206553 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Wytheville, Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
15.15 miles SE
18.95 miles NE
20.70 miles SW
21.69 miles SE
23.15 miles SE
24.86 miles SW
24.95 miles NE
26.91 miles NW
28.24 miles SW
28.48 miles SW
29.43 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
345 Commonwealth Dr
1.36 miles NW
Log House
1.36 miles NE
76 Travel Ctr
I-77 X41
1.85 miles NE
Flying J
I-77 X80
3.58 miles E
Big Walker Mountain - App
7.68 miles NE
Max Meadows (Wytheville)
11.41 miles E
Virginia
Wytheville
Most Recently Reviewed
Fort Chiswell RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-30 21:25:11
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Wytheville, Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
October 2011
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   6   6   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Beautiful campground but has a few problems. I had to ask to get information on different things like internet. Most camps explain these things. The site we had required us to drive under a big tree. I like shade, but having the large branches scrape over the top of the RV was a bit worrying. The site was on grass, which was OK since it was dry, but could be difficult if wet. In the morning I looked to see if there was a shower/bathrooms since that wasn't mentioned. It appears they were here, but they were padlocked! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Stayed overnight. We came in late and left early the next morning. It seemed to be a fairly nice park from what we could see. The only problem we had was we share the water spigot with the neighboring site which was empty thank goodness. Luckily I had 2 water hoses I could put together to reach it. But someone in the middle of the night turned it off not sure why never had that happen before. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
The owners were very friendly and very eager to please. Not having access to our cell phone was a major problem. Had to drive to Wal-Mart to use the cell phone. We were going to stay for the summer but it was too primitive for us. Otherwise a nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Deer Trail Park Campground
Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   8   10   9   9   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$36
Great overnight right off of I-77 and I- 81. Overnight 50 amp spots are concrete. Very quiet and nice area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$33
Good overnight park at I-81 and I-77 junction. Good utilities, pretty level gravel pads, open year round, quiet. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$33
Great place for an over night stay. Convenient to 77 and we always use this park on our way to Florida. Nice level lots and we never unhook the rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Fort Chiswell RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is a large park in an open area adjacent to the interstate, but shielded from most noise by trees. Easy access, although a fairly long driveway with ups/downs to enter. Interior roads and sites are pull thru gravel, mostly level. Hookups are OK, except the water hookup is located well behind and will require an extra hose. No trees to speak of, so clear shot to satellite. Free cable was fair, and WiFi worked well. Verizon cell and data were strong. Very friendly and helpful staff, with escort to your site. A nearby Flying J, but extremely heavy truck traffic makes it difficult to access. All in all a nice stay, nothing special but comfortable and reasonably priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Nice folks, beautiful park. Only negatives involve showers. Showers not as clean as I would have liked. Real complaint is the push valve shower control. No adjustment for temperature or flow and only stays on for ten seconds until you have to push the button again. What kind of shower is that, especially given the price of the campsite? Campground and owners are so nice, this is something they should address if they want repeat business. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
We really enjoyed staying at this park. The only thing it lacks is a laundry room (which is coming) and more conveniently-placed utilities. Sites are in a meadow, with beautiful views of mountains. The creek is clear and beautiful and wonderful to swim in. Deer come out in the evening and you can see otters and ducks down at the creek. The managers are genuinely dedicated to making your stay a pleasant one. Small trees have been planted, so there will be shade in the future. The bathhouse is modern and very clean. Showers are on a timer, however; you have to keep pushing a button and you only get 7-8 seconds of shower at a time. There is a lot of highway noise, but it didn't bother us at night. No cable but we pulled in several channels with the antenna. Wi-fi was not always available. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. This park will be a gem when the improvements are finished. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Pioneer Village Campground
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
Stony Fork Campground is the perfect place to go for quiet and solitude! No DTV signal, but cell reception is good. Very generous sized sites, beautifully shaded, showers clean, camp hosts very helpful and polite. Stream winds through, but this is a flash flood area- sign posted at entrance. I highly recommend this campground for peace, quiet, and solitude. It's so beautiful and convenient to the interstate. Downtown Wytheville is only 9 miles away; all services available in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
We stayed here for one night so we booked the campground's one pull-thru site (#007 or just 7) online. When we got there Tuesday afternoon there were only 6 other campers in the campground. Next time I think we'd take our chances on registering at the campground and save the $9 online registration fee. This park doesn't seem to be used much, but all the roads and sites were paved. Some sites are very level and other will need some blocks. The stream is stocked with trout, and some sites are right next to the water. The sites are very long and some very wide all with tables, fire rings and hanging poles. We would stay here again and for a longer time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
For a national park campground, it was surprisingly nice. We stayed on a weekday and it was empty. While limited on the number of sites with water and electricity for hook up, we were able to find one without a problem, and it was level, too! The campground was nice and bathrooms were small but clean enough. The trees and forest were amazing. The dump station was easy in/out for a larger motorhome. Definitely a great place to say. Stream was very low in water so fishing was not good. Very close to I-77 also. Great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Stony Fork Campground
Camp Information
Sites
115
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   4   9   7   7   9   7   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
What to say, first we reserved two sites next to each other so we could camp awning to awning. We were given site numbers with our reservations. When we got there, the campground had four units in it but our site was given away. So they stuck us in two tight sites that were all dirt. WiFi dropped out all the time and some of the staff was rude and others were great. Luck of the draw depending on your need. Playground for the grand kids was just OK. They did like the sluice but that is 7-10 dollars a bag so keep on adding is in place again. The arcade was nice since it rained all weekend and we had the only kids. The batting cage was a value the rest the normal ripoff. Will not stay there again but it is a fine place for an overnight if you are traveling thru. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
They are apparently under new ownership as evidenced by all their PR materials. This place has fallen considerably since the last time we stayed here 2 years ago. Then the grounds were immaculate and the bathrooms spotless. This year, there was bare ground where beautiful landscaping/flowers once were. The bathrooms and showers were absolutely filthy. Granted we stayed here on 7/6, the Saturday after the 4th, so it was very busy. You had your typical "holiday" campers in the park with little to no respect for other people's sites. We never hold that against a campground as they can't control people's manners/etc. What we do hold campground's accountable for is cleanliness. When we checked in I counted 4 staff members sitting around a desk off to the side eating while a young male sat next to the check-in counter eating out of a styrofoam take out container using a cooler or something as a table. The young lady checked us in quickly and was nice enough. I remarked to my wife that there was plenty of help in the park, maybe for the holiday occupancy pressure. Throughout the evening we watched them ride around on golf carts and a John Deere Gator, assuming they were really taking care of the facilities. That was until we walked into the bathrooms. The upper bathhouse was deplorable according to my wife as she took our daughter up there. We assumed that it was because of it being near the tents and there being a LARGE group of kids (probably late teens/early 20's) sleeping in tents operating out of a box trailer and it being nearly impossible to keep on top of it. The next morning, however, we went to the bathhouse connected to the office. It was deplorable as well. Cigarette butts on the floor, toilet paper on the floor, the trashcan overflowing and used washrags left on the floor of the shower stalls. They also apparently maintain their once a day cleaning schedule. This obviously works in the off season, but when you have pressure of a holiday weekend, you need to clean more often. They had plenty of people in KOA uniforms standing/riding around; apparently none of them were the cleaning staff. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This park is off the highway so it is nice and quiet. The sites are gravel with full hookups, a picnic table and cable TV. There is a pool and a Family Run Center for kids. The office building includes a store, TV room, a laundry room and a bath house. The park is an older KOA so for the $40 rate including tax and using our KOA Camp Card for a 30 amp site it is a little overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Wytheville KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com