214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Republic, Washington (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
26.54 miles NE
27.82 miles N
28.93 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Republic
3.61 miles SW
Washington
Republic
Most Recently Reviewed
Winchester RV Park and Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-12 12:44:24
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Republic, Washington
Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
We've been coming here for 25 years and have up to 40 people in our group, so are a little jaded, and tend to overlook the fact that the place is getting a little run down due to aging owners. It is one of the very few places you can park your RV within feet of the waters edge. Nightly fees are very reasonable. The restrooms arent in the best condition, but if you gotta go, they work! Our kids grew up coming here, and now have their own RVs and still keep coming. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
I have been coming here for over 35 years now and have seen this "resort" deteriorate quite a bit. It is no longer the gem it once was. The docks are in poor shape, the boat launch is narrow with no dock and lots of weeds. The small bridge over the creek that once was the entry to the campground is now not capable of holding big RVs so a alternate entry was made through a field which is gravel but a bit rough. The park lacks the amenities that many people want but of which are of no use to us such as pools, playgrounds for the kids, etc. We use our own shower and bathroom and don't down grade a park because of theirs. What this park offers is friendly folks and huge sites that accommodate our 37' motorhome and our car and our bass boat all in one site with plenty of room to spare and all for one fee. There just isn't anywhere else on this lake (or many others for that matter) that will allow that for this price. For those reasons we put up with the old docks and continue to use this as our base when fishing the lake. We do wish that someone could infuse some money into this old favorite to bring it up to par. One note: we have always had 30amp power here, so don't know why the last reviewer said it only has 20amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
This is a family oriented campground, with tent villages and grouped RVs. Dogs were often on invisible "off leash" despite the rules. The goose droppings problem has not improved from former reviews. Docks were overgrown with grass, rotten, and dangerous to walk on for lack of maintenance. The restrooms and showers were so dirty we did not use them. Electric power was only 20 amps so we had to turn off the AC in order to use the microwave, etc. The only plus for this park was that it was on a lake with a pretty view. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Black Beach Resort
Camp Information
Sites
11
Date of Stay
July 2006
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$6
This a a wonderful little campground with fairly large spurs. It is listed under Coleville National Forest and is about 27 miles East of Republic. We're 35' and fit (site # 6) just fine and were able to T bone the jeep in front of the coach. You can hear traffic during the day but by 9pm we found it to be quiet so you can get a good nights sleep. There are huckleberries everywhere in this campground. We picked enough to make a sweetened puree to go on our pancakes the next morning. On the opposite side of the loop from the pay station is a small creek with lush vegetation. We didn't see a trash dumpster or a water spigot which didn't matter since we just needed a place to spend the night. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
I was surprised to see that I was the last - and only one - to have reviewed this park. I've downgraded my rating a bit since the last time we were there though. The region suffered a huge windstorm awhile ago and many large trees that provided much needed shade were felled by the event. Now most of the sites are in direct sun which can make for a hot stay in this part of Washington state. I don't know if the layout of the park has changed from the last time we were there but this time I noticed that a lot of the sites are little more than a gravel pad with a picnic table and they are quite close to one another so that you have absolutely no privacy from your neighbor. These sites do have full or partial hook-ups however. In order to have some shade we stayed in the loop without any hook-ups and found it to be quiet, cool and peaceful. Each evening deer browsed on the grassy area in the center of the loop. The best sites are for those in tents and they are situated on grassy knolls with views of Curlew Lake. We would stay here again because the lake is pretty and there aren't a lot of other options in this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$21
This is a delightful State Park in northeastern Washington. The campsites are spread out through a grassy area above the lake and are spaced far enough apart that you don't feel crowded. Our site was a nice pull through with shade - good to have in summer in eastern Washington! The walk-in tent sites looked really nice as they are well dispersed on the grassy slopes above the lake with many of them having direct access to the lake and beautiful views. There is a nice nature trail that winds among the hills and past a little pond and marsh area. The park seems little known and was not very crowded at all. There is reportedly good fishing for rainbow trout in early summer. The park is open April through September. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
June 2009
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
We hit this campground on the perfect weekend. We were almost the only people there and virtually had the sandy beach area and the lower end of the campground with it's own dock all to ourselves! It was fabulous! Good sized lake and great spot to go if you have kids. Our kids played in the sandy area all day, the husbands fished, wives could sit in the sun and keep an eye on everyone. The playground is up the hill a bit and can't be seen very well from the campsites, but the kids mainly enjoyed playing by the water. They said they had wi-fi available, but it wasn't working that weekend, at least we couldn't connect. Boating docks available and lighted dock for night time fishing. This park also has cabins and every spot gets a water view! My husband had quite a time getting the sewer pipe to unload, they were up pretty high, but maybe in another spot it would have been easier. Not sure. They have a little snack store and ice for sale. State park is across the water. Would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   7   9   10   10   8   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
Great spot. Very helpful owners. Paved sites. Open grassy. Good utilities. Lots of grass. Extremely we'll maintained. Peaceful. Would look forward to coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
Probably the best park we have stayed at in our extensive travels. Just out of town, quiet, immaculately groomed park with very helpful owners. Also has great storage if required. We keep coming back to Winchester RV park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
We made reservation for two nights for at the $15.50 per night Passport America rate. The park has nice blacktop pads and grass, but I was told they had Wi-Fi, but it is not strong enough to connect in the back of the park. Also, they have many nice sites with grass, but we were put in the back of the park on a side by side site that was put in backwards (I mean our awning and door side faces the next camper and is only about 6 feet between me and the next camper and it is all blacktop and no grass--very narrow). Our extended slide is on the white line on the blacktop that marks the border for the next campsite, which is also on blacktop. We cannot put out our awnings nor do we have any place to sit outside. If you stay here, request a no side-by-side site in the front of the park. You also need to be close to the front for Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Winchester RV Park and Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com