220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Donna, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
3.95 miles NW
3.98 miles SE
6.75 miles NW
8.06 miles NW
8.65 miles SE
11.06 miles NW
12.08 miles NW
14.36 miles E
17.28 miles NW
17.28 miles NW
20.95 miles SE
22.89 miles E
26.55 miles E
-Other Nearby Points-
Shady Acres Mh
(956)464-2241
0.38 miles NW
Countryside Mh
(956)464-3834
1.27 miles NW
Palm Shadows Mh
(800)221-0987
1.80 miles W
Magnolia Park
(956)464-2421
2.73 miles E
Wal-Mart
1310 N Texas Ave
4.00 miles E
Alamo Rec
(800)335-3131
4.72 miles NW
Sunburst Rv Weslaco
(877)267-2757
5.36 miles SE
Roadrunner Rv
(956)787-8047
5.54 miles NW
Magic Valley Park
(800)556-5151
5.91 miles SE
Encore Rv Mercedes
(877)247-2757
7.05 miles E
Llano Grande Golf Course
7.89 miles SE
Sunmart (Loc Unk)
Pharr
8.18 miles NW
Holiday Village Mh
800-400-6580
8.26 miles NW
Sams Club 1400 E Jackson (Located To Block)
9.49 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
1200 E Jackson Ave
9.63 miles NW
Nudist Natures Resort Nudist
(956)262-4014
10.37 miles NE
Edinburg Golf Course
10.56 miles NW
Johnny'S Mexican Food
11.04 miles NW
Wrigley'S Rv
(956)287-7356
11.05 miles NW
Sanborns Mexico Insurance
11.08 miles NW
Spanish Room
11.33 miles NW
Mcallen International A
11.37 miles W
The University Of Texas -
11.71 miles NW
University Of Texas Pan
11.72 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
1724 W University Dr
12.02 miles NW
Wal-Mart
4001 N 23Rd
12.40 miles NW
"Edinburgh, Tx July 05"
12.60 miles NW
Elks - 3500 Jordan Rd
13.04 miles W
Palmview Golf Course
13.05 miles W
Texas
Donna
Most Recently Reviewed
Victoria Palms Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-25 22:28:08
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Donna, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
800
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   5   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
The management is not the best but this is probably the friendliest park in the Rio grande Valley. We were here overnight only and got to meet at least 20 people. People were coming up to us and talking wherever we went. We came in here on a Saturday morning and the park work-camper took us around on a golf cart looking for sites. We had intended on staying for a month. After about an hour tour we decided on a nice spot that was very tight to get into. It wasn't level either and we had to back the trailer on boards. It also took a very long time to unhook the truck from the trailer as we had been driving hooked up since Monday. Finally after an hour and a half of this we plugged in and discovered there was no electricity. I used my 25 foot extention but none of the adjacent sites had power either. The work-camper went to the office and came back saying that the manager was not going to bother getting into the boxes or call anyone to set up electricity and that if we wanted the site we had to wait until Monday night to get power (3 days). We were given the option of moving to another site that had power. By then my bad back acted up and I couldn't do anything else but stay where we were. I asked if the manager would reconsider but there was no way she wanted to change her mind and open a power box and switch it on. She said we had to call the power company Monday. Then we were told that there would be no charge if we dry camped. This was a small consolation. The next morning we hooked up and pulled out to a campground 3 miles away and paid for 2 months. While here we went to the clubhouse where a Trail Dance was going on and passed the time. They seem to have lots of activities. We explored the campground on foot and found it to be very large with two sections connected by narrow roadways. Some of the sites had busted up concrete but most were good. The bathrooms are all closed at 10:00pm until morning. For an old park it did not look too bad. Some of the people we talked to said there were many management issues here. Too bad we had to have one too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
Reviewed this park in the past and gave poor marks because of washrooms and other issues. Much improved. Washroom fixed up and very clean. Wi-Fi has been improved and reception okay most of the time. For the price this is a good park for extended stays. Many activities. Anyone staying here and bored has something wrong with them We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Would be a great park except for the manager and the cleaning of the showers. Ground in dirt in floor. Mould Mould Mould. If the manager managed instead of working in the kitchen the place would be better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Bit-O-Heaven RV & Mobile Home Park
Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
February 2010
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   4   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$13
Price reflects two-month stay and does not include electric ($.13/kWh). Love this place. Indoor/outdoor swimming pool; indoor/outdoor hot tubs. Friendly, efficient staff. Most sites are back-ins, and about 50% have only 30A. Very convenient to WalMart, etc. 15 minutes to major shopping (Pharr). Great dog area. Lots of social activities (cards, senior olympics, breakfasts, etc.). Every Sunday is a country shindig, if you like that sort of thing. Not quite enough "regular" entertainment like many of the RV parks in the area have. We'll be back next year, even though electric is supposed to go up to $.16/kWh. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$23
The previous writer is right on. I got in trouble at the potluck for eating from the wrong side of the table, for not wearing my badge and for tapping my bingo card to move the red windows ... and that was within the first 3 days! Park amenities are OK, right price, convenient but the residents seem to resent "intruders" and aren't that friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$12
This is a mostly mobile home park. The staff is friendly but there are a lot of silly rules in place. Seems to have a large turnover in staff. The patrons are mostly older people and not very friendly. Advertises Wi-Fi available, but in fact is only available in rally/recreation hall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Casa Del Sol (55+ park)
Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
November 2011
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
Review removed by admin. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
470
Date of Stay
December 2012
Latest Rate
$75



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   9   9   6   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2012
$75
It appears as if the RV sites have not been updated since in 60's. Small concrete, and most are all broken up. Some sites so small one cannot put slides out. The water lines are so old they are brittle and can break very easy. Lots are poorly maintained, just mostly dirt and dead grass which you track in your unit every day!! Office help gives you someone else mail quite often, and can't find yours. I would advise staying somewhere else. They have a lot of Park Models here; in my opinion they really don't care about RV's. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$12
The RV sites vary in this park. Some have concrete, and some are dirt/grassy with concrete pads. They have large or small concrete pads. Yes, some are very small and they rent at a very discounted rate, if your rig is small. As far as the dirt being tracked in, all I can say was that we have had a lot of rain lately, and the entire area of Donna, Texas has been muddy, not just Palm Shadows. THE MAIL: is delivered by the United States Post Office. This park has no control over how they deliver it. If a mistake is made, the residents bring it back to the office and it is placed in the proper boxes. Considering there are over 500 lots here, I am sure the postmaster makes a mistake now and then. Yes, there are many park models here, but they are also very RV friendly too. We are here for the winter in a travel trailer. They have been so nice to us and treat all RVer's GREAT. Nice here too: is that they have a full bar with beer and wine at very reasonable prices. Hard booz can be brought into the bar, and purchase set-ups very cheap with a cup of ice to boot. Most all RV parks in the Donna, Texas area have some dating to them, but they really try to keep things nice here. If there is a water problem, it is fixed that day. I feel that this is a very nice park and really have enjoyed staying here. The Rio Grande Valley is a fun place and Donna, Texas is right in the heart of that area, which makes this a very central location. Oh yeah, they have music in the bar almost every night. It has been lots of fun listening and dancing to the music from rock and roll to new and old country. Karaoke is on Wednesday nights, what a blast that is! Big Band on Fridays so don't miss that. It is open to the public. So all in all, a very nice park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$11
Very nice winter Texas park. The regulars made us feel at home and were very friendly. People we have met that are staying in other parks remarked that Palm Shadows was the most friendly park in the Rio Grand Valley. Many people have wintered here for more than ten years. Continual activities going on from church on Sunday to live entertainment in the bar. Some sites were narrow, but they will not put a rig with slide outs in a narrow site. It had very nice landscaping with palm trees at almost every site. We met and made many new friends. The rate reflects a three month stay. All in all we had a very good time and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Palm Shadows RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
1300
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   9   9   7   10   8   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
We have stayed at Victoria Palms several times and this year stayed two months and had a very nice pull thru spot. It is now an Encore park so there are some changes. Reservations were handled very well but registration when we got there was a little slow. We appreciate the gate security at this park. People for the most part are friendly. We enjoyed the beautiful pool, on site restaurant and easy access to shopping etc. Lawn service (which we heard was a new vendor) needs improvement. The resort was not as full as previous years when we have stayed. If we return to the Rio Grande Valley, this is where we will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$31
We stayed here for 50 days and couldn’t wait to leave. Victoria Palms is a nice looking tropical resort with attractive landscaping and well maintained lots. They have a hotel, a restaurant, two nice pools and hot tubs. There are palm trees and citrus trees everywhere. Attractive looks are not what makes a good resort, you have to be comfortable, and it’s difficult to be comfortable at Victoria Palms. The bathrooms are clean, but they are icy cold. They are never heated. The water to wash your hands is very cold. It’s too cold to take showers. We have never been cold anywhere else but here. There are tons of activities here but a total lack of direction from the activity office. The lady director was rude to us and acted like we were stupid for asking questions about events going on. There is a total lack of direction here. At the New Years dance just before the band began to play, two drunken men began fist fighting at table 46. They rolled in the aisle and finally broke the fight up themselves. There were plenty of activity people around but they did not interfere. The police or security guards were not even called. Anywhere else these men would have been thrown out but not so at Victoria Palms. One of the fighters went to the other side of the ballroom for the rest of the night and that was it. There is a very large singles crowd here and they have their own events, dances and meetings. They keep to themselves. But the worst feature of this resort is the wholesome unfriendliness. Out of 12 parks we have wintered in, this one is definitely the least friendly. To be sure, there are a few friendly people here, but in general this is not a very friendly park. A lot of people look the other way and don’t wave back. It’s hard to make friends here at this resort full of snobs. The prices are okay comparable to Florida but very high for the Rio Grande Valley. A word to the wise, if you are expecting comfort in paradise you won’t find it here. We will not return, as we’d rather be Snowbirds than Winter Texans. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$50
We had never been to the Rio Grande Valley before and reserved the month of January at Victoria Palms after spending December in a more modest park. We didn’t make it past January 12th at Victoria Palms. We were members of Thousand Trails and took advantage of their reduced rates. Our January monthly rate was approximately $562.50, plus $.14/kwh for electric. We chose Victoria Palms because it offered the most amenities of the Encore locations in the RGV. Everyone was very friendly and the other residents we encountered were quite friendly too. Victoria Palms had the following extra amenities: Cable TV (90 channels) and Wi-Fi at the RV lot, well paved interior roads, trash pick up at the RV lot, a computer room with available technical assistance, an on site restaurant and guest hotel, a selection of DVDs for checkout, and twice as many pools and hot tubs. Here is the down side. Victoria Palms is a very big RV Resort Park. The activities we had enjoyed elsewhere in December were not as open to walk-ins here. Aerobics started an hour earlier in the morning (7am). Although there were two pools, they were smaller and more crowded. We had a harder time finding an RV lot in which we would be level (all the lots sloped toward the streets with the utilities at the far end) and our RV needs to point a little uphill to be level. This would not be a problem for an RV that wasn’t also our only means of transportation. The shower rooms were often cold and the showers had an automatic water shut off system that made taking a shower a royal pain. The 90 channel cable TV supplied did not have PBS which was available over the air. The on site restaurant did not offer anything that interested us. We do not think of ourselves as food snobs, but creamed chicken on a waffle as a feature menu item did not give the restaurant what we would call a five star rating. Over all we did not fit well with the gated community retirement lifestyle or with South Texas or Mid West cultures. The clincher came when our RV driver’s door window shattered while driving on the freeway access road within a mile of the park. It could have been a rock, but at that angle? It could also have been a bullet or a pellet. As soon as we got the window repaired, we left. To their credit, the park refunded our unused time. We ended up paying $269.70 and no electricity charge for the 12 days we stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Victoria Palms Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com