219079 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Ashford, Washington (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.45 miles SW
15.55 miles SE
16.20 miles SE
16.37 miles SW
19.20 miles NW
25.17 miles NW
25.92 miles NW
27.71 miles NW
29.11 miles N
-Other Nearby Points-
Ashford
2.92 miles NW
Longmire Mineral Springs 77
7.62 miles E
Randle
14.29 miles S
Randle
14.29 miles S
Shady Firs Rv
(360)497-6108
14.64 miles SE
Rpi- Wa Maple Grove Resort (K/M) 175 Sr 131 Randle
14.67 miles S
Aor Rod Rpip C2C K/M Randle Wa - Maple Grove Resort
15.87 miles SE
AOR1829
16.01 miles SE
Rpi- Wa Cascade Peaks Rv Resort & Cg 11519 Us Hwy 12 Randle
16.87 miles SE
AOR2452
16.88 miles SE
Washington
Ashford
Most Recently Reviewed
Sahara Creek DNR Horse Camp
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-13 21:54:04
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Ashford, Washington
Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   10   6   8   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$46
This is a very treeful park - dare I say there may be too many, in fact. There was rain on and off and it never stopped dripping from the trees. The host was a lovely man. It's easy to drive past the entrance - i.e., poorly signed. Handy for Mount Rainier - now we know why it's called that, ho ho. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
The location of this park on the western side of Mt. Rainier National Park is perfect for exploring the park. The campground is small with only 16 sites and has numerous cabins scattered throughout. Most sites are located under large trees making it very shaded and cool. Sites have little privacy, but most are deep. We had no trouble backing into our site. One small common enclosed area for the restroom, shower, and laundry. New owners took over in April and they are working on improvements. We would return here when we visit the park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Quietish site 50 yards off main road. Narrow sites with great difficulty backing into them due to narrow roads and big trees. Nicely positioned for Mt Ranier N.P. WiFi exists but only really useable outside office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Mounthaven Resort
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$0
$0 per night was for a primitive site (vault toilets, scattered water faucets, no dump station, no trash pickup/pack it out) with a picnic table and fire ring. You do have to have the WA State Discover pass—$30 to $35 depending on where you purchase it—in order to use the sites. All sites are level gravel shaded by huge trees. We used this lovely campground as our base to visit Mt. Rainier. We stopped in Yelm to do our major shopping as there are slim pickings in the small quaint towns near Mt. Rainier. During our week-long stay the campground was open and quiet during the week and became bustling busy with horses and their owners over the weekend, but it was wonderful to hear the horses whinnying instead of vehicle traffic noise. The scenic roadways have awesome vistas and pull-offs to access its hundreds of miles of trails. AT&T cell service was non-existent. Our Millenicom jetpack was getting two bars of 3G which was good enough for some Internet access. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$1
After doing some research for places that could accommodate a larger RV outside the west entrance of Mt. Rainier Natl. Park near Ashford we found very little available. A nearby RV park (Monthaven) is the only place available that has hook-ups but their web site basically read as though RV'rs and their guests are not welcome so we remembered the Sahara Creek DNR Horse camp which is located about 8 miles outside the park entrance. Sahara Creek (Nicholson) horse camp is in a beautiful wooded setting. Most sites are very large and roomy pull throughs that would accommodate the longest RV and a trailer or Toad with ease. Most of the sites have picnic tables and fire grates. There is a central grassy area that features,of all things, horse shoe pits for playing a round of horse shoes (bring your own shoes) and a building that houses a dozen or more picnic tables for group gatherings under cover when the weather isn't so good. There are two water spigots available and pit toilets. There is no garbage service so pack out what you bring in please. On busy weekends or holidays the park is usually packed with horse trailers and riders as the campground serves a large system of horse trails. During the off seasons and mid week the campground can be all but deserted. We had the whole place nearly to ourselves for the 3 days we stayed here. As it is a horse camp you can expect to find some horse fritters, mule muffins, you know horse crap around the area although most of the horse people are good about cleaning up after their animals. There is no daily charge for using the campground however a Washington State Discover Pass is required. Passes can be obtained at Walmart, sporting goods stores or almost anywhere fishing and hunting licenses are sold for $35 for a yearly pass or $11 for daily passes. Passes can also be bought online. If you don't need hookups and need a place to park a big rig while you explore the area and or Mt Rainier Natl. Park, or just need a place to pull in for a night, this park is an awesome alternative to the local nu-hospitable and expensive RV park. We loved our stay and will be back again. Price of $1 is because you can't enter zero in the field. There is no fee other than the above stated passes. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com