218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby New Braunfels, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.30 miles NE
15.33 miles SW
15.33 miles SW
18.50 miles NW
19.43 miles S
20.01 miles E
26.90 miles NE
28.08 miles SE
28.09 miles NE
29.21 miles NW
32.67 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Ft. Sam Houston Rec
3.82 miles NE
Lake Pointe Resort-2140 Lakeland Rd.
4.23 miles NE
Randolph Rec Area
4.32 miles NE
Canyon Falls Rv
830) 964-4456
4.58 miles NE
Riverside Resort
(830)964-3629
4.73 miles NE
Mermaid'S Cove
(830)885-4297
5.19 miles NW
Canyon Falls
6.56 miles E
Rio Raft
(877)Rio-Raft
6.86 miles SE
Lazy L & L Cg
(830)964-3455
7.29 miles SE
Summit Vacation Resort-13105 River Rd.
7.31 miles SE
Gristmill
13.88 miles SE
Schlitterbahn Waterpark &
14.07 miles SE
Huisache Grill
14.71 miles SE
Sophienburg Museum
15.01 miles SE
Texas
New Braunfels
Most Recently Reviewed
2nd Crossing Camp
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-15 21:58:31
11 Park(s) Reviewed Near
New Braunfels, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
The daily rate posted reflects the rate we paid with two children. Obviously there are add-ons to their quoted rate of $35. The campground is mostly caliche, so when the wind blows there is fine white dust everywhere. There is one utility box for every two campsites, and there is one 30-amp and one 50-amp outlet per box. If there are two 50 or two 30-amp rvs side by side, one of you will have to get an adapter from the office (no fee). Also, one of you will be on the wrong side, so you'll have to sling your hose and cable under your RV to hook up. This is not a bad little park. The folks are friendly and the grounds are clean. There are many other sites on this part of the Guadalupe; if we go back, we'll likely try a different camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Stayed here tree nights with our dogs. All sites are on the water with direct access from your back (or front) yard...depending which way you park. Water is shallow, we set our chairs and pop up tent in the water and enjoyed some summertime music and beer and watched the tubers float by. Families were here with children too. Awesome visit. Look forward to visiting here again! They don't have sewer hook up, but do have a dump station near office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
8
Date of Stay
August 2009
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
Billy Goat's Gruff is horrible!!!! It is some stupid old grumpy woman’s back yard. It is not even a real camp ground. She stuck some window units in her sheds and calls them cabins. What a joke! Not one of the camp sites is right on the river like she will promise. We were going to camp there the weekend of August 1st, 2009. We got there and she was already mad because we arrived at 11 am. She says “Check in is not until 2:30, but I guess I could let you in.” This is here stupid backyard we are talking about; really, when does her yard close or open? We arrived and she was freaking out because the other person in our party had a pop-up camper; I had call her the Friday before and told her we were changing the tent site to a pop-up. I also had mentioned that we might have some other people showing up the next day and they would pay when they got there. She started to freak out and tell me, my wife and my friend that we were liars and to leave. She said she was going to call the police on us and my 3 small children (1, 3, and 4 year old.)  I told her we would leave if she gave us our money back; she freaked out again and went in the house. We were promised 2 camp sites right on the river with water and electricity, not camping in some crazy lady’s backyard. She also told us, when asked about not being right on the river, “if you are too lazy to walk down to the river, you don’t need to be here. Camp at your own risk. There are many other places to camp; do not try here. Ask psycho woman for a picture of the “grounds” from the back of here house, you will see what I am talking about. I doubt she has any repeat campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   5   7   9   7   9   3   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  no  question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$60
We camp here once a year and each year the experience is a little different due to management. We had a flood alarm that started at 5:30am in the morning and was not turned off until after 8:00am, needless to say we were up at 5:30am. Our site required 2 inches of leveling on one side. The electricity and water pressure were both consistent. The park employees are friendly but not very effective at rule enforcement. The tent area and day use areas have trash all over the ground and the employees drive around in golf carts and pick and choose what they pick up or not. Trash cans are also overflowing on the weekends and left that way until Monday. Several park guest are drunk, loud, rowdy, lewd, and are a public nuisance, especially if you are their neighbor. The good thing about this CG, it's on the river with full hook-ups with decent sized sites. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$55
Where to begin. Our first night we had to listen to an alarm all night long from their water pumps across the road. Even though we informed them many times when we first arrived (before the office closed), they didn’t get someone to unlock the barbed wired fence to reset the alarm to stop the noise until noon the next day. All posted rules are not enforced. Their pet rule is that dogs are only allowed if they are under 30 pounds. There were dogs over 100 pounds in several campsites! Quiet hours were never enforced. Every night we had to hear our neighbors partying into the wee hours. Sometime during their partying they drove their golf cart over our sewer hose. The picnic table at our site was carved up and wobbly. Looked like something out of the projects. The restrooms were so filthy that words could not describe it! They make state park restrooms look like a palace. Everyday trash was overflowing in all the trashcans, mostly from beer cans and liquor bottles. A camper across from us had a cooler full of beer stolen one night. I guess they were not interested in our water bottles and soda. There is not a camp host on site, so when the office is closed all staff leave. The only contact number left in cases of emergency is the local law enforcement. It is really sad! This could be a fantastic campground, but the owner has let it go. I blame the owner since they were obviously the one who hired the staff. My understanding is the owner of the campground also owns the Rockn’ R River Rides. That might explain why they prefer the drunken party crowds at their campground. If you want to hear more reviews check out their Facebook page. It will really let you know that this is a college type party campground. We will not be camping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
This was the only full hook up campground we could find on the river. Sites are nice and wide. We got a site on the river and enjoyed making a fire on the riverbank. Kids enjoyed playing in the water all day. They have really nice springs that feed into the river that you can tube. Also nice shallow pools for floating. The springs are fast moving though. The store is very expensive for the things you need like tube rafts and ice. They charge $2 to blow up your raft with a compressor. Now let's talk about the bathrooms. Gross!!! These were the dirtiest bathrooms. The toilet stalls don't have doors and the main bathroom door doesn't close all the way. Sinks are gross. You don't want to touch the handles. Bugs everywhere. Overflowing trash cans. The only showers are in the day use tent camping area, and they cost a dollar for 8 minutes. Watch out for clumps of hair on the shower floor. They are cleaner than the other bathroom, but that's not saying much. The dude that cleaned the bathroom only emptied the trash and replaced the toilet paper. Floors, sinks, and toilets were left untouched. This was ridiculous for $50 a night. Pros: beautiful river setting and nice spacious level sites with full hook ups. They had trash cans at the end of every site, and the grounds were kept clean. Cons: Disgusting bathrooms. We won't come back here because of that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Camp Huaco Springs
Camp Information
Sites
312
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   5   5   7   9   9   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
These people, it appears, are changing to a park model (cabin) park. They are doing a lot of repairs. Had to struggle to get to office for a receipt and then they could not provide one. They say they pickup trash bags daily. They just don't say which day is daily. RVers appear to be a necessary evil. Could be a great park, but I won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
We had a Rally over here (35 is rally rate), booked in January for April to be sure to be together with the other rigs! We were all over the place and not together. The campground was not full at all. They were working on the cabins and outdoor swimming pool. WiFi is Tengo, free but very bad! Cable is free and good. Long gravel pull thrus with little concrete patio. A lot of Interstate noise and trains! Great surroundings, but we will not come back to this Campground, too expensive for what they offer and too much traffic noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Nice park, lots of amenities, but the WiFi is inadequate for the number of sites. Management just says to keep trying. After four hours I decided we would not come back. Price too high to accept that level service. There are other parks available . We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Hill Country RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
I've been camping here for over 30 years. I was brought here first as a child by my folks. I love the rapids & shady campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
I have been going to the river for 25 years. I have camped at almost everysite except this was our first time and last to camp at KL Ranch camp. I made our reservatons months in advance. We camped in site 94 which was right on the river. The view was beautiful but the camping experience was terrible. There is one road in and the same road out and it is not paved. There is a constant cloud of dust and dirt in the air. The campsites are not mowed or groomed and the tender trees are dried up and starving for a drink of water. The bathrooms are the most disgusting filthy bathrooms I have ever seen. We used our utility shower and other means of toileting and stayed clear of the restrooms. This is not for famillys as we had hoped it is all about getting drunk and bad language. When returning from dinner one night,they had locked the gate and we could not get back into our campsite. We drove around and around untill someone finally came and opned the locked gate so we could get into our site. They proceded to remind us that the gates lock at 10;30. We had returned at 11;00. I have never been locked in a camping area and don't intend to ever be again. Campers beware. The river is beautiful it's a shame greedy people have access to it, who are not putting any money or care into the camping end of it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Wow, what a weekend we had camping at KL Ranch Camp. This is a hidden gem in the Texas Hill Country. Some of the sites are very tough to get into, but you can make it was easy maneuvering. We camped right on the banks of the Guadalupe River less than 15' from the bank of the river. We had a wonderful time shopping in historic Gruene. KL Ranch Camp does have a short camping season, March to September. We'll definitely make a return trip next Spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   7   5   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
40 ft RV and toad. Had to disconnect so the toad did not stick out in the road. No Wi-Fi detected. Great restaurants in the area. Did not use public bathrooms. Just a basic place to stay overnight and not fancy or any amenities. People come to float the river in inner tubes. Yes trains are fifteen to sixty yards away. Run the a/c fan to screen the noise or stay down by the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Horrible, horrible, horrible is the only word to describe this campground (if anyone would even call this a campground!)!! First of all it is in a horrible location in New Braunfels, TX. You have to drive all over the city to get down into the area where they are located (WARNING: there is a bridge that only has an 11FT clearance on the way to the park)! It took us over 2 hours to FIND the place then another 3 hours trying to find someone to help us set up a reservation! Finally once someone did come to "help" (a Workamper that had NO CLUE what she was talking about) she couldn't answer most of our questions! She flip flopped her stories about how much the rate was per night then couldn't answer us on how much a monthly rate was. They don't offer a weekly rate. After she stared at her computer screen, which seemed for hours, she finally told us we owe $60 for TWO nights during OFF season! I then explained that we only wanted TWO nights (like I originally stated) but for some reason she just couldn't figure out on her calendar of how to change the dates! Then her rate she quoted us first was $15/night then jumped up to $20/night! A Wal-Mart parking lot is MUCH more pleasant than this place. There are SEVERAL LOUD TRAINS that go blaring past the park - VERY VERY LOUD and constant...all day...all night! I could post more but I think you get the drift of what this place is. Keep in mind this place does flood! On a positive note it is located on Comal River. Crystal clear water and excellent for tubing and fishing. There are many beautiful campgrounds in this area of Texas - this just so happens to NOT be one of them. The people there (that live there and work there) are very rude and not helpful! Move on down the road and give your money to a campground that wants to welcome you with open arms! I normally would never post anything negative or rude but I believe that people need to be aware of the truth! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
We were here in the off season and the place was not crowded. The host did warn us about the trains that come through the night and they were loud!. That is really the only complaint. I would recommend this park if you do not have anything over 35 foot. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Landa RV & Campgrounds
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   3   5   4   10   10   6   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
Nice, quiet place on the river; country setting, friendly campers and staff. No cable TV , so a dish is nice to have. River is stocked with trout. Will stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
Unlike the previous poster we found the staff very friendly and helpful,and loved it our stay. The park is spotless; yes,there is a gravel road,but it is well-maintained, we had no problems with it. The staff had the most wonderful Valentines party for the RV'ers with prime rib with all the trimmings, you don't see that too often! We enjoyed our stay,have already booked in for next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Everything one might expect from a commercial campground: rough road within the park, sites too close together, rude employees, little or no shade, spotty WiFi coverage, overpriced general store (though in fairness, was well stocked). We had a good sized rally, so for us, quiet time not starting until midnight was a plus. All hook ups worked fine. No pool but there was easy access to the Guadalupe River. They offered a free concert in their "barn" after dark. However, I'd have preferred watching TV in my air conditioned trailer, to standing in 100° heat for loud music. No cable TV is a huge minus since reception in this area is poor. The broadcast channels we could receive included CBS, NOAA weather, and Country Music videos. The majority were religious and Spanish-speaking stations. Good thing we brought our DVD's. I also didn't much appreciate their slapping a hard-to-remove sticker to the outside of my windshield upon check in. Took me 10 minutes with a razor blade and solvent to get it off when we got home. We came here for a special family event and it's likely we'll never return to this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lazy L&L Campground
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
We have a 44' RV and it is a bit difficult to maneuver. It is not really designed for rig’s that large. It is mostly a tent camping place. It is very dusty. The sites are dirt and grass. The sites closer to the water have shade. The big field for tents does not. They have small cabins available for rent, but I never saw inside of them, and do not know the cost. For the RV, we paid $15/person/night. In addition to that, they charge for water and electricity, I think it is $5/night. We do not utilize the restrooms, but I know they have free showers, and sometimes there is a line on busy weekends. There is a bar on-site, and a grill on the weekends. They also have live bands outdoors at night on the weekends. It is a party atmosphere each time we have been here. You can buy ice on site, $3/bag. You can rent tubes ($15/per person, rent 3, get the 4th on free) here. They will shuttle you, or you can get in the water here and float to a pick-up point. You can sit in chairs or tubes/rafts in the water and not float if you choose to do so. They have a sand volleyball area. I do not recall seeing any other play areas for children. If there is a problem with unruly guests, you just go to the office and report it, and they will take care of it! We saw that first hand this weekend. They have a dog painted in their logo, floating in a tube, which is misleading because they do not allow pets. They do, however, have a resident cat. There are containers everywhere for you to recycle beer/soda cans. I believe a couple of the sites have fire pits. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$53
This is more a tent campers place. I have tent camped here many times and this was the first time I took my travel trailer here. It was very difficult to maneuver and park, luckily I had rented an additional spot for some friends that were tent camping. The road to the RV sites is one lane wide and like I said does not allow for easy parking. The showers are free and there is always a party atmosphere, lots of people cutting from the parking lot through our campsite to their camp site or the river. I have a long bed, quad cab truck with a bumper pull travel trailer. Others also had a difficult when it came time to pull out, one in a 5'er and the other in a large bus type RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   3   9   9   8   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$26
Strange park by Guadalupe River but under and between 2 overpasses. Appearance is excellent but kept checking under the trailer for homeless! Completely concrete. Excellent WiFi, I would stay here again. Just a strange little park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
This is an interesting little park. Even though they advertise themselves as a "RV Resort", they're not. Yet, its more than a simple "stop over". This park is super clean, and that is emphasized with all the cement. They offer a volleyball net and a horseshoe pit, though both are set in a strange setting under a bridge. No pool, or exercise facilities, and they have more than usual rules that are enforced. The WIFI here was outstanding and we were in the back of the park, we were fortunate to receive a riverside site. They also inquired about the year and model/make of our fifth wheel, yet there are some long-term renters with less than ideal trailers. This place can be tough to maneuver if you have a bigger rig. Ours is 40 in length and the park staff had to ask 3 cars to move,temporally, so that we could back into our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
It is between 2 bridges and can get road noise, but nice park...made sure we were next to our friends...sites are level and easy for a 45 ft motorhome to maneuver, but entrance off main road is hard for GPS to pick up. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for River Ranch RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
I like this campground. It is nice during the week. The weekends always are crowded so we try to avoid those days. If you have a large trailer some of the sites at the end are very hard to manuver into and out. Bring an extension cord/water hose, as if you back your trailer into site, the hookups are at the front. Camp Hosts are friendly and helpful. Good place to stay on the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This was our first time camping along the Guadelupe River. In this park, most of the sites are right on the river - terrific view! Most of the sites have shade and are level. The staff are friendly. For kids, there is not much to do at this park other than float in the river, however, Canyon Lake is close and San Antonio and some state parks are less than an hour away. There is also a camp store, which came in handy. The sites are not too close together, but most of the even numbered sites do not have the electric/water hook-ups on the right side. This means you need an extension cord for power and another hose - and you have these hoses/cords all over the campsite. Luckily, we were able to borrow one from the office, since we didn't have any. We stayed over Labor Day weekend, and there were a lot of families, but also people who really wanted to party (loud music until late). Guess this is to be expected on a holiday weekend. There are no full hook-ups and only one dump station, so make sure you leave early on the day you head out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$32
We have been camping on the Guadalupe River for 30 years and have camped here for the past 13. We wanted a more family oriented campground when our kids began bringing our grand kids camping. We love this campground. It is the best location on the river. Almost half the sites are directly on the river and the rest are right across the camp road from it. From one end to the other the camp has rapids, slower deep water, and a wonderful natural gravel beach area for family fun with small children. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful beyond what should be expected. The camp is kept clean and the bathrooms are cleaned at least twice daily. Loud, rowdy campers are warned, then sent packing if they can not maintain a decent manner and the quiet time of 10 p.m. is enforced. There is a small store right next door and also an outfitter so all the basics are in walking distance. We would not stay anywhere else, nor would our kids and all the many friends who have camped with us over the years. They have a good number of tent sites with electricity and the bulk of the sites have both water and electricity. Dogs under 15 pounds are allowed in campers but no dogs are allowed in tents. The only negative is that they have such a steady clientele it is hard to get a weekend reservation during the summer. Fourth generations of families are still camping here. They must be doing something right. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for River Road Camp
Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   10   9   8   8   9   9   7   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2014
$1
Rate reflects C2C membership. Roads to the campground are narrow and winding--but pretty country drive. Staff are friendly & helpful, in fact, the staff are one of the biggest strengths. After checking in, we were escorted across the street and approximately 1/2 mile to the RV/campground section. The roads inside the campground are awful. Most of the amenities are back in the registration area where the cabins are located. When we called before reserving our site, we were told we would be able to get cell phone and internet connections. In reality the coverage is in very limited areas within the resort. We had to leave our RV to get phone/internet coverage. WiFi is available in office, clubhouse and parking lot. Clubhouse is open for very limited hours. We did see wildlife daily, enjoyed trees throughout campground and river access from the cabin/registration area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$10
This park was beautiful with nice big sites. Loved watching the deer come in every night. The pools looked incredible but are not heated, so the water was to cold to get in. The bathroom has been newly renovated but needed to be cleaned a little more often. We enjoyed our stay and would love to go again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$10
This is a very nice park. We stayed 5 nights. The sites are large and flat. We saw deer in the park every night. This RV park is connected to a time share resort so all amenities are shared. Nice! Our son and dau-in-law came for a weekend and got a cabin. Very nice! One downfall is that there is no cable and no TV reception on antenna. Thankful for my books and my husband's DVD's. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Summit Vacation Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com