Sams Club 2201 Ross-Osage Dr (Located To Street)
15.62 miles NE
Amarillo (3)
16.95 miles NE
Amarillo Truck Center 8007531556
17.03 miles NE
76 Travel Center
I-40 X74
17.13 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
I-40 Exit 72B
3700 I-40 E
17.19 miles NE
Flying J
I-40 X76
18.41 miles NE
Texas
Canyon
Most Recently Reviewed
Palo Duro Canyon State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-08 20:20:07
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Canyon, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
Unknown
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$15
We wound up at this campground after being evacuated from Palo Duro Canyon State Park because of an uncontained grass fire. The owners were very friendly and helpful and kept the office open late to accommodate us refugees from the State Park. It was nine at night but a young man offered to guide us to our site and make sure we got hooked up all right. I did not find the park to be the horror the previous poster claimed. I did not use the restrooms, and I did not see garbage piled up. We did see some broken sewer caps. The office building is run down, but we felt it more important that we were treated kindly and were not taken advantage of in a difficult situation. Bottom line is that the place is in need of some upgrades and maintenance, but it was quiet, and we would not hesitate to stay here again. The grounds were easy to maneuver in our 37' fifth wheel, and we had a great Verizon cell signal. We got a discounted fee I assume because of the late arrival and short stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We ended up here for one night after heavy rain closed campground access at Palo Duro State Park. This place is next door to the park. The sites are behind a dilapidated building housing an across-the-canyon zip line. The camping area is a grassy field, with old electric pedestals, some of which appeared broken. Many sewer covers were broken. The bathrooms were filthy. There are no shower facilities. Garbage is piled next to two small containers at the corner of the main building. We were glad to leave for our park campsite the next morning when the road was finally accessible. Avoid this place for camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
114
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   10   8   10   5   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
We camped at the Mesquite Camp Area, which is by far the prettiest one to camp in. It has about 19 sites with plenty of space between sites. All have water and electric. Sites are level and road is paved in the campground. Views are spectacular. You also have to pay $5 per person per day for a use fee. For 2, people camping was $24 + $10 = $34 per day. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
Stayed in Hackberry campground, which was only about 1/4 full, so lots of privacy. But there were also lots of flies, which was annoying. Not sure what was causing that. Note also that it's kind of pricey for only a water and electric hookup. They charge $24 a night for the campsite, plus another $5/person and a per night "entrance fee", even if you only enter the campground once and stay a couple of nights like my wife and I did. Hence the $34 per night fee that I listed. So I have rated Palo Duro a couple of stars lower, due to the flies and the high price. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
This is an addition to recent reviews. The campground was fully booked for the 3-day Columbus Day weekend in October, and we did not have reservations. Luckily, we arrived Monday and were able to stay for 4-days until Friday morning. Mesquite campground is among the quietest at which we've ever stayed, without even a muted hint of a truck or train in the distance. The moonless nights revealed billions of stars and a brilliant Milky Way. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Palo Duro Canyon State Park
Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   3   7   9   4   5   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Stayed at this park because it was very handy to I-27. We wanted to visit Palo Duro Canyon State Park and did not read good reviews for the campgrounds located within the park. This park is not fancy and has some full time residents but it was clean and reasonably priced. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
Laundry was clean with machines all working and newer looking. Restrooms were somewhat spartan and dated, but fully functional and clean. Some pedestals were leaning badly and falling apart. Mine worked fine and voltage was good. Park was less than half full. Manager was friendly and helpful. She thoughtfully assigned sites so as to maximize spacing between campers. Sites were a bit narrow but very long and perfectly level. Bring a long sewer hose; the connection was located really far towards front of the site. Roads were in good shape with speed bumps on main entry road and only a few smaller potholes. There was noise from the interstate but I did not find it to be problematic at night. Price reflects a weekly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Good Management. Paved roads/gravel spots. Very clean laundry. Location is everything; just down the road from Palo Duro Canyon but by the interstate. The number and quality of permanent RVs detract from the appeal. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Palo Duro RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com