206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Gonzales, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
16.50 miles NW
17.49 miles SE
24.01 miles NE
26.04 miles NW
29.07 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
"Elks - E(50),W,D - Elks Children'S Svc"
9.72 miles NW
Rivershade Rv
(830)437-2428
11.06 miles W
Luling
13.30 miles NW
River Bend Cg
15.75 miles NW
River Bend Rv
(830)875-9548
15.94 miles NW
Texas
Gonzales
Most Recently Reviewed
Palmetto State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-02-19 04:05:40
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Gonzales, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
December 2012
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   10   10   8   10   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
This is a very basic campground but the gravel pads are level and it is quiet (there are lots of trees around). The Wi-Fi is the best we have had since we left home at the beginning of November. The couple that own the park are very friendly. This was a one-night stop over for us and we could come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
I totally agree with one of the other reviewers, the Wi-Fi is one of the "best" we have had in an RV park. The owners as others have stated are great people, with a very good set of people skills. We stopped here planning on staying for two days and extended it to four. While there we had the pleasure of meeting the parents. It is easy to see why the kids are so easy to get along with. The campground is a work in progress and still needs more work but as new owners they are trying. If you are passing through the area please give this park a try, I don't think you will find a much more friendly place to drop your jacks.There is more than enough Texas History in this area to keep you from getting bored. The $14 fee reflects Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
Price reflects CCUSA discount which is valid for up to seven nights of camping. We came for a night and stayed all week long! The owners are just about the nicest folks you'll meet anywhere. They live on site with their children, so it's very important to them to maintain a safe, welcoming community. They are working hard to renovate the park and rebuild its reputation, and they are succeeding. The park itself is quite small, and some of the campers are long-term residents, but it is clean and well maintained (the tree trimmers came out while we were there). The park is located 11 miles from the nearest town, so be prepared to drive a bit for gas and groceries. This can be a plus, too, as the park is very quiet and the skies are nice and dark at night. There is also access to a nearby lake and docks thanks to the cooperation of a private property owner next door. There are even Texas longhorns in the pasture right next to the park! The laundromat is air conditioned and reasonably priced. The staff work very hard to make sure their campers are happy ones. During the week we stayed, They brought us peaches and fresh eggs! Did I mention the Wi-Fi? It kicks butt! This is one of the reasons for our extended stay. We've had some lame Internet connections on our journey this summer, so when we ran into a fast, stable network, we were thrilled! Note that the park is well outside 3G range, though, so you'll need to rely on their Wi-Fi unless you have satellite Internet. Do check out Goss' barbecue in nearby Belmont while you are here. Well worth the short drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Hill Shade RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
A surprising little park. We chose this park because we knew the state and city parks in the area would be full due to the TX State Jr Hi Rodeo finals going on. The entrance/office is plain, but when you enter the campground you are under huge pecan trees with green lush grass growing down to the river. About half the sites were occupied by permanent residents (the new oil boom in this part of Texas). The only way to get satellite service is to run about 100 yards of cable to get out from under the tree's canopy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$16
The park is on the Guadalupe River, next to the H-5 dam. Great fishing, boating, and siteseeing. 18-20 miles south of I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   9   9   9   10   7   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
Nice park, level sites well separated. Hiking trails well maintained. Headquarters was beyond the campground turnoff and it was difficult to get turned back around. Would camp there again. Relaxed and comfortable setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$18
If this park had sewer hookups, it would rate a 10. Great sites with lots of space and new, level parking pads. Each site has a picnic table and a grill; some have smoker pits also. The park is small and quiet and TV is pretty much out of the question. Stay here to read and hike and enjoy nature (we had about 10 deer in the field next to us this morning). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
We stayed in site #2 which is the only site besides the camp hosts that has full hookups. This park has several bike and hike trails. The trail through the palmettos is fun. Luling is close by. City Market BBQ is very popular. We ate lunch at Blake's which was very good. The oil museum run by the Chamber of Commerce between these two restaurants was interesting. Buc-ee's is on the way to Luling and is always a must stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Palmetto State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com