223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Marfa, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
21.81 miles E
28.18 miles NE
Texas
Marfa
Most Recently Reviewed
Tumble In RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-19 21:14:26
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Marfa, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
16
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   8   9   6   3   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
We stopped over at this park after the park on the other side of town because it has great views, too. Maybe even better because they are unrestricted. And because you can't see town, you feel like you are out there. But that's about all we can recommend. It's a big white gravel parking lot and the long term-ers run the place and stare at you all the time. It creeped my wife out. The spots are right on top of each other, too, so there's no getting away really. The ones down the hill are better if you want to stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
This was our second time to stay here. All electric has been updated and is in very good condition. Full hookups with cable TV. Beautiful views of Chinati Peak and the Davis Mountains. There are 8 new pull-through spaces that have more room between them than the original 8, which is better for us since we have multiple slide-outs. Not a resort and few frills, but solid for the money. It fits the Marfa theme. Best sunset I've seen in a while, too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
This is a basic, but solid RV park. It has all hookups, but no bathrooms or showers. If Marfa is your destination or you're looking for a jump-off point for the western side of Big Bend State Park, this is a good option. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Apache Pines RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   9   6   8   4   6   10   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
This park is self-service; no owner or management is on site or available and there is no contact information for them. Wifi is good near the buildings. The sites are fairly level gravel with full hookups. The grassy areas are full of goat head stickers, making walking with sandals on or with a pet uncomfortable and possibly dangerous. Small trees were planted near each site but most have died of neglect. There is no shade. The train tracks run behind the park, and trains run at various times during the night. Although there are no whistles, the engine and track noise could disturb a light sleeper with the windows closed. Bring earplugs just in case. There is a common room with a washer and dryer for use on the honor system with a suggested donation of $3. There are a refrigerator, sink and stove for camper use. The toilet/shower building has two toilet stalls and one separate shower/dressing area. The park is kind of cute and quirky with a neon sign and buildings geared toward the Marfa minimalist ambiance. However, minimalist design isn't the same as minimalist upkeep. We stayed for four nights. The washer and dryer were filthy the entire time. The sink, stove and refrigerator were too. The concrete floor in the women's bathroom wasn't swept while we were there, and looked like it had been a long time since the sink and toilet bowls were cleaned. The same poop stain that was in the toilet on the day we arrived was still there the day we left along with the wads of hair on the floor. Unfortunately, this is the best of the options for camping in Marfa, so positive changes are not likely from the absentee owners. Next time we'll eschew the convenience of being close to Marfa and opt for a better park in Alpine. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
A truly unique campground. If you like fluff and fancy, keep going. If you like character, this is for you. Price quoted is for a freight train long pull-through. Check in is honor system in a classic trailer. I didn't use the toilets or shower but they were clean and neat. The community area is graveled with benches and decorative wall (desert decorations). There is a building with kitchen (stove, fridge, sinks, tables) and a swap area. We were there a week and saw the manager twice. It seems like he lives on the property. He is the chef on the Food Shark, a gourmet food truck in Marfa. Water was good and clear, electricity steady and Wi-Fi strong. I would chose this over any glitz and glamor park I have seen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
$24 per night was for a full hookup back-in site. Dirt/gravel sites are mostly level and there is adequate room for deploying slides and awnings. There is a common area that has a wood burning stove, a refrigerator, BBQ grill, picnic table, sink, washer/dryer, CDs and player,as well as a covered outside shelter that has a campfire ring. Management was there taking care of their small planted trees. As stated in previous reviews, check-in is done by the honor system or reservations can be made online if you’re paying by credit card. There are railroad tracks running alongside the campground but, thankfully, they blow their whistles about a half-mile either side of the campground and pass slowly by. The artsy town of Marfa proper is less a mile from the campground. If you like walking/biking there are many miles of trails/roadway in and near the park. We used the Tumblewide Wi-Fi (password at check-in trailer) for Internet access. AT&T reception was OK and Verizon reception was stronger. No OTA TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Tumble In RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com