214623 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Ascutney, Vermont (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
2.71 miles NE
10.68 miles SW
10.97 miles SW
14.28 miles SE
15.98 miles NE
19.07 miles SE
25.55 miles NW
26.05 miles SE
27.51 miles NE
28.02 miles NE
29.16 miles SW
35.40 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Constitution House
2.10 miles NE
Windsor Station
3.00 miles NE
Saint-Gaudens National
4.92 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
14 Bowen St
6.81 miles SE
Vermont Institute Of Natu
9.91 miles NW
Hartness House Inn
10.47 miles SW
Springfield Art And Hist
10.63 miles SW
The Woodstock Inn & Reso
12.38 miles NW
Wal-Mart
285 Plainfield Rd
13.17 miles NE
Woodstock Inn - Woodstock
13.21 miles NW
Bentley'S - Woodstock
13.26 miles NW
Woodstock Historical Soci
13.30 miles NW
Prince And The Pauper
13.32 miles NW
Simon Pearce
13.78 miles N
Suicide Six Ski Area
15.20 miles NW
Wtr Treat. Plnt (Loc Unk) ($5)
Lancaster
16.56 miles NE
Getty
I-89 X18
16.74 miles NE
Vermont
Ascutney
Most Recently Reviewed
Running Bear Camping Area
Latest Review Submited On
2013-08-09 15:01:23
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Ascutney, Vermont
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   6   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
A short distance off the highway and easy to navigate our 36 foot fifth wheel to the entrance. Easy check-in and a guide to get us to the generous pull through site. Cash or check only and WI-FI only available near the office. The staff was very helpfull. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Tried to get help with directions as most roads aren't big rig friendly. Ellen, one of the owners, claimed not to know how to tell us to get there. Finally told us which exit to take then failed to tell us that there are 2 right turns to get to the campground. Once we got on the correct road she was helpful with finding the entrance which is obscured until you are right on top of it. About 85% were permanent summer campers. Pull-throughs were long but to get to the hookups you had to get too close to the trees between the sites, all of the trees needed trimming. The campsites smelled like the sewer, we complained to the male owner who claimed it was the trees. ??? We had no phone service, nothing to do in the immediate area after the first day and would have left after the first night due to the smell, but we couldn't get a refund. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This is an average campground which, with a bit of work, could easily be above average. Biggest drawback to us is the distance to the bathhouse. Second drawback is road noise as the campground is squeezed in between the freeway high above, and the older highway right behind the pull through sites. Neither carry much traffic but otherwise the area is so quiet that passing cars seem louder than they are. A noise barrier behind the row of trees would be a definite plus. The campground is convenient for touring the central VT/NH area as it's right on the border. Bring cash as they don't take credit cards. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful, and that fact almost brings this campground up to a 7. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Getaway Mountain Campground
Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   2   10   1   7   8   2   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Nice location. There is a very steep driveway to get up but other then that it is okay to get through. Road is a bit bumpy but not bad. Had a big pull thru. Lots of seasonal people, but all very friendly. Well worth the stay. Nice area well worth the stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
There is a rather steep hill to climb to get to the office and another one to get to the campsites. After backing into our site, we decided we were not at all happy with this park so we pulled out and left. Even though other reviews indicate there is cable, the only cable TV you can get is if you contact the cable company and set it up for yourself. We could not get satellite reception either, but the road noise is the reason we left. Most of the short term sites back up to the interstate with only a narrow line of trees separating you. We really hate campgrounds with loud road noise. The exit road had a couple of narrow turns and the campgrounds look like they could have been better maintained. When we left, we were told that we would be charged for one night. That's OK with us and worth the extra money for peace and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
I have stayed at Running Bear many times over the past few years and let me tell you, this campground is by far the most exciting campground I've ever been to. Weekends are always filled with activities for my kids and myself alike. I have seen many live bands at the campground along with a hypnotist just a few weeks back. My kids especially love the snack shack, which serves cotton candy, popcorn, and fried dough. The owners are both very nice people and have worked magic on this campground. As for the comment below, the so called "waste wagon" is actually a brand new Phelps Honey Wagon which is used to pump RV campers not on full hook-up sites who stay for longer periods of time. Far more expensive and sanitary than the "vat" described below. This is a common practice at many campgrounds and is actually very convenient for people who can not manage to score a full hook-up site at a great campground. Trash was far from strewn across the campground, and if the flies are a problem, then you are probably in the dumpster yourself. The 5$ visitors fee is well worth it for a days worth of nonstop fun and entertainment. The live entertainment is far more than last explained. This campground has brought in many different live bands, including Nashville recording artist Tammy Jackson. The DJ is also very entertaining, taking requests while playing a wide variety of music from his laptop. Drinking is allowed at this campground, but what is camping without a few drinks? I noticed no unruly behavior during my stays at the campground. The dogs are always on leashes, and the the noise from the highway is obsolete. I felt very safe with my children at this campground, and you should too. Ten out of ten for the hard working family at Running Bear Camping Area. Also, don't let the disgruntled campers below fill you with false information and deprive you of a great time at a great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Running Bear Camping Area
Camp Information
Sites
16
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
We have camped here in a Pop Up. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice quiet campground with clean restrooms. Canoes can be rented at campground or booked with a local outfitter. Love the flying squirrels We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
This campground and most of the sites are right on the Connecticut River. We stayed one night on a rainy day on our way to northern Vermont right after the floods from Hurricane Irene that shut down much of the state. Nice campground but narrow road to get to the sites. We have a 25ft Fleetwood Pulse and we could fit in most sites but I would not want to drive down the narrow road with something bigger. No hookups but the sites are all shaded with a connecting trail on the cliff above the river. They do offer canoe trips from here where they will drop you off north of the campground and you paddle down and pull in at the campground. The staff was very nice and at the ranger station campers are welcome to enjoy their outside fireplace with a roaring fire and a cozy little room inside the building to meet others. Showers are extra but the restroom was old but very clean. It was not hard to get a site during the week during the fall on a rainy day but they do recommend getting reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com