223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Beckley, West Virginia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.10 miles SE
6.75 miles SE
13.86 miles NE
14.06 miles NE
17.57 miles SW
18.86 miles SE
19.18 miles NE
20.76 miles SE
24.00 miles SE
26.25 miles N
30.45 miles SW
34.92 miles SE
35.23 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
The College Of West Virg
0.97 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
1330 N Eisenhower Dr
1.29 miles NE
Beckley Exhibition Coal
1.48 miles SW
Rest Area On Wv I-77 At Mile Marker 46 Unverified.
1.85 miles NW
Appalachian Bible Colleg
5.21 miles NW
New River Gorge Nationa
6.30 miles NE
Little Beaver State Park
6.45 miles SE
Wal-Mart
1556 E Main
14.37 miles NE
West Virginia
Beckley
Most Recently Reviewed
Lake Stephens Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-11 00:50:20
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Beckley, West Virginia
Camp Information
Sites
17
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   6   5   7   8   2   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
What a great find! Small campground, check-in is a bit hard to find (is in the mining exhibit office) but worth the effort! They have a fantastic exercise trail that is wonderful to walk if you are neither young nor fit ; ) There is a great water park adjacent and a nice little playground. The sites are back in, but easy, level and up in the trees. Great value, quiet and lovely. What more could you ask for? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
This is a very small campground in Beckley, WV and a good place for overnight or several day stay. The attendants on duty at 5:30 pm were very nice and helpful. The only drawback in my opinion is the very, very steep hill to come up and back down when you leave. Make sure you call ahead to find out how to enter the campground as it is near impossible for a large rig to make a right turn into the cg road, which is not very well marked. You have to go to the daytime office which is at the Beckley Mine to pay in the daytime and to turn around so you can enter from the left. The Beckley Exhibition Mine is a must see and do. Very well displayed and a great underground tour of the now closed coal mine. Lots of information about what coal miners dealt with and how they lived. Very informative. There are very few campgrounds in this area and we were lucky to find this little gem in most respects. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
This city owned park is adjacent to the city pool and playground and is associated with the coal mine tours and museum. It is an interesting area. The comments about entry roads and sharp turns have merit, so if those kinds of things bother you, I'd suggest you stay elsewhere. We managed with truck and 30 TT but had to go into 4 wheel drive to get up the final hill and turn. Sites are very narrow as well but plenty long. We found it to be very quiet. May stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Beckley Exhibition Coal Mine Campground
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   9   4   2   5   4   7   4   8   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
We used this campground for an overnight. This is the land of hills and twisting mountain roads, which we knew, but this wasn’t a good choice. First, it is 9 miles from I-77 to the entrance to the park, too many narrow and twisting miles to traverse with a trailer if it can be avoided. The entrance to the park comes up quickly and could be easily passed. On entering the park, the narrow twisting roads continue with ever tighter turns for another 4 miles or so and then drop steeply downhill into the campground. There is a flat, shaded tenting area along with some nice looking cabins at this level near the office, but that is where ‘nice’ seems to end. Leaving the office, there is another dive downhill into a wide open treeless field of 100 RV sites, mostly filled with seasonal RV campers. The RVs are parked literally shoulder to shoulder and there is nowhere to park a pull vehicle on one’s site. Awnings and slideouts protrude into the neighboring sites and there is barely room to walk between RVs. The city of Beckley runs this campground and the locals use it as their summer seasonal campground to have access to Lake Stephens. Sites for transients like us are scattered among the seasonals. We had to drive up a road with cars parked on both sides, through a single, narrow lane up the middle. We then had to make a tight right turn into our site while avoiding cars in front, behind and on both sides of us, not an easy task with a truck and a 31’ trailer. We also had to miss a yellow marker post in the ground, the electric post for our site and a large piece of road equipment parked just behind the electric post. Our site had just been dug up for some reason (hence the equipment) and was covered with loose, deep gravel. Once we threaded the needle to get in and position the trailer to open our slideout (no slideout = no bathroom), the back end of the trailer was hanging over the back road edge and the truck was hanging well into the road in the front, too far to leave the truck hitched as we’d planned. This is what is advertised as 'drive through'. We had no choice but to unhitch and park on the road behind our trailer, just like everyone else. The loose gravel was pitched seriously downhill on one side and leveling was a nightmare. Leveling boards just sank. Let’s just say we had no trouble rolling onto our right sides during the night. In the morning, our camper had sunk so far down in the loose gravel that it was the devil to lift it back up onto the hitch and get out. Luckily we had 4 wheel drive. Just before we finished putting away our hoses and electric, a man in a truck stopped and nicely told us someone would soon come to remove the road equipment. The man was genuinely surprised to hear me say not to move it on our account as we were leaving. Wouldn't it have been nice of them to have moved the equipment before we arrived, knowing they were renting out the site for the night? Per the signs posted, it sounded like we were expected to back out of our site, past all of those parked cars, the electric post, the yellow marker pole and the road machinery again, instead of driving forward. It seems the road in front of the truck was noted as intended only for children to ride their bikes. Not going to happen. It was early Sunday morning, no children in sight – we drove forward and left. We will not be returning. If you find yourself in the area, try the tiny Beckley Exhibition Coal Mine Campground on the East side of I-77. It is just a few miles on relatively straight and not too hilly roads. The entrance to the campground is up a severely steep hill, but the entire town is hilly and you just will have to negotiate hills somewhere here. Once on top, you’ll find about 15 or so very quiet, shady and relatively long sites where you’ll have no trouble finding space for both your camper and tow vehicle. Oh, and spend some time at the Exhibition Mine, closed in 1910, but a fascinating look at the life of mining towns. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Would be a 10 if it wasn't 15 miles off the Interstate. Nice paved facility, friendly staff. Weak free Wi-Fi, but I was able to make it work for my needs. One religious channel on air antenna. Mostly seasonal trailers and fifth wheels with a couple of transient Class As like me. No lake views from campsites. Despite all those negatives, very clean and level campsite, a bit on the narrow side, but very long. Marina/boat access require a car ride. Very kid friendly, with a special area in the middle for the tiny ones to ride their bikes. More of a vacation spot/summer home than an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
8 miles from town on narrow winding road, with a few steep spots. Roads are paved with narrow gravel sites, which need help to level. Most sites have rigs there for the season with a few overnight sites left. Power and water were good, cell (AT&T) was weak. We would probably look else where. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lake Stephens Campground
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
April 2008
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$15
This "RV park" is really a trailer park with a few RV hookups. The redeeming thing about it is the fact that it is easy access on/off of I-77/I-64 in Beckley, WV. It sits at the top of a big hill with a winding road getting up to it, but my 37' 5th wheel made the short trip without any problem. The park is very small, and is mainly filled with permanent campers, but they found space for us. The sites are full-hookup with 50-amp power, water and electric. Don't look for anything fancy, because it's not here, but it is a convenient location and the owners are extremely friendly. We will use this campground again when we find ourselves in this area (we travel full time). Much more accessible than Lake Stephens (though Lake Stephens is much nicer) and much nicer than the Raleigh County Armory (though the Armory may be a little more accessible). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com