214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Clifton Forge, Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
18.25 miles SE
20.91 miles E
21.96 miles SE
22.61 miles N
-Other Nearby Points-
The Homestead Resort
11.86 miles N
The Homestead Ski Area
11.89 miles N
Virginia
Clifton Forge
Most Recently Reviewed
The Buckhorne Country Store and Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-11-06 02:39:40
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Clifton Forge, Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   9   9   9   5   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
We stayed in Whispering Pines campground. The sites are gravel bordered by wood, and all back-in. The park was immaculate and the campground host was friendly and helpful. All of the staff members we encountered at registration and at the lake were friendly and helpful. We had fun kayaking at the lake and enjoyed our stay. We have already made our reservation for our next stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
We stayed in Whispering Pines, campground D. This is a new loop with large level, gravel back in sites (at an angle) and a new very nice very clean bathhouse. Sites are water and electric along Wilson Creek. There is no over the air TV. We had Verizon cell. This campground is about 3 miles from the interstate, and another 3 or 4 miles to the park office. The park itself has a beautiful lake and great walking trails. With a reservation you don't have to drive all the way to the office. Although expensive for one night (because of the $5 reservation fee, even for walk in), it is a nice place to stop. Our rate was with the reservation fee, not paying for any pets ($5 each/night), and with a VA State Park pass 10% discount. This campground used to be a private park, which was purchased by the state, leveled and made into very nice sites. We would stay here again. You most likely would need a reservation on the weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Nice area. There was a lot of trail closure due to a severe storm that went through earlier in the month. Sites are nicely spaced but far from level. Some are better than other. No cell coverage no wifi. Bathrooms are dated and ok. They are cleaned but are just old. Park personnel are very helpful. Lake is nice swimming area is nice. The bridge into one of the loops is a little narrow and as no guardrails so it has a high creepy factor but there's enough room. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Douthat State Park
Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   4   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
Rate shown includes 15% Escapees RV Club discount. Nice wooded campground with a small well stocked store and small restaurant. Cable, water, and power are very good. Easy access from I-64 on route to state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
Owners are good folk and it is a very family friendly park. Although probably 50% of the sites are taken by long term residents, all of them were friendly and outgoing. The small general store is pretty well stocked and there is actually a beauty shop! They sell Hershey ice cream and it's a popular hot spot for the locals. (the ice cream is great btw). Although we had some very heavy rain, the gravel is thick enough that there were only a few mud holes. Other reviews noted that the water is very high in iron and sulfur, so we filled the fresh water tank before we arrived. The sites can be tight for long rigs. We were able to get our 40' into a spot though. The Wi-Fi signal is iffy and drops frequently so we used our Verizon connection. It's hard to say negative things about this place. Yes, it needs work. Yes, the water is terrible. The sites can be tight, but it is a very friendly park and that counts for a lot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
We stayed one night. Next time will spend extra $ and 5 more miles to stay at State Park up the road. The bathroom was clean, but rustic and OK if you don't mind a sulfur water shower. We got sick from drinking the well water. Hosts were very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for The Buckhorne Country Store and Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com