221734 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Harlingen, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.60 miles SE
7.33 miles NE
7.33 miles NE
8.91 miles SW
10.36 miles SW
14.70 miles SW
15.11 miles SE
19.10 miles SW
21.38 miles SE
22.89 miles W
29.83 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Valley Greyhound Track
1.51 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
1801 W Lincoln Ave
1.80 miles SW
Paradise Park
(800)425-1201
2.36 miles NW
Dixieland Mh
(956)425-6707
2.77 miles SW
Palm Gardens Mh
(956)423-7670
2.78 miles SW
Villa Los Reyes Rv
(936)399-1775
3.09 miles SE
Encore Rv Harlingen
(800)426-4137
3.18 miles NW
Sunburst Rv Harlingen
(800)459-4525
3.25 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
1126 W Business 77
3.77 miles SE
First Colony Mh
(866)399-8595
3.88 miles SE
Fun 'N Sun Rv
(800)399-5127
3.98 miles SE
Carefree Valley Rv
77 Harlingen
4.07 miles NW
Tropic Winds Rv
(956)423-4020
5.48 miles N
El Ranchito
(956)399-8362
5.52 miles SE
Rio Grande Valley Interna
6.88 miles NE
Twin Palms Rv
(956)748-0800
7.25 miles NE
V.I.P Park
(956)797-1401
8.18 miles SW
La Feria Rv
(866)523-3242
8.25 miles SW
Palmdale Rv
(800)456-7683
12.93 miles SE
Texas
Harlingen
Most Recently Reviewed
Tropic Winds RV Resort (55+ Park)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-20 21:58:48
9 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Harlingen, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
241
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$12
We camped here for a month so price reflects monthly rate, not including electric. What a friendly park. It is an older park but the pool was nice. No hot tub, just a spa. It is under new management and the new owners are doing many improvements. It is close to shopping, yet has that country feel. They have two jams, one country and the other gospel in the Winter Texan months. Pot lucks, cards, sewing, entertainer's who come in, etc. Just nice people. Rates get cheaper the longer you stay. The park has Mobile homes, Park models and RV sites. They also have incentive if you move your mobile home here. They like dogs too and that is important as I have two, but 35 pound limit on size. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
1065
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$13
Huge rv park 55 older clientele. Snowbird place, mainlcanadiens (many french) Good size pool. Pickle ball, tennis, wood shop, dance classes, organized suppers bla, bla, bla. Cheap place for winter, sites are close to one another. Not busy before Christmas. Don't know after? Not much in the town. Bur McAllen is a bit bigger with Costco and all the stores you need. The park has lots of organized activities. Good spot overall We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
I would like to rate this park higher, but the staff messed that up. This is a winter haven park for seniors. There is a long list of perks and activities in the winter months. Nice quiet park with pool, pool tables, nice laundry, gym and dance hall. Beware, if you come in on a weekend the gate is locked and no one answers the phone to tell you how to get into the park. Beware, we had the OK from the office to have our RXs sent to the park, but they forgot to tell the office that handles the mail. So they sent our RXs back. It took us three days to find some one in the office to check in. I'm sure this is a busy place in the winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
Older smaller park with very friendly staff and residents. Some full-timers, some seasonal and some short term. Wi-Fi is slow but free. Swimming pool was always 85 which was great. If you don't like wind, don't come to the valley. We tolerate the wind because we like the proximity to Progresso Mexico. Our rate reflects a first timer monthly rate. Would come here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
We stayed for 10 days. New management is working hard to get this Resort to previous status. Prior ownership's lack of concern for RV'ers and residents led to a precipitous decline. Many of it's winter residents left for other places and RV'ers provided poor reviews on RV Park Reviews. We arrived and the Manager was waiting at the gate to be sure we arrived. GPS gave us fits while in the region, and we had to call when lost. She took us by golf cart to select a site best for us. Then, computed our rate to provide best among the various camping club discounts and the weekly rate. The larger facility is clean and the roads paved; full hook-ups, spacious sites well-maintained. Some have concrete pads to step out of your RV; otherwise, you're on grass, which is fine. No cable TV, but you'll not likely miss it with all the activities at Fig Tree or the region. And it has a decent TV signal via antenna. Restrooms/showers were under construction while we were here; but management assured us the woman's would be ready by the end of the day and they delivered with a working shower. Return another time and it will be fully functioning and modern. Park is primarily a destination of "Snow Birds/Winter Texans" and like many such resorts, there's a FULL schedule of activities. (A Sunday evening meeting of residents plans for the week and month ahead.) That's for everything from Winter Texan $10 discount seats for the RGV Killer Bees (CHL minor league hockey); Monday morning senior discount at the local multiplex followed by lunch; a trip to South Padre Island for literally the "Best Ribs" at Louis Backyard for $7.99; card games galore; free M-W-F morning dee-licious doughnuts and coffee provided by management where some of the residents gather to chat; free coffee and punch available through the day; and exercise in the pool. When we were here, the fellow cooking the weekly breakfast hadn't yet arrived. Need I go on? No? But I will; because whether you're staying a couple days, a week+ or a seasonal resident, you'll be welcomed and feel like honored family member and invited to participate in any and all of the scheduled activities. Wow! That's a difference between the average Park and Fig Tree. My take is that they won't need to use the Passport America, Campclub USA, etc., discounts to attract people much longer. Word will get around and it will be like the 25-30 year old photo of the resort near the office when it was packed during the winter, and you'll not be able to get a reservation for a short visit or will need to reserve your winter site well in-advance. The "Valley" is like that during cold Northern Winters, because the weather is an entire temperate zone further south than Houston and is a prime Snow Bird destination, for a number of reasons. Harlingen is conveniently located between larger population sources of McAllen to the west on US 83 and Brownsville or South Padre Island to the east. They have several hospitals for medical care, enough shops and restaurants in the Valley that you'll never starve. If I've any 'issue' with the Valley it is that it has grown so much since I first visited in 1993 and was last here in 2003. These days, it is mainly concrete and plazas from Brownsville to McAllen. (My two favorite restaurants: the Jerusalem Cafe and the Lone Star are closed). The other is: for a region this size, I wasn't able to locate an NPR or classic music radio station or something a Baby Boomer might enjoy. US 83 is a great 3 lane "interstate-like" expressway and the frontage roads make access pretty easy. However, because of the traffic, you're likely to hear some traffic noise regardless of where you stay in Fig Tree, and that's so for any of the dozens of Snow Bird RV Parks right along US 83. Don't let that keep you from making a reservation. You don't need earplugs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$12
We used Passport America and stayed the maximum of 3 nights. Our site was loaded with small "prickers" mixed in the grass at our site. They stuck to our shoes and, therefore, were tracked into our 5thwheel and truck. Some of the sites had concrete pads, but our site was dirt, some grass and "prickers"! We wondered if we were assigned this site because we were using Passport America. Most of the sites were seasonals with park models, but very neat. The seasonals were very friendly and helpful. The pool was immaculate. Large and very clean laundry room. There was a lot of construction on the highway in front of the park and the exit was closed. Not being familiar with the area, it was difficult getting to the park. There was a lot of traffic noise due to being so close to the highway. We would stay there again, but ask for a site that had a concrete pad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Fig Tree RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
301
Date of Stay
February 2012
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$33
This is an Encore park so there is a $3.00/day 'Resort Fee' for daily rentals. This is a 'Winter Texan' destination park. Great staff, new park manager who is making needed repairs and upgrades. Activity director who has planned lots of activities. Monthly rentals pay electricity which are THE cheapest rates in the Valley...about.08/kwh. Propane delivery to site (Hino Gas). Close to all amenities in Harlingen including the new Bass Pro Shop. Wi-Fi thru Tengo. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
245
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
We stayed here to be near all the RGV towns to see and S. Padre Island. Treated well by staff and put on nice level gravel pull-thru spot. Wifi good but had antenna right by our site so don't know if it would be good all over. A lot of permanents and Canadians and everyone in park was very friendly. Free citrus all over the place. Roads a little curvy and somewhat narrow for big rig towing car but possible. Laundry was clean but a lot of washers were out of order; said new ones were coming. This was better for us than the huge parks farther west in the valley but the Harlingen traffic could be very busy too. Would consider staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$32
Our site was large and level with good quality power, water and sewer connections. The pool, hot tub and restrooms were very clean and comfortable. The sites and the park facilities were neat and well-kept. There's a big new dog park and other apparently recent upgrades. We felt right at home here. The new manager, was really welcoming, and introduced us to some of the other residents, who we became fast friends with. We joined in the regularly scheduled events, including dancing, bingo and potluck dinners. This is the way to snowbird - with a group of really nice people who know how to help newcomers fit right in. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
This was a great campground to come to: until this year. We have been coming for 7 years, but we won't be back. The new management seems friendly until an issue comes up: then you can't find him, and he didn't seem to know know what he was doing. The office girls handled most everything: they were friendly and tried to be helpful. This is a mobile home park, and new manager doesn't seem to like Rv'ers, or know much about them. We won't be back until they get new management. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Palm Gardens RV & MH Park (55+ park)
Camp Information
Sites
565
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
We had never been to the Rio Grande Valley before and reserved only the month of December at this park since we had reservations elsewhere for January. By the end of December we wanted to stay longer, but were committed to our other reservation. We were members of Thousand Trails and took advantage of their reduced rates. Our December monthly rate was approximately $444 plus about $44 for electric. We chose this park because it had the largest swimming pool of all Encore RV parks in the RGV. December, 2013 was unusually cold in the RGV and we did not have as many opportunities to enjoy the pool as we had hoped. Everyone at the park was very friendly and encouraged us to participate in the activities at the park. We attended the Christmas Day dinner and the New Year’s Eve dinner and dance. The food was quite good, but it was the friendliness of the other residents that made it memorable. At the New Year’s Eve dinner someone told us we would wish we had stayed at this park instead of moving. They were right. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
1065
Date of Stay
2001
Latest Rate
$20


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$20
Well maintained RV Park for just a few days or all winter. Lots of organized activities for those who wish to participate. Only drawback is size of sites, somewhat packed in. We camped here in a camper.
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   1   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$16
This is our 2nd stay here. Very clean, nice park. Small park which we like and it has a security gate at the entrance. There are many permanent seasonal RV park models but all are well maintained. There is a clubhouse and they do have many activities. Rate is based on a weekly rate. Nice, friendly and quiet park. We will be staying here every time we come to the RGV. Great prices! Great place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Love this park. Friendly owner operated. Yearly, monthly and daily rates available. Big Rig friendly and lots of things to do. Very clean and well kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
A great park: very clean and well managed. I felt right at home. I would come back again We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Sundance RV Village
Camp Information
Sites
535
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   4   8   8   8   8   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$3
This is a 55+ resort. It is owned by ELS (Thousand Trails and Encore). It is located in the city of Harlingen, Texas, right in the Rio Grande Valley. Easy drive to S. Padre Island. The park is large, with 535 sites with over 400 being RV sites, and the sites are spacious. Concrete Patios 10X40 feet. 30/50 amp electric. There are quite a few permanent park models, but the majority of the residents are in RVs, quite a change from the usual snow bird parks. There are activities galore (over 450) and super friendly people. A very active community. The park is far enough out of town to feel like it is in the country, but close enough to everything that there is shopping, dining and entertaining only a few miles away. Thousand Trails has about 45 sites here and, depending on your membership you may be able to stay for 2 weeks at $3 a night. Not eligible for Zone members. Thousand Trails members also get a greatly reduced site fee for a seasonal stay. With a cafe called Windy Cafe and street names like Windy Lane, Windswept Lane, and Windgate Lane You can bet that this area is windy, There is also Sunshine Court and Sunway Drive, so expect lots of sunshine as well. I would have given this park 5 stars, except that the bathrooms near the pool are very badly in need of renovating. Everything else is just about perfect. Thanks to the wonderful office, activity and maintenance staff. We camped here in a 39 foot motorhome for 2 1/2 months. Will we come back here? You betcha! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$3
Larger than average sites, especially for a park as big as this. Friendly staff and lots of activities. This is an age restricted park and so is not kid friendly; although, they said they will make exceptions for short stays. The park is well organized with good roads. There are many permanent residents but they were very welcoming, too. We stayed as part of Thousand Trails program but had to pay a reasonable $3 per night resort fee. We enjoyed the stay and would return if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2013
$45
Pretty typical Encore park. Sites are small for a large motorhome. Ours is 45' and our mirrors were in the street. No place to park a towed. No hot water in the showers, lukewarm at best. Jacuzzi is way too small for 535 sites, but it was warm. Pool is heated. Extra charge for 50amp service. Extra charge for internet. Lots of speeding by golf carts, driving side by side, cutting corners etc. Be careful if you have an end unit. Lots of noise from the International airport a mere 2 miles away. With all the camping available in this area, there are many parks that offer more. We wouldn't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Tropic Winds RV Resort (55+ Park)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com