214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Chincoteague, Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.49 miles N
12.73 miles NW
22.37 miles NW
22.52 miles N
22.57 miles NW
26.64 miles SW
27.98 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Don'S Seafood - Chincot
6.94 miles NE
The Garden And The Sea I
8.89 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
2132 Old Snow Hill Rd
15.57 miles NW
Virginia
Chincoteague
Most Recently Reviewed
Tom's Cove Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-27 02:12:56
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Chincoteague, Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
550
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   8   8   7   7   3   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$52
Arrived during a monsoon rain storm, lots of flooding. However, the staff was more then accommodating during our arrival. Checked in and had no issue parking on our assigned site. As anyone who has stayed at Chincoteague knows it can be buggy, but right after a rain storm they swarmed so setup was done as quickly as possible. There is a good amount of seasonal sites on the property. The store had a lot of typical camping stuff, was disappointed that there was no campground specific merchandise (shirts, coozies, etc). We like to collect things from the various campgrounds we visit. Location could not be better on the island as it close to all of the local attractions. Was very cool to see the Assateague Lighthouse light scanning the night sky from your campsite. Would visit Maddox Campground again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Very nice campground. No problem from making reservations to check in. Office staff was very friendly. Park was very clean; trash pickup four times a day. Quiet at night. Close to National Park . We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
This is an older campground close to the national seashore. The website states that there is cable hook ups, but it is only at the seasonal sites, no Wi-Fi. Our site was fairly level pull through in the G section. Staff was friendly in the office and trash is picked up a couple times a day. The facilities were old, but clean. This seems to be the case with all the campgrounds on Chincoteague. The bug guy comes to spray nightly. I would probably try to stay elsewhere if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Maddox Family Campground
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   8   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
A nice campground located near the Asseteague Preserve so you can see the wild ponies. The management had information on a boat trip and that was fun although we did not see ponies. We had a level campsite. It seems that many of the rigs are here permanently but it does not cause a problem. It is quiet and well maintained. They provide cable. Before the government shutdown we did drive in the Preserve and it was fun being on the Atlantic Ocean. We would stay here again and recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
Nice shady campground. Sand roads and grass and sand sites. There's a bunch of long term vacation RVs at this park but they don't detract from the area. They have Wi-Fi available for $3/day but Verizon MiFi works well here. No bugs in Oct and we'd probably stay here again. We were the only occupied RV in the CG when we stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Nice family owned park. Rate reflects off season. The pull-throughs are pretty tight and the side to side are very close as well. Large portion of the park are seasonals. It was not very full when we were there, so none of that mattered, but can imagine it would be difficult to get in and out of when it was full. Very nice and helpful staff, easy to get to the NWR, nice seafood market next door. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Pine Grove Campground and Waterfowl Park
Camp Information
Sites
920
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$53



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   7   5   9   9   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$53
This is a huge park. Many of the sites are occupied by seasonal people. Many golf carts cruise the park. Our site which was level grass was one row from the water front sites but we still had a water view from the front of our coach. Our site had cable and water connections on the opposite side of the coach from the sewer and electric hookups, which was strange. We needed two water hoses to reach the faucet and our coax cable would not reach the cable hookup but the office loaned us a second coax cable. They were having cable problems so the cable wasn't very good and we resorted to using our antenna which gave us several channels. They do have Wi Fi which is acceptable. There is a nice fishing pier. We didn't use the pool. the staff was friendly and helpful. We liked the park and would recommend it to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$57
We stayed here for 9 nights during pony penning week. We made our reservation back in April and requested a waterfront (Assateague Channel) site. We arrived around 9:00 in the morning (check-in is anytime after 8:00 AM with no extra fee for early check-in) on a Friday and were assigned a waterfront site perfectly sized for our rig. The campground staff (both check-in and camp store) were very helpful and friendly. We backed in with no problem and were greeted with an awesome view of the lighthouse and a band of ponies the area is famous for grazing out on the marsh. The waterfront sites have 50 amp electric service and good water pressure, but they do not have sewer. We were a little bummed about that since we were staying 9 nights, but we made it work, and honestly the view was worth the inconvenience (purchased one of the famous blue totes at the camp store, reasonably priced I might add). Reading some of the other reviews, it seems many did not care for the seasonal campers, but honestly we didn’t see anything terribly run down and the seasonal sites are pretty well segregated from the nightly sites. I also saw some negative comments about Tom’s Cove not accepting credit cards or on-line reservations, but I count that as part of the charm of the place and in keeping with the quirkiness (in a good way) of the rest of Chincoteague Island. My only complaint is with the excessive number of golf carts in the park. Being in a waterfront site, I suppose there were maybe a few more carts “cruising” the waterfront than there were in the rest of the park, but it seemed excessive to us. The rules also state that you must have a drivers license to operate a golf cart, but I know there were underage kids driving them. We saw one group pulling wheelies with their golf cart! Maybe a bit more enforcement is in order. Pros: friendly helpful staff, very nice fishing piers, nice clubhouse, nice pool (we did not use), great view of the pony swim, clean restrooms and showers, Mr. Whippy ice cream truck comes thru the park in the evening. Nice sized sites, clean dump station area, nice mix of open and shaded sites, well stocked camp store Cons: too many golf carts and lack of operator rules enforcement, no fire rings. We would definitely stay here again (next year). The $57 rate includes tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
Our site (P-68) had a fabulous view of the bay. it was awesome!! The signage to the park was very good. The check in staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. The interior roads are gravel and level. Our site was fairly level, grass and dirt, pull thru and had reasonable space between sites. There are several seasonal campers but we were in the transient part of the park so the clutter of the seasonal campers did not effect us. Our site had no trees so we had no trouble using our roof mounted satellite. Also the park had cable with a handful of channels. Our Verizon cell signal was excellent. We were close enough to the Club House so we were able to get a reasonable wifi signal from our motorhome. Also, they offered a military discount which is always heart warming to know people show their appreciation to our military. If we were back in this area we would definitely return if we could get the same beautiful view from our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Tom's Cove Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com