220291 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby South Padre Island, Texas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
4.88 miles SW
19.69 miles SW
24.86 miles SW
26.95 miles NW
26.95 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
La Jaiba Seafood
0.13 miles SW
Jessie'S Cantina
0.17 miles NW
Amberjacks
0.46 miles S
Blackbeard'S - South Pad
0.52 miles NE
Andy Bowie Park
0.52 miles S
Scampi's
0.87 miles N
Jeremiah's
1.93 miles S
Sea Ranch
2.51 miles SE
Marcello'S Italian Rest
3.31 miles SW
Port Isabel Lighthouse
3.63 miles SW
Wal-Mart
Tx Hwy 100 & 48
10.28 miles SW
Texas
South Padre Island
Most Recently Reviewed
South Padre Island KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-10 03:17:19
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
South Padre Island, Texas
Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   4   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
We stayed here for 2 weeks which happened to be during spring break. This park is located away from the main activities. We could hear music until about 1:00 a.m. one time and on Easter weekend during the day for several hours. We didn't find that to be a problem. Getting into and out of the park is very tight. The spaces are close together but are level. If you can get site #1 or one on the other end you will have one open side which is nicer. The staff was very friendly but not very accommodating. We did ask about an empty space on the end but they said it was reserved although it wasn't used when we were there. We really liked the location for bike riding. The birding center is close with a nice boardwalk. The beach is just a short walk from the park and was very enjoyable. The Hilton Garden Inn is a short walk or bike ride. We had a good dinner and breakfast there. The park charges for Wi-Fi, but we were able to use the Convention Center's Wi-Fi across the street. There is a Farmer's Market on Sundays 11:00 to 1:00 about 3 miles north of the park which was great. We had a good time strolling the beach and drinking salty dogs made from the fresh grapefruits purchased at the farmer's market. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
The park is as described by most of the other reviewers. It's biggest negative is that the six month limit is an improper policy for a public facility with only 24 spaces. Allowing people to live here for six months at a time denies the rest of the public from utilizing a public facility. We stayed in the overflow at $15.00 per night with no hookups and were told that it would be at least another week before there was even a chance of anybody leaving, or it could be months. We will not come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2008
$15
We dry camped for our five night stay, which was fine for our needs on this visit. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Nice access to the beach and directly across the highway from the convention center. Do wish they would take the curves out of the entry and exit driveways, it's a curb scraper for long wheel base motor homes. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Andy Bowie County Park
Camp Information
Sites
534
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   5   5   7   7   7   5   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
Easy access to beach. Friendly staff and level spots with FHU. We plan on coming back in warmer weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Well organized for a very large county park. Only downer for the dog was the sand burrs in the grassy areas. BTW, dogs are allowed on the beach! This is a good park to be near all the action of South Padre Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
The area gets a 10 but the park needs some TLC. Check-in and site selection for a first time visitor is strange. The employees can't tell you anything about site sizes and some are really narrow, some really short and some are huge. We tried to stay for a longer period but they said our site was reserved. There were numerous empty sites but they didn't offer to let us move either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Isla Blanca Park
Camp Information
Sites
211
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   6   8   7   2   6   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$65
Superior park compared to other parks on the island. Be aware of many small close-to-neighbor sites and tight maneuvering to park at most sites. The motor home pull thru sites require unhitching the toad. Oversize gravel on many sites and prefab patio surfaces provided on premium sites. Extended grass area for pets, yet many grass burrs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$55
Over-priced for a run-down facility. Patio chairs very worn. Kitchen in commons area roped off; stacked with miscellaneous equipment. Rules not enforced, especially quiet time. An entirely different park in May and June. My review in February a year ago sang its praises! Staff good at cleaning bathrooms, but will drive by trash or a can left in a site. Sites are NOT cleaned up after someone leaves. Only one toilet for all the men in the park due to bathrooms being remodeled. We were not told this. We might have gone to Corpus Christi or Galveston if we knew this. They should have at least had porta potties by the pool. Wireless good after we finally connected; t took a day and a half to get on. Lots of channels for CATV. Sites waaay too close together; ridiculous! Can't keep windows open for ocean breeze because you hear all your neighbors. More pull-throughs should have the patios. If going, get the best sites looking out on the bay with chairs and decks and be self contained and closed up running your air conditioner to drown out the noise at night. Management responsive to my concerns, but they have a long way to go to merit what they charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$58
A bit KOA pricey, but your are paying and staying for the surroundings. The beautiful beach is close by within a nice walk. Staff is friendly and helpful. Spaces are tight but fit our needs for the few nights we stayed. Would recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for South Padre Island KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com