223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Somerville, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
3.83 miles SW
15.89 miles SW
15.96 miles SE
19.08 miles NW
24.01 miles SW
24.14 miles NE
25.67 miles NE
31.83 miles SE
34.23 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Artesian Rv Cg
(979)836-0680
10.76 miles SE
Monastery Of St Clair M
14.34 miles SE
Blue Bell Creameries And
14.63 miles SE
Dixieland Cg
14.76 miles SW
Dixieland Rv
(979)278-3805
14.80 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
203 Us Loop 290 W
16.41 miles SE
Texas
Somerville
Most Recently Reviewed
Rocky Creek COE
Latest Review Submited On
2014-01-04 01:32:43
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Somerville, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
111
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   2   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
This is a big park located on the shores of Lake Somerville. Although they offer a limited number of sites that serve 50 amp, all of those sites are located bunched-up close to the marina in the most undesirable part of the park. No internet service in our camping loop and no full hook ups either. The restroom and shower facility ranks as the worst I've ever experienced. We had great neighbors and during our stay, 3 nights total, we never saw anyone affiliated with the park patrol or even ride around our loop. I can only imagine if you get stuck next to a group whose idea of a camping weekend is different from yours....you are on your own. The picnic tables are unusable due to decay and lack of upkeep. Which is generally the problem with the entire park. They have 1 dump station and its located on your exit from the park and includes a tricky turn for medium to larger trailers, 5ers and motor-coaches. To complicate matters, once you've dumped the turn to exit the park is impossible to navigate with a large rig due to the positioning if the exit gates. That forces you to head back into the park and make another tour around the camping loop in order to get your rig positioned correctly to exit the park. Much better options available on the lake. We were forced to stay here due to the US Government Shut-Down that cancelled our reservation with the Corp of Engineers Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This campground while large, is unkempt. The covered fishing pier is filthy, the walls and ceiling and hand rails are layered in spider webs and inches of dirt and dust and insect larvae. We saw several large water snakes in the tires hanging on the posts in the water. The bathrooms and showers are disgusting. The water on this end of the lake is so rough due to the constant wind that you'll get soaked in a fishing boat. The cabins are basically shacks and appear boarded up from the outside. It turns out those are wood shutters on the inside of the windows. There are so many cobwebs and spiders on the outside of the buildings I can't imagine sleeping in them. This campground is in need of some serious attention. With a little TLC and a good powerwasher and some remodeling of the nearly un usable showers and restrooms, this could be a great family spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Pro's: huge park next to Lake Somerville; family friendly; sandy beaches; very shallow next to shore for quite a ways out. Can bring as many tents, boats, watercraft, family/ friends, vehicles, etc. as you want. An extra day pass comes with each site so you can entertain without paying extra. There are cabins and rooms that overlook the lake. Beaches and common areas are clean. No problem with dogs enjoying the beach or swimming in the water. Jet-ski rental on site as well as a grill open on the weekends. Alcohol ok. Cons: packed in like sardines on the weekend we were there. If you like peace & quiet, no kids running around and through your site, no boat motors at all hours of the day & night, loud music/partying -- this might not be your type of place. Sites range from spread out to close & shady to full sun. Close to lake or further away. All types of watercraft allowed & there are several boat launches in the park. After I got over my horror at seeing 8 tents, 2 rv's, 10 trucks, and 4 boats/ trailers spread over 3 sites ( not to mention the dozen easy-ups!)--we had a great time! Lake is nice, everyone is friendly, no public drunks that I saw, and no problem with my 5 month old puppy being off- leash. We will definitely go again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Big Creek Resort and Marina Campground
Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
April 2009
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
We've been here twice, and it is enjoyable. If you are a tenter it can get really hot in the summer unless you camp down on the lake where you get a really nice breeze. Really good park if you want to bring horses. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$16
This park was very clean and well shaded. It had some of the cleanest restrooms I have seen in this area. The marina has a full store with all the fishing, camping, and recreation items you need for sale. I bought groceries there often as it was more convenient than going to town. Ice was very reasonable. They have docks for your boat or a beach you can park it at. Swimming on the beach was great. The water was perfect. The only downfall was lack of sand for the beach. I was told that was due to the flooding in June. I highly recommend this park. It is on "Corp. of Engineers" owned property but is privately run. This gives you opportunities to enjoy yourself more. We could drink at our site or at the beach. Noise was kept to a minimum. The owners always checked in to see how we were doing. I loved it there and will return as soon as I can. Maybe next time, in one of the cabins. They were booked when I was there. We camped here in a Tent.
Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   9   9   9   9   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
Similar to previous reviews, very pleasant, quiet, relatively well maintained, well laid out park. Very helpful park personnel, good room between spaces with privacy further provided by thick underbrush. Our space was paved, but narrow and short, barely room for our 27’ trailer and tow vehicle; also paving was in poor condition. Our space was level left to right, but slanted down front to back. Lots of shade in Post Oak loop (had to trim to keep wind from scraping limbs against RV at night), but not much shade in group trailer loop. Lake was very low during our visit and so hike to lake was long. Looks like good canoeing and kayaking up Yegua creek when water higher (canoes and kayaks rented in park). Over the air TV provided one local station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$16
Nice SP with several different trailer sections. Sites are not paved and most are not very deep. We have a 40' FW. Lake access is short walk from many spaces. We stayed in spot #4 with distant view of lake and only 30A service. Watch for trees overhanging roads. Many deer and fawns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
Mostly treed sites; some equestrian sites available. Nice hiking/biking trails and well maintained restrooms. Fee does not include the daily use fee, which is waived with a state parks pass. We would return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Lake Somerville State Park Birch Creek Unit
Camp Information
Sites
193
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   8   8   10   9   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$12
Very nice COE park that was recently renovated. Easy sites to back in, with beautiful live oaks. Easy drive to Brenham for the Blue Bell Creamery tour and also close to the Antique Rose emporium. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$28
This is a large park. I would have rated it higher but some sites are too close, The back of your trailer is close to your neighbor's fire pit area. There are some good sites if you can pick. Nice winter camping, as not many people. Deer are everywhere. Lake is still low but it is pretty. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
Large park with well laid out sites, very clean, typical COE, lots of birds around the lake and very windy. Super quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Rocky Creek COE
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
April 2011
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   3   6   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Very nice lakefront site (#1). Park very friendly as many campers are here to fish and enjoy the lake. Restrooms and showers need updating. The park is closing May 1st, 2011 for renovation without a stated completion date. Rocky Creek COE is also closed for updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$16
The staff is very nice and the campground is free of trash. BUT and this is a big BUT, the place is full of grass burrs. I have dogs and the dogs can't even walk on the road because of the burrs. Hooking up utilities had my shoes/jeans covered in burrs. Even though we had paid for 10 days, we left after 2. I won't be back to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$9
Nice COE park scheduled for updates this winter. Restrooms were rustic but reasonable clean considering that and the shower was nice and warm. The best waterfront sites do not have electricity. We stayed 3 days at a waterfront site with electricity but with limited access to the water. We had hoped to be able to tie up our boat but there was too much tall, tall grass to do that so we had to launch every time we went out. Had luck catching catfish. The $9.00 rate is the half price senior federal pass rate. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for Yegua Creek COE
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com