218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Bedford, Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
15.52 miles NW
17.94 miles SW
18.70 miles S
20.08 miles SW
20.15 miles SE
21.17 miles SW
22.53 miles NE
22.93 miles N
27.80 miles SE
28.89 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
1126 E Lynchburg Salem Tnpk
1.51 miles SE
Virginia
Bedford
Most Recently Reviewed
Peaks of Otter Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-11 14:47:15
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Bedford, Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
3
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   6   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
It is what it is. Full hook-up sites at the Welcome Center. Advertizes one night only, however they asked us how many nights we wanted, so clearly more nights are available. Nice Welcome center. A bit expensive for what you get, but we would stay here again if we needed FHU. Can dry camp for $10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
The Bedford VA Visitors Center is located at the same place as the National D-Day Memorial (www.dday.org) - the Memorial is on a hilltop directly behind the visitor's center. The visitor's center was kind enough to install 3 RV hook-ups (w/e/sewer) in their side parking lot. Very good spots other than they are slightly sloped. Good water pressure, great power stability, and Wi-Fi from the center is included. At only $25 a night - great! While they do advertise only one night, ask - you may be able to stay longer if there's no events happening. There's also an elementary school across from the RV spots with a walking track! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Great place for an overnight while viewing the memorial. The staff was very nice and the memorial was very impressive. Bring some leveling blocks. The lady at the desk said the RV sites were an after thought, and they are not too level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Bedford, VA Visitor's Center Campground
Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   7   4   6   9   8   3   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  no  question  yes  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$16
Flush toilets and a dump station are the only facilities in this no-hookups National Park campground. Most sites are not level and very few could accommodate our 30 foot trailer. Luckily, we arrived on a Sunday when only a few campers were present and found a pull-through that was reasonably level. Many sites are reservable but unless you know in advance which site is suitable for your needs, I would forgo reservations. The campground is heavily wooded and hilly. A road leading onto the Parkway lines the campground and you can hear the cars go by. On many of the sites, the picnic table and fire ring is either up or down a steep incline from your site. On the plus side, we saw deer walking through the campground and the Peaks of Otter Restaurant is close by which offers a Sunday buffet. We came for the buffet and while it was good, it was not exceptional. We much preferred other Blue Ridge campgrounds, i.e., Mt. Pisgah and Linville Falls, over Peaks of Otter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$8
We stayed here two nights in small fifth wheel. The sites are very small and very old and surface is deteriorated. Bathroom has NO LIGHTS and we had to go up the hill through other campsites to get to it or walk a mile around on the road. Very shady and damp. This campground needs to be remodeled. It rained and was foggy on the Blue Ridge Parkway, so we left. About 20 miles to Roanoke, VA. We would not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$8
Our $8 rate is based on the senior pass holder rate for National Parks, non-senior rate is $16. We camp in a 20' Class "B" so if you're the owner of a 40' class "A" this review will probably not be of any use to you. There was an abundance of sites available when we pulled in here in October, almost all the sites on loop "T" were pull through but almost none of them were level. With our short little 20 footer I was able to find a spot that was almost level and we could live with. Our picnic table and fire ring were down the hill from the site with no steps and the ground and leaves were wet so we did not try to use it, some of the sites had uphill walks to their tables almost none of the sites had all the amenities on the same level as the rigs. The bath house was no where in site from our parking spot so we did not use it and can't rate it. All in all we found it a very pleasant camping experience and enjoyed the break from wallet busting RV park rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Peaks of Otter Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com