206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Zion National Park, Utah (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.34 miles NW
10.34 miles NW
14.21 miles NE
15.62 miles SW
20.32 miles NW
24.05 miles NE
26.11 miles NW
29.95 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Zion National Park
1.94 miles NE
Zion'S Mukuntuweep Rv Park
5.83 miles NE
Utah
Zion National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Watchman Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-30 23:07:20
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Zion National Park, Utah
Camp Information
Sites
127
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$16
We loved it! The hosts were over the top helpful, the site were huge. With our Golden Pass (62+) we ended up paying $8 and what a value! Without the Golden Pass the park fee is required. There is a shuttle readily available to go through the canyon as you are not permitted to take personal motorized vehicles into the park. No showers available but that didn't bother us as we had our own. All-in-all a fabulous stop. Get there early in the day to get a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$9
This is a first come, first serve campsite right at the entrance to Zion NP. We initially wanted to stay at the sister site, Watchman, which has hookups, however we did not book early enough in advance and they were filled. South Campground however did not let us down, it was beautiful and just a short walk to the visitor center. Having everything we needed in our rig, dry camping was not an issue. Generators are allowed for 2 hours both morning and evenings, that makes for a quiet park. The dump station and clean water were easy to access, as were the restrooms, but no showers. The Park employees were both friendly and helpful. We wound up staying an extra day (3 days total) and were allowed to stay where we were parked, by just paying for and then adding a new space ticket ($9.00 using the senior pass). It does fill up fast, and as others have said: get here early as we saw many RV's in holding patterns looking for an empty spot. Some sites are sloped, so be sure to bring leveling blocks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
What a great campground. We really enjoyed it. Beautiful scenery, people were respectful and the trees kept things cooler. On the negative, the first come first served access makes it difficult and frustrating to actually get a spot. The place fills by 9 AM quite often. We stayed at Watchman for one night (could only get one night) and moved to South early the next morning. At 9 AM, only 3 spots had not yet been reserved. But we got a nice pull-through and generous sized site. It was a bit of walk to the Visitor's center to catch the bus, but not too bad. So we actually like South better than Watchman. This campground has it's own dump station and water spigot just outside the campground. I imagine anyone, camping or not, could use them. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for South Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
172
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   7   8   10   10   9   9   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$19
We stayed in the Watchman Campground 5 nights. We had a spacious, level site for our 30 foot RV. A sanitation station with water and a dump is at the entrance to the campground and is easy to access when checking in or out. Sites include electric hook ups. Dogs are welcome and must be on a leash at all times. Dogs are only allowed on the roads or on the Pa'rus trail. Dog boarding for overnight or just for the day is available at the Doggie Dude Ranch in Rockville (only about a 5 minute drive from the campground). Our dog loves it there during the day while we enjoy hiking the trails. The park in Springdale has a dog park across the river, too. Springdale is a full service community with lots of good restaurants within walking distance from the campground. Park Service employees were very friendly and helpful. Well worth $19 per night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
We had a riverfront site the first three nights, then a standard site for two more nights. Very clean campground and restrooms. Fire rings in each site. Most sites have shrubbery between them to offer some privacy. Easy walk to the Visitor Center, which is also stopping point for the in-park shuttle buses. In-town shuttle buses can be boarded just across the Virgin River pedestrian bridge adjacent to the Visitor Center. The only word of caution would be about low hanging branches in some of the sites. We were told the park's goal is to keep branches trimmed to about 12' above the ground, but some of the sites did not look like they fully meet that goal. Our coach is 12'-10" high so we pay close attention to height restrictions (so, no, we did not enter the park from the east via the tunnel!). There is a water fill and dump station after passing through the gate but before entering the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$9
I agree with the previous reviewer - as a CAMPSITE I would say it is just so-so. Some sites are level, some are not. Electric hookup only, and while the sites aren't terribly close to one another, neither are they as spaced as you will find in many BLM or NFS campgrounds. But as a PARK, Zion is certainly hard to beat, and the free shuttle (a 5-minute walk from our campsite) makes it very easy to reach the various hiking trails and scenic vistas in the park. If you enter or leave the park from the east, you will also encounter a $15 tunnel access fee, which covers 2 trips through the tunnel. And there is also a park entrance fee unless you have one of the various national park service passes. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Watchman Campground (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com