217805 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Shenandoah National Park, Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
11.03 miles SE
11.56 miles NW
11.82 miles SW
12.01 miles NW
14.42 miles NE
19.76 miles SW
20.67 miles SE
23.58 miles NE
24.96 miles NW
25.49 miles S
26.68 miles NE
27.32 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Luray Caverns
0.95 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
1036 Us Hwy 211 W
2.00 miles SW
Shenandoah National Park
6.10 miles E
Shenandoah Caverns
11.06 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
I-81 Exit 283
461 W Reservoir Rd
14.82 miles NW
Spring House Tavern
14.99 miles NW
Virginia
Shenandoah National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Mathews Arm Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2013-06-13 15:33:39
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Shenandoah National Park, Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
119
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   9   9   8   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
What a wonderful experience. This campground and national park turned out to be exactly what we look for when we head out to the great outdoors. Places like this bring out the young Boy Scout in me from long ago. The majority of the campers this weekend were young, outdoorsy tent-campers who spent the majority of the day exploring and hiking the trails of the park. Some people may be content to spend the majority of their stay in the campground, attached to their RV umbilical, but we feel that doing so misses the whole purpose of this park. The campground was quiet, serene, peaceful, and occasionally roamed by wildlife. While there are no hookups, no cable, no over-the-air TV, and we never once missed them. There is so much to get out and explore, and we were able to only scratch the surface during our short weekend stay. As far as the sites themselves, our site (E196) was remarkably level, but unfortunately not all are. It appeared that the sites in loops G, H, and I were less level than others. I was impressed with the camp store and wayside, both within walking distance of the campground. The rangers and other workers in the park are very upbeat, friendly, and professional. What’s not to like? We cannot wait to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
If you can live without all the hookups this is a great place! We came here after bailing on our reservation at Jellystone in Luray. Plenty of shade and space for the kids. Multiple hikes with fantastic views and waterfalls nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
Such a beautiful area and decent, natural campground. By natural, there are no hookups, just trees, birds, deer, owls and other wildlife to observe. Our site in the E loop was very level. As mentioned previously, not all sites are level, but all appear to be huge and offer privacy if that is important to you. There is a big choice of trails along with camp store, wayside and visitors center. Staff was friendly and helpful. The park was full and quiet for opening weekend except for the two young people with the car doors opened playing the radio too loud. Everyone else was respectful. We enjoyed all this park had to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Big Meadows Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
Thirty paved sites, tables, fire pits/grills. Golden Age Passport give 1/2 off price. No Reservations. First come sites, but other than holidays, you should be able to get a site if you arrive between Sunday PM and Thursday AM. Dumpster, and one water spigot available near site 4. Restrooms have hot water, but no showers. Location: N38° 26.3796'; W78° 28.7078' Great visit. Spent 13 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
We stayed at the Lewis Mtn campground for only one night. This location has both cabins and a small campground. If your looking for rustic this is the place. No hook-ups or dump station, just peace and quiet. The sites are all rather small, catering to tents and the smallest of trailers. Most sites are fairly close together, with not much understory between them. Our site was in the middle of the loop, but we did have some privacy due to the fact we had no neighbors. Camp host was very friendy and a wealth of information. Wildlife galore in all areas surrounding the campground. Saw two bear, so keep you foodstuff stowed away. Big Meadows complex is only 5 miles away so food and fuel are close by. Overall a great little campground. Almost forgot to mention, you cannot reserve a site here, FCFS (First Come, First Served). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
Lewis Mtn. is the smallest of the campgrounds on Skyline Drive, and caters to tent campers and hikers. Very friendly hosts who kept each site tidy. We spent one night here, then moved into one of their heated cabins later in the week when the weather turned nasty. It's a good choice if Big Meadow is unavailable. We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Lewis Mountain Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
202
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   6   10   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$15
Another wonderful campground in a beautiful national park! Much has been written already about this campground, so my comments will focus on our particular campsite, which was E118. This campsite was the only reservable big-rig capable site available when I made our reservations. We discovered why when we got there (I wish I had read more of the reviews, as the issues with this site are covered by at least one other reviewer). To cut to the chase, there isn't a level spot anywhere on this site. It's not just a little out of level, but a lot! I used every 2X10, every Lynx leveler, and every inch of travel of the hydraulic jacks we had to level up our 40ft motorhome, but I still could not get it level front to back. The bottom edge of our front bumper was at least 2.5 ft off the deck. The last step out of the motorhome was a doozy! I wish I could post a photo here because our motorhome looks like a 737 rotating for takeoff. I was able to get it level enough that it wasn't uncomfortable, and we were only going to be there two nights, so we stayed. Otherwise, I would have moved somewhere else, even if it meant leaving the campground altogether. In my opinion, E118 is not a suitable campsite for a tent or a large TT or MH, and Recreation.gov should not list this particular site as big-rig friendly . Perhaps a pop-up or a small TT would work better. Regardless, I still give the campground a very high rating because it is such a wonderful place overall. We will be back again, again, and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Very beautiful. So nice to be where there is little commercialism. Good space between sights. Saw a bear. Had a view of the valley. Well stocked camp store within a half mile. Easy to walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
This is an excellent park, well-maintained and peaceful. The sites all have paved parking areas and grassy spots for tables, tents, fires, etc. The showers are a long walk or a short drive and are $1 for 5 minutes (which felt more like 3 minutes) but the cost of getting water up the mountain and dealing with waste water is expensive. The dumpsters were emptied regularly, and the hosts were friendly and knowledgeable. We were there over Columbus Day weekend and the weather was perfect; the campground was full both Friday and Saturday nights, so book early for busy weekends. The only point lost is for our particular site (E118); it was spacious but the most unlevel site we have ever dealt with. It sloped both side-to-side and downward; we did not have enough leveling blocks to make it level and we carry PLENTY of blocks. It was just a function of the location of our site; other sites looked fine. Overall a great campground; we will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Loft Mountain Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
166
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   2   8   6   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
Lots of sites. Some you must reserve and other that are first come. One half price with Golden Age Passport. Nice restrooms, no showers, but dump/water station. Spent six days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
This park was nice because nobody was ther;, if this park was full which on weekends it is, I think you would feel like you were camped on top of each other. The sites are somewhat side by side with no barriers in between. We would stay here again outside of the peak season. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We found it busy, crowded, cramped, and loud! We will not return here! There are better choices to camp in Shenandoah. Sites are on top of each other; no privacy at all. Forget staying here on a holiday weekend-folks cruise the campground all night long looking for an open spot. We wish they would have posted a "No Vacancy" sign at the ranger station. We got no sleep here at all between the cruisers, barking dogs, and drunken yahoos next door. We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Mathews Arm Campground (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com