221611 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Rio Hondo, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.33 miles SW
7.90 miles SW
12.68 miles SE
16.21 miles SW
16.30 miles SW
21.78 miles SE
21.94 miles SW
23.40 miles SE
24.14 miles NE
26.21 miles SW
26.95 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Twin Palms Rv
(956)748-0800
0.15 miles S
Rio Grande Valley Interna
0.57 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
1126 W Business 77
6.62 miles SW
Valley Greyhound Track
6.77 miles SW
Tropic Winds Rv
(956)423-4020
6.80 miles NW
El Ranchito
(956)399-8362
6.99 miles SW
Villa Los Reyes Rv
(936)399-1775
7.66 miles SW
Encore Rv Harlingen
(800)426-4137
8.64 miles W
First Colony Mh
(866)399-8595
8.67 miles SW
Fun 'N Sun Rv
(800)399-5127
8.82 miles SW
Paradise Park
(800)425-1201
9.06 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
1801 W Lincoln Ave
9.13 miles SW
Carefree Valley Rv
77 Harlingen
9.28 miles W
Palm Gardens Mh
(956)423-7670
10.07 miles SW
Dixieland Mh
(956)425-6707
10.09 miles SW
Sunburst Rv Harlingen
(800)459-4525
10.47 miles SW
Laguna Atascosa National
11.48 miles NE
Palmdale Rv
(800)456-7683
11.62 miles SE
Holiday Out Cg
13.22 miles SE
Texas
Rio Hondo
Most Recently Reviewed
Diving Dolphins RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2011-04-05 15:40:38
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Rio Hondo, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
March 2011
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
This county park should be identified as being in Arroyo City instead of Rio Hondo. It is a thin 1.5 mile long sliver of a park located at the very end of Route 2925. The park was created by Laguna Atascosa NWR leasing the land to Cameron County to enhance boating and fishing on the river. There is no vehicular or pedestrian access into the refuge from the park; the entrance is 17 miles away. The park is narrow, wide enough to contain RV sites along or near the Arroyo Colorado River (AKA Herlingen Ship Channel), one dead end road right by the RV sites out to the boat launches at the end of the road, and a trail that essentially follows the road. Ten of 35 sites are right on the water, ten more have a buffer that anglers use between the RV sites and the river, and 15 are located away from the water. This is a mult-use park and there's the rub: on weekends the place is heavily used by anglers, boaters, and pick nickers. In spite of reserved signs on the RV sites, we found a group using our reserved site and had to wait for them to pack up and leave. We had to clean up the beer bottle caps and old fishing gear left on the site. There was trash in the brush next to our site, and the bank behind was eroded substantially between us and the river. There appeared to be about 40 or 50 pickups with trailers parked at the boat launches during the day on Sunday and these continuously left the park well into the evening. On weekdays, there were only a few campers in the park, but the anglers started driving through the park promptly at 6:00 am to reach the boat launch. The toilets were stainless steel and lacked toilet seats. The urinal in the men room still had butts in it on Monday morning. The cost shown includes full hookups. There is only one small store in the “city” of Arroyo, and the next nearest store is in Rio Hondo. If we're in the area again, we'd try somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
My husband called to see if there were any spaces available at the last minute, and the young man said yes. He suggested we "reserve" it so no one would get the site before we drove down there. So we reserved the first night with a credit card. It took us about an hour to get there. When we got there, we paid with a check for the second night. When we arrived, we drove through the park and discovered that it was very crowded and very loud. The spaces were very small and the park itself was very small. We were undeterred as we had read a review that said the view of the dolphins in the arroyo was great. So we wanted to see for ourselves. In addition, we had read favorable reviews of kayaking in the area. When we got to our site, our table was covered with other campers' food and there was a man passed out on the table's bench. We had no desire to "move" these people from our spot, and we had no desire to wake up the man not knowing if he was drunk, so we drove back to the entrance and told the young man that we didn't want to stay. We were very disappointed. The young man said he could go run the man off, but we declined fearing retribution. The young man gave us our check back, but said he didn't know how to give us credit back on our card as he was a new employee. He said we'd have to call the park manager. We did, and he said he'd have to check into it and call us back. We waited and waited and waited, until we finally called him back. He quickly said that we could not have our money back since it was "reserved" and we didn't cancel in time but that we could have a "rain check". So I guess that if you reserve a space within a 24 hour window, you might as well "kiss" your money goodbye even if the site is unusable. I don't think we'll ever see our "rain check" as he made no attempt to tell us how to secure this rain check. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$15
Sites were a little overgrown if you have a tall rig. Friendly rangers. Wildlife refuge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
December 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
We enjoyed this campground and the people so much we paid for this coming fall (yearly rates are great + electric). We will return. I think this is going to be our second home every winter. Our stay was December 2010 until March 2011. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
We have just came here first visit and we plan to spend the winter here. The rate here $225 a month plus electric. Great place great people in the park. This may be our every winter home. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com