218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Zion National Park, Utah (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.34 miles NW
10.34 miles NW
14.21 miles NE
15.62 miles SW
20.32 miles NW
24.05 miles NE
26.11 miles NW
29.95 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Zion National Park
1.94 miles NE
Zion'S Mukuntuweep Rv Park
5.83 miles NE
Utah
Zion National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Watchman Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-08 16:36:25
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Zion National Park, Utah
Camp Information
Sites
127
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$16
It is a nice place in an amazing location, but it is only $2 less than Watchman which is close by, but they get so much more - including modern bathrooms and electrical hookups. The real problem is that there are no reservations, but this place is very popular, so weirdness happens - coming in after 10am? well, you will need to find something else, and then show up at South first thing in the morning to get a spot. This makes for a cumbersome first day or two. The hosts do everything to help, though. If it were me, I would up the prices at Watchman and put the money into the infrastructure at South. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$16
We loved it! The hosts were over the top helpful, the site were huge. With our Golden Pass (62+) we ended up paying $8 and what a value! Without the Golden Pass the park fee is required. There is a shuttle readily available to go through the canyon as you are not permitted to take personal motorized vehicles into the park. No showers available but that didn't bother us as we had our own. All-in-all a fabulous stop. Get there early in the day to get a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$9
This is a first come, first serve campsite right at the entrance to Zion NP. We initially wanted to stay at the sister site, Watchman, which has hookups, however we did not book early enough in advance and they were filled. South Campground however did not let us down, it was beautiful and just a short walk to the visitor center. Having everything we needed in our rig, dry camping was not an issue. Generators are allowed for 2 hours both morning and evenings, that makes for a quiet park. The dump station and clean water were easy to access, as were the restrooms, but no showers. The Park employees were both friendly and helpful. We wound up staying an extra day (3 days total) and were allowed to stay where we were parked, by just paying for and then adding a new space ticket ($9.00 using the senior pass). It does fill up fast, and as others have said: get here early as we saw many RV's in holding patterns looking for an empty spot. Some sites are sloped, so be sure to bring leveling blocks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for South Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
172
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   10   10   7   8   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
Nice NP campground – sites were far apart, with substantial foliage between each site to give privacy (we stayed at site B37). Road and site is paved. 30 amp power is available at each site. We tried to run the AC (it was 100 degrees in the afternoon in June) and our electric water heater simultaneously and blew the main circuit breaker in a panel not accessible to us – but a park volunteer reset the breaker. We switched to gas for the water heater and refrigerator and everything worked fine. Note that our AC lost ground over the afternoon - even starting it in the morning. Initially the RV was cooled down to 76 degrees, but it gradually crept up to 82 degrees by the evening because of the 100 degree heat. Your results may differ (our rig is 10 years old). Of course Wi-Fi is not available in the campground – it is also not offered in the Zion Visitor Center (some National Park Visitor centers offer this). AT&T cell voice connection is very weak – 1 bar or so. Various cell data symbols show up (E, G, 3G, 4G) from time-to-time, but I was never able to get data through any of these connections. The Brew Pub just outside the entrance to the park offers Wi-Fi. You can also ask the market next door how to get onto their Wi-Fi. If you plan to hike the Narrows, we recommend that you rent a set of canyoneering shoes, neopreme booties and a walking stick. We rented from the outfit just past the bridge into Springdale (next to the BrewPub) for $23. Other outfitters are available in Springdale and may be cheaper - we didn't check. Many people do the hike/wade in normal shoes/boots – but the rentals keep your feet warm and give you better footing. We hiked a little over two miles up the Narrows (three miles from the Temple of Sinawava shuttle stop). Dump station is convenient on the way out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
The sites are large and most are shaded. The bathrooms in the 'B' loop have been newly renovated and are nice and clean. The river was nice and clear and the water cool and refreshing. By the end of July it can get a bit muddy when the thunderstorms bring in the red silt. The only real negative is the lack of showers. After several days of hiking in near 100 degree temperature a shower is almost a necessity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$9
This campground inside Zion NP is clean and neat, with spacious level sites including a table and fire pit. We were happy we had reserved a spot because the campground was full the entire time we were here. There are some walk-in sites available, but they go early in the morning. Watchman is an easy stroll to the Visitor Center where you catch a shuttle to all stops up the canyon. What a great way to manage a very busy park. We hiked, we enjoyed the river that flows right by the campground, and we made a day trip to Bryce Canyon. It was so nice to be able to have a real campfire at night. The campground was quiet and the restrooms were very clean. There are no showers, but there is plenty of water available at several sites inside the campground. For a National Park, we were surprised how many long level sites there were to accommodate big rigs, in the A Loop, but the other loops didn't have so many. Ranger programs were available and interesting, and rangers were present and helpful throughout the park. There are several easy hikes, and lots of wildlife to observe, often up close. We would definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Watchman Campground (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com