206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Canyonlands National Park, Utah (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Moab Rim Campark
(435)259-5002
0.82 miles SE
Quality Rv Service & Sup
1.27 miles NW
Dan O'Laurie Canyon Coun
1.74 miles NW
Ok Rv/Canyon Stables
(435)259-1400
3.12 miles SE
Arches National Park
7.41 miles NW
Utah
Canyonlands National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Squaw Flat / Needles Section (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-01-23 16:32:38
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Canyonlands National Park, Utah
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   5   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Regarding earlier comments, RT 211 is a typical canyon area entry road. it has some steeper sections, but is fully paved. We had no problem getting here in our 39' motorhome. We had a nice spot in front of a bluff with lots of separation. This is dry camping, no hook ups. There is a water station where we filled our tank. The campground loop has some ruts, but go slow and they are fine. It has great access to the needles section of Canyonlands NP. Bring a jeep or be prepared to hike to enjoy the Canyonlands. The lady is a bit flaky, but we got along just fine. Good Internet access at the camp store but not from your site. We would stay here again. Cash only, no credit cards. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
There are a few bumps in the campground, but they are no worse than the dozen or so cattle grates on the way to the Needles District. My Swarovski crystal collection survived just fine: and you know I can't leave home without that! There is some sugar sand around the dump station (gravel needed here), but the remainder of the place was fine. I thought $20/night was a little steep for a spot w/o hook-ups, even for a captured market, but it was nice to have a reservation instead of hoping for a walk-in site inside the park: a difficult proposition during peak season. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
In contrast to the earlier reviewer, we saw no trees that presented a hazard and the sand in the roads is only an inch or two deep, so it's probably a hazard after a heavy rain but not otherwise. Some sections of the campground loop road are badly rutted and impassible for a big rig, but OK for smaller campers. We had no trouble getting into our site with a 34-foot motorhome, although it was so narrow we had to part the bushes to open bin doors on one side. It was a charming spot with a picnic table and fire ring on a raised platform with a few juniper trees for partial shade, up against the slick rock with a dynamite expansive view. The campsites are separated by perhaps 100 feet and we saw neighbors only to one side (on the other side they were around a bend in the rock), so we had enough privacy to use our sun shower each day and save the $2.50/person shower fee (for a 5 minute shower you could pause). The rather crusty manager denied owning a rake that we could use to ease the rutted exit from the really, really narrow and lumpy dump site. We've heard that she frequently is quite a nasty person and it's wise to not antagonize her, but she was nice the two times we spoke. The little store serves breakfast, lunch, and snacks and stocks basic food items like milk and eggs plus canned and frozen food. The restroom was basic but fine. The only reason to stay here, of course, is for access to Canyonlands Needles district and we were glad that they are in business. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Canyonlands Needles Outpost (Privately Owned)
Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$7.5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$7.5
Rate reflects 50% Senior Pass discount. We have stayed at Squaw Flat many times and love the campground and the Needles section of the park. Some of the 26 sites are small and best suited for tents. Others, including 2 handicap sites, are long enough for practically any rig. As has been mentioned, a few sites have significant dips that require caution when backing in to avoid scraping. Sites are well separated from one another. The campground fills quickly during the spring and fall. No reservations. Overflow camping is allowed outside the park on BLM land. Water is available at the toilet facilities. Don't count on cell service, Wi-Fi, or over-the-air TV. This is a remote and beautiful area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
Beautiful, remote sites. No services, not even an electric outlet in the bathroom, so be prepared. No reservations, so only way to snag a site is to lay-up outside the park the day before and cruise around the loops at 8:30am. Loop B has smaller, closer together sites, but seem level. Loop A has the larger sites, but some, like ours slope up and had a big dip. Was a challenge not to rip off the back of the trailer, but once in, what a spot! Beautiful views and absolute peace. Ahhhhhhh. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
May 2010
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
This park is in the National Park system which is about 34 miles northwest of Moab. We were actually going to stay at Deadhorse State Park and couldn't get in and were redirected to this Park, what luck. While there is no power, water or dump come prepared its a great place to have access to the south rim trail, Shafer trail and many more 4WD roads. As far as the park there is ten spots and 1 and 10 are the only ones that are big rig friendly but what a neat place to stay, we were here three days. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com